We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Is A Bluff”
Review of Union Bluff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Union Bluff Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield
1 review
“It Is A Bluff”
Reviewed 22 March 2010

A group of us went there the weekend of March 5th, my first time and last. The group of friends we went with have gone there every year for the past 5 years or more and had a great time, and never had a problem with the restaurant staff, but this time the staff was horrible they say. Being our first time there we thought that is how the wait staff is at Union Bluff. We did the package deal that includes two breakfast and a dinner and the room for two nights. The chefs are great so the food was great. The wait staff made you feel like you were in the way and figured if they ignore you , you may leave so the locals can have a seat. There was nine of us in our party on Friday night planning to eat in the Pub, so our friend went down early to get some tables together so we could all sit together. After waiting almost an thirty minutes we watch the hostess keep seating locals at tables we were waiting for. After waiting forty five minutes the hostess decided to split us up, four at a table and five in a both that seated only four. I did notice the locals did not wait more then fifteen minutes. After noticing every other table was empty we decided to wait for a local couple to pay there bill and pulled the tables together for our party. Maybe the hostess missed that training class. The bartenders are great and do a better job serving the guest than the wait staff. Hope the waitress we had Friday night at the Pub enjoyed the tip she didn't deserve. She waited on us then disappeared for 20 minutes. We wanted to order more drinks, but i guess she felt the Pub made enough money that night. We were over charged $25.00 on our dinner bill the next night so, double check your bill if you eat there. I wonder if the manager would have came to us later when or if she noticed the $25.00 mistake. I'm sure no one would have contacted us on the mistake. Sunday at breakfast it took my girlfriend over 10 minutes to get her meal. Lets put it this way, the first person to get there meal was done eating by the time she received hers. The walls in the rooms are very thin. The bedding had stains on it. You hear everything in the room next to you. So, if you decide to visit Union Bluff don't expect the staff to be friendly just because you paid t for the weekend with the food package. I don't think they know how to serve groups of more than four. So, sit at the bar and bring your calculator and hope you don't have a squeaky bed. This is my experience and i hope your visit is better than ours. Good luck..

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TILIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    126
    26
    17
    12
See reviews for
101
155
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitman, Mass
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

We just spent two nights here at the recommendation of a friend who has stayed many times. We could not have had a better time. We ate in the pub twice for dinner- the first night (Thursday) there were a few people there- a lot of local regulars, and we were made to feel right at home. The food was incredible (flat bread buffalo chicken pizza, loaded nachos). So much to choose from. The second night (Friday) the pub was PACKED- we had to wait 20 minutes for a table, but we didn't mind because it just went to say how great the place is. Tonight the food did not disappoint- a had a Rueben sandwich, and a sausage flatbread pizza. there is free coffee in the lobby in the morning (and it's the best coffee I have ever had), we decided against breakfast at the hotel, and instead walked to Sandy's, the purple building down the street (also wonderful and friendly). We had a queen corner oceanview room- and what a view. The balcony had two very comfortable lounge chairs. The room had 2 equally comfortable sitting chairs. I can not say enough positive things about this hotel. The staff were friendly. There was no haggling on the price, and no AAA rate, but honestly, the prices weren't bad at all for what we got.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoopydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2010

We've spent our Columbus Day weekends at Union Bluff over the past 15 years and love it. It's the perfect location. The food is good. We relax and enjoy a mini vacation at our home away from home. We've recommended Union Bluff to friends and family and they've enjoyed it as well. We look forward to next year!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunflowerConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

All in all, a charming hotel with very friendly staff and great ocean location. The room was a bit "old fashioned" and not very soundproof, but comfortable and certainly not a problem. WiFi was fair, the speed was spotty.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodServiceLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, new york
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We spent three nights at the Union Bluff and loved the location of the hotel--right across the lane from Short Sands Beach and walking distance to everything in the small town of York Beach (arcade, bowling, restaurants, trolley stop, shops). You're also a short drive to the outlets in Kittery, the town of Ogunquit, and the Nubble Lighthouse (very congested up there but worth a trip up for the view and a stop at Brown's Ice Cream).

We stayed here primarily because we attended a wedding in the Meeting House part of the hotel. There are plenty of other hotels within walking distance of this facility, though, so it's not necessary to stay right onsite. We decided to give it a try because we loved the old-fashioned charm of the hotel from the pictures we had seen and we weren't disappointed.

We booked the most basic room, and it was on the small side and overlooked the annex rather than the ocean. The interior was a bit dated but all in all it was adequate and met our needs just fine. The bed was comfortable and the fridge was very useful. We could hear doors slamming in the morning and occasionally late at night, but the air conditioner did a good job of drowning out that noise.

Parking at the hotel was an issue only on the Friday we arrived. There are two lots behind the hotel, some spaces on the street in front of the hotel, and also a gravel lot in front of the hotel on the beach side of the street. There's a rope across that last lot, presumably to prevent beachgoers from parking there, but whenever we needed to access the lot the staff was extremely quick to respond and let us in or out.

We ate breakfast twice in the restaurant, which was delicious and reasonably priced. The last morning we ventured out to the Daily Grind at the end of the main drag, over by the amusement park/zoo. They had a wonderful variety of Green Mountain Coffees and a limited breakfast food menu. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel because there are so many great restaurants in York Beach and Ogunquit.

There's a nice area on the grass overlooking the beach where the hotel provides a cluster of lawn chairs and loungers. Since our room didn't include a balcony like the oceanview rooms, we enjoyed spending time here, just watching the activity on the beach. It looked like there were beach chairs, umbrellas, and floats available for rent on the beach, but I'm not sure of the prices. I'd recommend bringing beach towels to use on the beach.

We loved our trip to York Beach and would definitely consider returning to the Union Bluff. If money's no consideration, I'd suggest booking an oceanfront room so you have that balcony with the incredible view.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polorun17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mclean, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We have been going to the Union Bluff Hotel for ninteen years and have enjoyed each and every visit. The ownership and staff make us feel special and treat us as if we were VIP's. The property is ideally located to all the conveniences in town within a short walking distance. The beach is clean and the water is in a beautiful cove with wonderful scenery just fifty feet from the front door of the hotel.
The Union Bluff is a small boutique full service hotel with a comfortable restaurant serving the best breakfast in town and a semi- upscale dinner menue which is quite tasty. The Sports Bar across the Lobby is comfortable, with good food and a wide assortment of beverages. "One should be a Red Sox or a Patriot's fan or one would get drowned out by the noise and enthusiasm of the patrons".
The hotel although is comfortable it is not a luxury property although they do have a few rooms in a building next to it with a very nice meeting/reception room.
The best features of the Union Bluff Hotel is the view, the beach, the friendly and caring staff as well as very attentive managment.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leila9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2009

We just got back from a three night stay at the Meeting House, the newer building at the Union Bluffs. My husband and I had an ocean front king room, with a balcony and fireplace. We could hear and see the ocean from our bed. What a beautiful view ! We ate our lunches at the Union pub, and the food is good and priced just fine. Two of the three days we dined outside and could see the ocean from our table. Thursday night there was entertainment right at the Meeting House. The band was wonderful, and it was a pleasure to see so many people enjoying themselves.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Beach
3.3 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
755 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
398 reviews
1.4 mi away
Long Beach Motor Inn
Long Beach Motor Inn
#7 of 9 in York Beach
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
1.4 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
680 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Bluff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Bluff Hotel

Property: Union Bluff Hotel
Address: 8 Beach Street, York Beach, York, ME 03910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Union Bluff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Union Bluff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Bluff York Beach
Hotel Union Bluff
Union Bluff Hotel York, Maine - York Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing