We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Union Bluff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Union Bluff Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Townsend, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here with our extended family. Our room was perfect for all of us to hang out at, since we had a big deck overlooking the beach, and ocean. This hotel is very convenient to everything. If the beach was too crowded we just sat in the chairs on the hotels private lawn overlooking the beach. The restaurants at the hotel were nice, and had great food. We will be going back again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmcathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    120
    24
    16
    11
See reviews for
95
147
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Just returned from a great 3 night 4 day getaway in York. My family travels to York each year as the atmosphere of the town is always so welcoming and relaxing. There is plenty to do for all ages. This was our first time staying at the Union Bluff Hotel. We will definitely be back! We stayed in the Annex building which was perfect for a young family. The room was very clean and had all of the necessary amenities. From check in to check out the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We ate breakfast each morning at the hotel along with a few other small meals at the Pub. All of which was delicious. Other members of our family stayed in the Main building which was also quite nice. A key feature of the Main Inn rooms was the private balcony that the front rooms offered. Overall the experience and location have made the Bluff our top choice when staying in York.

Room Tip: When booking the Main Inn be sure to reserve a front room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wed0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynbrook, New York
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This is a nice clean hotel with a great location on York Beach. We've stayed here probably 4 or 5 times. The rooms with views in the main hotel are great! Have also stayed in the meeting house down a few doors -- views are not as good and can be a bit noisy in the AM with the workers slamming doors, getting ready for housecleaning. Meeting house hallways also need better circulation, holds some less than great odors-----rooms smell fine though!
The rooms are nice, well maintained, clean and comfortable. Staff is pleasant. Prices are not bargain basement but if you decide you want to spend the money on a nice hotel, this should fit the bill and ...you're right on the beach!
The Hotel building also has a bar. I'm OK with it, but the bar is a bit small and maybe a bit dirty. And locals take over part of the bar which I could see some people not caring for. There is also a restaurant which I did not go to on my latest trip but on previous trips its fine, but if you're up for driving a bit, there may be better choices not too far away.

Overall --- Union Bluff is a nice hotel with a great location, if you're OK with the prices I recommend it!

Room Tip: If you want a room with view make sure you reserve the right room, some have great views and some do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROR29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This hotel has great accommodations to fit any size or budget.
The hotel is friendly and very clean and updated.
We did not eat at the restaurant, but it was busy all day and night.
It is away from the noise of the main street area but extremely close to the shopping and restaurants in York Beach and to Short Sands beach.
We would definitely return for another stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swimboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glens Falls, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I visited The Union Bluff as a girls vacation with my aunt, mom, and grandma. My family is a bit picky but was blow away by the beauty and service at this hotel. Our bedroom had a great view of the ocean and we loved listening to the waves at night. The bar and restaurant were also fabulous. I can not say enough great things! We will most definitely be back to stay!!!!

Room Tip: main hotel with a corner ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilford, NH
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This is our second stay at the Union Bluff, our first stay was in early October when we stayed two nights to attend a wedding held at this location. During that stay we slept in the original building and were not very impressed. This time we stayed at the Meeting House, which is a set of rooms located two buildings away from the main hotel and is above the function rooms. We were able to book this room midweek during the last week of June.....just before the summer season begins.

We were so impressed with the facility. We stayed in a room with access to a private deck with ocean view. The room was spacious and included king size bed, fireplace, lounge chairs, desk and spacious bathroom. Our room was clean and well kept by housekeeping during our stay.

The location of this hotel couldn't be better. Situated across the street from Short Sands in York, guests have immediate access to the beach and nearby restaurants and shops. The hotel also has a restaurant and bar. We did not get a chance to eat at the restaurant, but did spend a couple of nights at the bar. The bar isn't that big, but it is a fun time. The food is average to above average fare.

We have now stayed in the main hotel and the meeting house. We have not stayed at the annex which is located between the meeting house and the main hotel......if you are looking to stay at this facility I highly suggest you shoot for the meeting house rooms.

Room Tip: Book a room in the Meeting House if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zekesidney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My wife and I were looking for an "off the beaten path" beach vacation for our 2 year old and ourselves. We found just that in York Beach (short sands...not long. big difference) Maine. The town itself offers enough to make the trip comfortable. It provides plenty of mom and pop restaurants, shops and even a small amusement park. The bread and butter of the town is the beach though. Absolutly beautiful sand and views. The water is always a little chilly though. Staying at the Union Bluff puts you right next to the beach. It is a very nice, historic hotel. The one inconvienience of the town is that when dinner comes, good luck getting a seat. We ate almost every night at the union bluff Restaurant which is very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zobtraffic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Beach
3.3 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
710 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
377 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
1.4 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
656 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Bluff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Bluff Hotel

Property: Union Bluff Hotel
Address: 8 Beach Street, York Beach, York, ME 03910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Union Bluff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Union Bluff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Bluff York Beach
Hotel Union Bluff
Union Bluff Hotel York, Maine - York Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing