We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location! Beautiful View!”
Review of Cutty Sark Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cutty Sark Motel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Certificate of Excellence
East Meadow, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful location! Beautiful View!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Cutty Sark! We had a room on the 3rd Floor with A/C. It was clean and in good shape. It looked like it had been refurbished recently. The view was spectacular. It is very close (less than 5 Min drive) to the Nubble lighthouse. They have a stairway that goes right down to the beach. If you have little children, you may want to take a short walk (less than 5 min) to the nearest public stairway because the stairway from the Cutty Sark leads to a rocky area. If you can hack a short walk over the rocks, you will end up right on the sand. Plenty of beach during low tide. We loved it and really have no complaints....Oh wait, my wife was a bit upset because there was no hair drier in the room. I told her to dry her hair with the fan in the bathroom...It worked...lol...Thank you Cutty Sark...We'll be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    96
    29
    18
    16
See reviews for
68
126
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

It's ever-so- special when you find a piece of heaven on earth that a family such as the Hughes brothers (and their Father before them) willingly share with us through the Cutty Sark. I've been going since the 70's and appreciate it each and every time I go (which avaerages at least once a month :) This is a wonderful and simply clean cut motel that is managed in a special, caring way. Peter and Patrick care in ways many may not see such as:
allowing those of us with little dog buddies visit in off season,
showing up at the hospital when one of their guests unexpectedly needed to go,
making a ramp to ease the efforts of a patron with mobility challenges,
taking out the beautiful bushes to make it easier to come and go from the 1st floor rooms,
lining up assistence for their help to come and go safely, and
stopping by to say "Hi" to those of us who come (just to mention a few).
I am always inviting and enjoy sharing this wonderful vacation home with my family and friends. We love it!
So come and enjoy this beautiful place on the ocean. Listen to the waves rolling up right under your window with the greatest views...Sleep like a baby. It is so worth it!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have incredible ocean views and excellent water pressure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaLee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellows Falls, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

After coming here for 15 years(twice a summer), we were very disappointed by the corporate retreat (CTP-Boston) who had an open bar and started drinking at 1 in the afternoon, and dropping "F" bombs around the children. Complaints to management were answered with "it' s the daytime...we put on functions all the time, I don't know what to tell you" Other guests were driven from the grass terrace by the boorish alcohol driven mess. We have kept coming back because it was peaceful and relaxing, as well as family friendly, no where was it ever mentioned that they have functions like this. It is a beautiful view and the rooms are ok, but check with management prior to booking for any functions that will keep you from enjoying their advertised peaceful and relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VTfamily1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Hills, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Gorgeous location on a point at the ocean. Every room has an oceanfront view to die for. Wondering what it's like on the crowded (in summer) beach? Just glance out your window. We also liked the grassy patio above the beach, outside the hotel, though we didn't sit out there.

The decor is a bit dated, but fairly charming. The owners were helpful.

The location was pretty good, though it's a bit of a walk into town. It's a few blocks from any food/drink in the other direction, Long Beach, I think. It's a good place if you like scenic walks, including to the lighthouse maybe a mile or so away.

If it weren't for the location, I'd say it wasn't that great a value (pricey for a basic motel with a killer view). We were there at peak season, however, and appreciated the on-site parking, as it turns out that parking is at a premium in York when the beach is nice. We didn't move the car at all.

Continental breakfast consisted of Costco-style bulk mini pastries and coffee. Not much, and we brought it back to the room. Wifi Internet was adequate.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, make sure you discuss them with the owners. The stairs were a bit steep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pezworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Wanted to escape from Montreal and booked a room very last minute, 3 days before departure. This place wasn't my first choice but everything in Maine near the ocean was pretty much booked! But I am very glad the only room left ended up being that one. I didn't know what to expect and was a little nervous, but the Cutty Sark was exactly what I wanted! Nothing fancy, but super clean, right on the beach and good prices. And what a view! We were so close to the ocean that we fell asleep to the sound of the waves at night. It's also the only hotel on the sea side. And they have a little grass terrace with comfy chairs overlooking the beach. Very nice. Walking distance to restaurants and the lighthouse. Very easy to get around the coast by car around there. Probably going back to this place next time I visit the York Beach area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mc_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We were very pleased with the location of the Cutty Sark. The view was beautiful, but we almost walked out the door after finding the place and room in such disrepair and dirty. We were not expecting to find a run-down,unkempt facility that just seems to be collecting money and not keeping up with the times. Some of the things we found in our room included stains running down the wall from the water sprinkler, staining around fixtures in the ceiling, unfinished plastering work on the ceiling, rusted sprinkler system filthy with dust and dirt, bathroom sink was clogged with gobs of disgusting hair, and so on. If you are interested in a comfortable facility, I would recommend other options in the area.
Never again for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Teaches2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We have been enjoying the hospitality of the Hughes family at their Oceanside motel for the past twelve years. While facilities are modest you can't find a better location to unwind and enjoy the view. We love sitting on the chairs on their lawn next to the ocean and having a cup of coffee in the morning or wine and cheese in the evening. Free parking on site and very good housekeeping service. Did I mention that the owners are always there and are wonderful and accommodating.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikstud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Beach
0.5 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
360 reviews
3.0 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
391 reviews
2.8 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Long Beach Motor Inn
Long Beach Motor Inn
#7 of 9 in York Beach
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
0.9 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cutty Sark Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cutty Sark Motel

Property: Cutty Sark Motel
Address: 58 Long Beach Avenue, York Beach, York, ME 03910
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cutty Sark Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cutty Sark Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cutty Sark Hotel York Beach
Cutty Sark York Beach
Cutty Sark Motel York, Maine - York Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing