We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location with Personal Touch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Location with Personal Touch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2014

Traveled August 2014 with two boys (7,10) - great location, nestled between Long Sand Beach and Short Sand Beach, near the Trolley Stop that runs along both beaches. The lighthouse at the end of the road makes for a great morning walk after a travel day.

Diane, the proprietor, was on-site and helpful in answering questions.

Rooms are fresh and clean with free continental breakfast served in the mornings.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoyMomTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    55
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
62
66
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2014

Very quiet, but convenient location in York Beach, with easy walk to Long Sands beach and without the high cost of a beach front hotel. New owner, Diane, was very friendly and focused on customer service. The Inn, particularly the Carriage House building, offers nicer rooms, with much more character than the typical bunker-style beach front motels. A nice continental breakfast is included in the room rate.

Room Tip: Second floor of Carriage House building offers some ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezgoin51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunk Lake, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2014

This was our first stay at the Inn and first visit to the York, Maine area. The Inn looked to be a classic New England summer Inn, a real old fixture in town but I must say that it surpassed my expectations in all aspects. Clean, bright and pretty large room with comfy bed and easy access to the facilities (which includes a pool). People were out and about most of the day time. There were folks of all ages and families of all sizes which gave it a nice feel. Parking was easy, wonderful community room which doubles as the reception area, breakfast seating area and pleasant place to relax if you need to get out of the sun to check your email ... and the staff was just great too. We felt welcomed by the gal who checked us in the very first moment we got there and continued through them going out of their way to find and mail me that darn phone charger & cord that I left plugged in behind the TV. Nice place to stay & Great Customer service ... made a very good impression. I'll return when I visit York, Maine & recommend this place to family & friends.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TunkLakeSwimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

I've stayed at this property a couple of times in the past, about 6 years ago. The innkeeper at that time was a good guy and ran a tight ship. However, the rooms were in desperate need of updating. I recently learned that a new owner, Diane, has taken over the Inn and decided to check it out. I spoke to Diane over the phone and told her I was looking for a quiet room for a few days of rest and recharging. Sh suggested staying in the carriage house portion of the inn. I took her for her word and her word was good. My room was perfect, a four post queen bed, sizable bathroom and a deck with a glimpse of the ocean across the street. The inn also has a pool and the grounds are well kept with seating and umbrella tables. The motel style section has been completely refreshed and I wouldn't mind staying in that section either. The complimentary continental breakfast is a carb lovers delight. I would love to see a bowl of sliced fresh fruit to balance things out. Check in was a breeze as was check out. You will be asked to pay in full at check in. The location is great: You're a 5 minute walk to Long Sands Beach or a 15 minute walk to the bath house at the beach. It is also a 15 minute walk to town and the zoo. If you've been here and have been avoiding this place, it's time to take another look. It is worth coming back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biztraveler2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

This Inn is perfectly situated between long sands and short sands beaches and a short walk to Nubbles Lighthouse. We stayed 5 nights in August, the inn has been recently renovated by new owners who have done a great job. Our room had new carpeting and new mattress, all very clean and fresh. The included continental breakfast had something for everyone. I would definitely recommend this Inn for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzette60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed earlier this summer and had a wonderful time.

Read these reviews and you'll notice two common threads: one, uniformly positive reviews. Two, families consistently mentioning Diane, the owner, and her efforts to make you feel welcome, relaxed and special.

Count me among the many to echo these thoughts. For a quaint, charming vacation by the beach, you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackson_Rt_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orono, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

My family (self, husband, 20yr old daughter) just returned from a 3 night stay at the Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House. First things first: The NEW OWNER, Diane, is a wonderful hostess, amusingly charming, and a complete 180 degree turn-around from the OLD owner! If you'd stayed here before and decided not to return due to the old owner's peculiarities, hesitate no longer!!
The facility is composed of a central building, the Carriage House, surrounded by 'newer' buildings of a more motel-type design. The Carriage House has a main desk and a large lobby area including TV, sofas, tables and chairs, a large private kitchen (open, modern, clean), and a food area from which is served a continental breakfast each morning. Breakfast included coffee, tea, juice, 2 cereals, croissants, English muffins, several types of breakfast sweeties, yogurt, fruit, and granola bars. The coffee is good and the offerings quite sufficient for breakfast. The Carriage House also includes several (six?) guest rooms, each of which differs from the rest and are decorated in a more quaint style than the rooms in the nearby buildings. The "Inn" buildings are more of a typical hotel/motel style, with the major areas composed of rooms opening onto a shared outer balcony/walkway. The grounds are quite compact, but nice, and offer both an outdoor pool (unheated, I think, but not sure) and hot tub. There are also several outdoor sitting areas, complete with chairs, tables, and umbrellas where you can take your breakfast or use at your leisure, as well as several large adirondack chairs scattered about the front yard. Although we didn't use them, it appears that there are several 'beach wagons' available to borrow for transporting your stuff (chairs, towels, lunch cooler, etc.) to the beach each day, and there are a couple of outdoor showers for a quick rinse-off after returning from the beach, to keep excess sand OUT of your room! The parking lot is located behind the buildings- plenty of space, well-lit, and we discovered our van 'guarded' by three deer when we returned late on several evenings!
We stayed in room 2, which is in a three story building with interior doors- appears to have a suite on the ground floor, then two rooms on both the 2nd and 3rd floor. Our room was spacious, clean, and bright. It measured about 18'X20', with the enclosed bathroom taking up one corner. There was a counter area with cabinets and mini-fridge, a closet area, king bed w/2 nightstands, a small round table with two cushioned chairs, small bureau with TV, and a futon couch (that folded down to a double sleeper) with end table. (and it appeared that it could be connected to the room next to it via a shared door, but not sure about this) The king bed was amazingly comfortable!! I have no idea what kind of mattress topper is on it, but it was soft and cozy as well as very supportive- it was really excellent! Although my daughter slept on the futon the first night, it was less comfortable than the bed and for nights 2 and 3 she opted to sleep on the Aerobed we'd brought with us, just in case. I think the futon would be fine for 2 younger children to share, but for an adult who prefers a soft mattress, it could have been more comfy. However, we folded it up to use as a couch and there was plenty of space on the VERY CLEAN, carpeted floor for both the inflatable mattress and walking space. There was also a very adequate window A/C unit, but mostly we opted to OPEN the windows! We could hear the ocean roar in the evening and smell the sea breeze as we drifted off to sleep- it was quite lovely!
I have to comment again on the hospitality and friendliness of the new owner, Diane. We stayed here quite awhile ago with the former owner, and the differences between the two owners, and our two experiences here, are incredible. Whereas the former owner would be knocking at your door at 9:45 to make sure you were ready to check-out by 10AM, Diane graciously invites her guests to use the Carriage House's outdoor showers and bathroom facilities after the 11AM check-out time, if you should wish to enjoy one last day at the beach before heading home. Guests are now welcomed to take their breakfast outside or to their rooms to enjoy, rather than being chastised not to leave crumbs and litter around the place. Diane is a very personable, nice woman, and the PERFECT hostess. She started off our day with a smile and conversation, was attentive to the breakfast bar and guests needs, and really made staying here a wonderful experience. We have already decided that when we return to York Beach (which happens several times a year to visit family in town), we will stay at the Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House.

Room Tip: Futon isn't very comfortable after a night or two; OK for kids, less comfy for adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Beach
0.5 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#1 of 9 in York Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
2.8 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
3.0 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House

Property: Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
Address: 20 Nubble Road, PO Box 249, York Beach, York, ME 03910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100 Yards from beautiful Longs Sands Beach and just 1 mile from York's famous Nubble Light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Inn And Carriage House York, Maine - York Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing