We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Get What You Pay For”
Review of The Lynwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lynwood Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 York Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at the Lynwood (in September, so not the "high season"). The owners are friendly and homemade muffins and coffee are provided in the morning. The room was large and very clean, with a couch and full-sized refridgerator which we appreciated. And the balcony was nice.

However, the furnishing are dated and the rooms well-worn. There doesn't seem to be any insulation between the ceiling/floors, because we could hear all movement by the folks above us, as well as the "woosh" of toilets being flushed above or next door. Since there is no "do not disturb" sign to put out, housekeeping knocked every half hour or so beginning at 9am on the weekend. (Apparently she knows to clean your room when your car is gone, so don't accidently park in the wrong numbered spot or leave your car parked off-site.) Wished there was another mirror (full length?) outside of the bathroom, which would have made it easier for two people to get ready for a wedding at the same time. A hair dryer would've been nice too. Just a few small and inexpensive things that would have made for a better stay.

In the end, you get what you pay for (but I would have paid more for more if I'd known about these issues).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trbarr44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for The Lynwood Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

Being from New England, my family and I have stayed at York Beach or in the surrounding communities many times over the years. We we looking for a one-night weekend stay at the end of the season and emailed the Lynwood Inn owners, who were happy to accommodate us. We staying in a back, first floor unit, which had a small stove top, refrigerator and microwave, which easily fulfilled our requirements. There were 4 of us, 2 adults, 2 preteen girls. The decor was a little basic but everything was clean and neat. We were able to walk down to Short Sands beach in about 5 minutes, just as advertised. The back units have no view, but the price was right (109.00 for the night, including wonderful muffins and coffee). Off season the prices are much lower, but the same wonderful location and muffins! I would (and will) stay there again.

Room Tip: The front, upper units will have some view, but the back units do not.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lagsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We wanted a last minute get away and wow did we get lucky. The Lynwood is a terrific hotel for anyone. We had lots of room, a balcony that allowed su to see the ocean, a perfect location (near the beach but away from the crowds) and a phenomenal price. The value for $$ here is off the charts. The room was nice, clean, cozy and spacious. The staff were extra friendly and the outside looked like a sea side hotel in New England. I will be visitng this location next time I go to York for vacation

Room Tip: See if you can get the third floor rooms facing the ocean
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Was I staying at the same place? Yes, relatively clean and a good location. But the place is, if not run-down, very tired looking with chipped paint on stairs, railings and balconies; worn carpet and linoleum; and bed linens that look like they're from the 80s. If you desire an upper room to take advantage of the just-barely ocean view and have any accessibility issues, this is not your place. Several steps to get up to the porch, then two more steep flights to get to the third floor. No privacy between the balconies. Yes, the price is reasonable, but "you get what you pay for."

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Or2Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The Lynnwood is a great find! Our room was surprisingly large (queen bed, living room area, kitchen area, and large balcony facing the road). Hostess, Linda, is friendly & helpful, and there is no loss of privacy despite the intimacy of the property. The Lynnwood is located on the quiet side street of Broadway Ave. A quick (3 minutes) walk to Short Sands, and an easy walk (10 minutes max) to Long Sands. It is also an easy walk to Brown's Ice Cream and the Nubble Light (less than 10 minutes). If there is any drawback, it is in not being a beach front property. But the beach is easy to reach, and not being right on it affords more quiet and privacy. The price is also so reasonable, even at peak season. I would highly recommend The Lynnwood and plan to return next time we visit York Beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building with a balcony facing the road. The balcony expands the already...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HugADog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed at the Lynwood for 6 nights. Our room was like a studio apartment, complete with full kitchenette and fridge. The room was spotlessly clean and an amazing value! The owner, Lynn, was very friendly and helpful, she serves great homemade muffins and coffee in the morning. The inn is less than a 5 min walk to short sands beach, also walking distance to Goldenrod Kisses, Brown's ice cream, and Nubble Lighthouse. Our only complaint was that we could hear the people above us walking around. Our room was also next to the entrance so we could hear the door opening and people on the stairs. Lynn had warned me about this though and even with this bit of noise we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skihawaii36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This family run inn offers very clean and quiet rooms offering a mini kitchen and ammenities. The beds are extremely comfortable. The innkeepers will offer their assistance in any way to make sure your vacation is a memorable one. This 13 room inn does not offer breakfast but they do have pretty decent muffins and great coffee to tide you over . The town is a quick 4 min. walk away. I would definately recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rebelnat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Beach
0.4 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
378 reviews
1.3 mi away
Long Beach Motor Inn
Long Beach Motor Inn
#7 of 9 in York Beach
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand View Inn and Cottages
Grand View Inn and Cottages
#3 of 4 in York Harbor
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
1.3 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
693 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cutty Sark Motel
Cutty Sark Motel
#4 of 9 in York Beach
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lynwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lynwood Inn

Address: 41 Broadway, York Beach, York, ME 03910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in York Beach
Price Range: £87 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lynwood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lynwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lynwood Inn York, Maine - York Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing