We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of beach, very clean & VERY accomadating!”
Review of Cutty Sark Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cutty Sark Motel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Lots of beach, very clean & VERY accomadating!”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Last minute decision for a quick get away & "Cutty Sark Motel" was perfect! Lots of beach to walk, short walk to short sands downtown and everyone was very friendly and accomadating to our requests.

Very helpful with information on local interest and restaurants.

Definitely will return and refer to friends & family.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crochetiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    96
    29
    18
    14
See reviews for
67
125
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cavendish, Vermont, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have tried other places and always end up at the Cutty Sark. We go every anniversary! Walk down the beautiful beach and get a breakfast sandwich at the family owned general store - nicest people you'll ever meet! Love Love Love it!

Room Tip: Every room is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanton, Vermont
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Just returned from our fourth stay at the Cutty Sark.
If you are looking for an ocean side retreat, this is the place. The views and the sound of the surf n the rocks just outside your window can not be topped.

Since we know the area well, we find little need to tour, so we use the grounds as a retreat. Early morning walks on the beach, relaxing and reading on the very attractive and lovely outdoor furniture overlooking the ocean and a glass if wine at sunset.

Already looking forward to our next Maine Get Away.....

Room Tip: All rooms have a fantastic view...but we prefer the upper building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saundra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Went thru Long Beach last year, but this was the first stay in York Beach. Cutty Sark reviews looked good except for a couple that weren't. Gave it a shot. Called John Fisher, the desk clerk prior to coming, and expressed concern about the problem reviews and he said he would check things out. The rooms were fine. Thanks John and thanks to the maids. Rooms were a bit dated but clean and neat. Morning coffee was fresh and plentiful. The surrounding area, at this time of year, is beautiful. Ocean views from every room. Access to numerous tourist attractions in various surrounding towns is very easy. Thanks again to John and Pat at the desk, and the excellent young ladies who care for the rooms.

Room Tip: If you have concerns about your potential stay, call ahead and try to make sure there won't be p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We have stayed at the Cutty Sark at least 4 times to date. One year, we tried a different place but found ourselves coming back to the near-perfection this motel offers. There is no other view like it anywhere and being right on the water's edge, it is a mere few steps to a spectacular beach. Long Sands Beach is perfect for swimming, walking, playing or just gazing out to sea. It is one of the cleanest beaches I have ever been to. The inn also features two grassy ledges on different levels where the owners have placed lounge chairs and tables so guests can sit, breathe the ocean air, and enjoy the view without having to walk to the beach. The lawns and landscaping there are beautifully maintained. Our room was on the second floor of the lower building. It was recently painted and very clean. You will often find picture windows in ocean front rooms to be sea-sprayed and filmy but not so here! Our windows were crystal clear allowing us to enjoy the moon dancing on the waves at night and the sun beaming on the water by day. A small breakfast room is set up each morning with pastries and fresh hot coffee, which is a big plus to anyone who can't start the day without it. There is also an in-room coffee maker. When we first checked in, we noticed our bathroom sink wasn't draining and went to report it. Within minutes, it was take care of. Our hosts, the Hughes family are delightful, polite and very accommodating as is the housekeeping staff. The only reason I did not give this a top rating was because of the bed linens in our room being old, limp and thin. Even though they were laundered, they lacked that crisp, smoothe feel you get in newer bedding. These had seen better days and need to be replaced. Still, it is not enough to keep us from coming back. It would be an inconvenience but I guess I could bring my own bed linens. Just wish I didn't have to.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinth, New York, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This motel is truly a touch of heaven. The location is the best in the town of York. I could lay in bed at night and watch Boon Island light flash and see the full moons reflection on the sea. The beautiful sound of the waves splashing on the beach was such a perfect way to fall asleep each night. Waking up to a beautiful sunrise each morning was just heavenly. Room was newly done over and very clean. The staff was very friendly and you were made to feel like family. I dropped my cell phone in the ocean one evening and I went to the office and the staff lent me a hair dryer to help dry the phone out, and yes the phone is fine. :) The only thing was the Wi-Fi didn't work the whole week but owner was actively working on it to get the issue resolved. I truly enjoyed my stay here so much. I am planning on coming back next Fall. Fall is a nice quiet time of year to come to Maine. We had perfect weather the whole week. I highly recommend the Cutter Sark.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Park
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

What a breath of fresh air, literally. Spectacular ocean views( we prefer the 3rd floor lower building) with gentle breezes blowing in our open windows making the night's sleep totally restful. We taped the sounds of the surf and plan to bring it home with us to allow us an extended vacation feeling even after we have departed. The location of Cutty Sark is wonderful. Long Sands just in front of us, Nubble Light along the road behind us and Short Sands a walkable distance as well. No excuses not to enjoy all of the local attractions. We make York Beach and the Cutty Sark an annual escape and renewal experience.

Room Tip: Plan a few extra minutes at both ends of your stay to enjoy the comfortable grassy area in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Beach
0.5 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#1 of 9 in York Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
3.0 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
2.8 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
0.1 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
0.9 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cutty Sark Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cutty Sark Motel

Property: Cutty Sark Motel
Address: 58 Long Beach Avenue, York Beach, York, ME 03910
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cutty Sark Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cutty Sark Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cutty Sark Hotel York Beach
Cutty Sark York Beach
Cutty Sark Motel York, Maine - York Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing