We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location and view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cutty Sark Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cutty Sark Motel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
NH
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing location and view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

This place has a billion dollar location at the north end of Long Sands beach. We had a room right on the lovely flat lawn that sits above the ocean/sand/rocks. There's tables w umbrellas and plenty of chairs to use out there. Walk to water not handy for my elderly Mother, but we were quite content watching from above. The rooms could use simple updating w new comfortors and art as well as the bathrooms, but spent all our time outdoors, so we didn't care. Slept to the sound of ocean. Heavenly. Coffee and good muffins were out at a table by the lawn for the morning. We were happy they let us stay on the law chairs and parked til 12, after checkout. Short walk to the downtown area. Last week of August and weather was perfect.

Room Tip: Appeared to be a few lawn level rooms w doors to lawn. That would've been great. The rooms are v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimbama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    96
    29
    18
    14
See reviews for
67
125
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We have stayed as this hotel for MANY years. The last time we arrived, our room had been changed (that we have made reservations for many months prior). The owner came in when I was checking in and basically said he could do what he wanted as he was the owner. I explained that I was disappointed given the amount of years we have been coming. He then offered to find me another place to stay!!! That's a good way to keep people. He showed no empathy for us at all. The rooms are dated and need to be cleaned up.
The housekeeping staff are the best part in that they are very friendly and will accomodate your needs. Mark was thier best asset and he left!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else! The rooms in the newere building are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have been staying here for several years. It is on Long Sands Beach on a cliff at the end of the beach . It over looks the ocean which we love. They have coffee and muffins for you in the morning. You can sit and read while looking out at the ocean. Walk the beach and stop for a bit to eat. The restaurants are very good and go down town to look in the shops. The beach is amazing and very safe for kids and you may see some surfers also.

Room Tip: Stay in the Oceanfront room at the top of the hill #104 or any first floor room, it has 2 Queen size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

There is no place else to stay on Long Sands Beach if you want an awesome view. The cost is a bit steep for the shape of the motel. The room itself is in desperate need of updating. It is small and the bathroom is dark, with a noisy fan, and a toilet that needed repair several times. We did stay in the older building which had an ac unit that worked well but we only used it twice out of the 7 nights we were there. The bed was comfortable and the room clean. Staff was nice. Despite the age and wear of the motel, we loved our stay. The location is terrific - close to the beach and within walking distance to many restaurants. Yes, I would stay here again - the view of ocean is unbelievable.

Room Tip: Ground floor does not offer privacy. We liked the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nkg1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I have been staying at the Cutty Sark for years - never disappoints. Rooms are clean, comfortable and staff is always available and more than happy to assist guests with any needs.
There is not a better view in York Beach!

Room Tip: Lower building has best views - upper building is newer, with larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

located right on Long Sands Beach, you can't beat the location. We stayed on the first floor in the older building, The room was comfortable but very outdated with no air conditioning, and no working wireless. The hotel advertises free wifi but apparently it doesn't work well in the rooms. We were lucky that the weather was dry most of the week, or else it would have been a LONG week couped up with a couple of kids. next time I will make a point of asking for the newer building, not the first floor, with AC

Room Tip: Don't stay in the older building. ask for verification that the room has AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sweetp161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We used to stay here every year about 20 years ago and loved it. Unfortunately, everything is still exactly the same as it was 20 years ago and that is not a good thing. We recently stayed in the older building and it is really showing it's age. Linens, towels, carpets, beds and furniture could all use some major updating. The rooms are clean but they look, smell, and feel old. I do know that the second, newer building is in better shape but some major attention needs to be paid to the older building. For the price charged I would expect a little better.
On a brighter note, the location is still fantastic! But for our next trip to York we will definitely look at other lodging.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SailingTraveler0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Beach
0.5 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#1 of 9 in York Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
3.0 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
2.8 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
0.1 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
0.9 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cutty Sark Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cutty Sark Motel

Property: Cutty Sark Motel
Address: 58 Long Beach Avenue, York Beach, York, ME 03910
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cutty Sark Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cutty Sark Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cutty Sark Hotel York Beach
Cutty Sark York Beach
Cutty Sark Motel York, Maine - York Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing