We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding stay, as usual!”
Review of Union Bluff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Union Bluff Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Glenmont, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding stay, as usual!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We have just returned from our 5 day stay at the Union Bluff Hotel, and once again, it was absolutely wonderful. This was our 7th visit to this hotel, and we had a wonderful time. The staff has always been accomodating, and we have always enjoyed our meals in the Pub. The grounds are prestine, as always, and we are looking forward to returning in September.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    120
    24
    16
    11
See reviews for
97
147
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Had reservations at hoarders b/b in kittery walked out and drove to this magnificent hotel. Staff so lovely and welcoming. Stayed at the annex. What a room. Great bed,so very clean,and the sounds of the ocean so welcoming. Cannot wait to go bsck.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The Union Bluff Hotel has been a landmark in York Beach for the longest time. Over the past several years the hotel has gone through some renovations and it is really nice. We have eaten breakfast there several times in the Union Bluff Grill which has always been good. My wife and myself have wanted to stay in the motel but just couldn't justify the price per night they were charging for a weekend stay. There are a lot of other hotels with better deals. We where going to be up in York on a Thursday night and the price was greatly reduced, so we gave it a try. Our nights stay plus with the breakfast option was $140.00. We had a room with a balcony and facing the ocean, had a great view. Too bad the weather was not very warm so we could have enjoyed it better.
The room was very nice, comfy, very clean. Bathroom was very nice and very clean and everything looked to be in great repair. Staff was extremely friendly. The hotel has a great atmosphere the way it is decorated and done. On the main level it has two places to eat, the Union Bluff Pub which serves bar type foods, hamburgers etc, and the Union Bluff Grill which serves more high end type meals.
As I mentioned, the thing that has kept us from staying there is the price. The price goes way up on the weekends and during the in season. You can go on their website and look up the prices.
The hotel is nice, has rooms with a great view and is in a prime location in York Beack. The price is really not that bad considering it's location and how nice it is, but its more than I like to pay, maybe because I'm cheap. However, go online and if the prices look good to you, give them a try I think you'll be very pleased.

Room Tip: Request an ocean front room, great view. You'll pay extra for it though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinderhook, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We just enjoyed an amazing weekend getaway to Union Bluff Hotel this past weekend. It was our first time there and we're already booked to return this spring. Our ocean front center room was directly across from Short Sands Beach and the Atlantic Ocean which provided amazing sunrise views each morning. We enjoyed the pub for drinks and apps on our 1st night there and had an amazing breakfast on our last morning there which included some incredible Lobster Eggs Benedict, yummy! The best part was our view! We sat on the deck off of our room for a couple of hours on an amazingly sunny Saturday morning, which got up to 50 degrees.

Room Tip: Spend the money for an ocean front room if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My boyfriend and I come here every year since 2010 during the quiet winter season, sometime in February. Each time I am so pleased with my stay I can hardly wait for our next trip to come around. On our very first visit, we were unaware that in the winter season this area turns into quite a ghost town. We had arrived late in the evening, and we were starving! No restaurants were open, and unfortunately the pub had already stopped serving food. The waitress didn't give us an apology, she gave us whatever she could drum up in the kitchen....for free!! (and it was delicious) That is true hospitality if you ask me! This is only one of many reasons we will continue to return to the beautiful Union Bluff.
-Sarah P.

Room Tip: Request ocean front - it's worth it for the stunning views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I was impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful with my questions . The pub was ok. Food was good and the waitress was great. You can't beat the view or location.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozzienelsonknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We didn't stay at the Inn, but stopped by "The Bluff Pub" for "Monday Burger Night". All the burgers are offered at a terrific price on Monday nights. The burgers were huge and delicious and so many varieties to choose from. I had the "Crumbled Bleu" and it was awesome. My husband had the “Chili Melt” burger and really enjoyed it. The burgers come with fries or a side salad for a slight upcharge. If you are in the area on a Monday night, I would urge you to stop by for a delicious burger in a warm, friendly setting.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voyager5578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Beach
3.3 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
1.4 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Bluff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Bluff Hotel

Property: Union Bluff Hotel
Address: 8 Beach Street, York Beach, York, ME 03910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Union Bluff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Union Bluff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Bluff York Beach
Hotel Union Bluff
Union Bluff Hotel York, Maine - York Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing