We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doesn't claim to be the Hilton....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Villager Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Villager Motel
Ranked #6 of 7 York Beach B&B and Inns
Tewksbury, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Doesn't claim to be the Hilton....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Let me start by saying nowhere on their webpage do they claim to be a 5 star resort. What they do say is they are a clean, convenient, friendly place to go if you want to be within a 10 minute walking distance to everything. Which they definately are!
This is a place you'd stop into after driving for many hours and just wanted to shower and sleep before moving on.
That being said, we had an efficiency room which was very, very clean, beds were fresh and the bathroom was spotless. There was a mini fridge, a microwave and a ceiling fan which made it very convenient if we had chosen to pick up something for dinner and bring it back to the room.
If you leave the hotel and walk right you come into Short Sands beach. Besides the beach there are several streets you can walk up and down and pick up anything from cupcakes and fried dough to somewhat high end bottles of wine, and everything in between. Food, amusements like skiball and bowling, etc. You can also walk right up to the entrance of Yorks Wild Kingdom.
Leave the hotel and walk left it takes you to Long Sands beach. This doesn't have the 'carnival' feeling like Short Sands but there are also several places to shop and a few more sit down restaruants to eat. There are also general stores at both locations in case you forget a necessity or just want to pick up some drinks for your room.
All in all, if you are looking for a hotel with room service and a concierge, this isn't your type of place, but if you want a clean, safe place close to everything then maybe you should give it a try.

Room Tip: The efficiency rooms have lots of kitchenette space with cabinets but you will need to bring your ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patty V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    3
    0
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I'm shocked at all the good reviews. My family often goes to York and The Villager is something of a joke to us because it is so outdated and almost run down looking. We used to stay there continuously when I was younger and then not again until a couple years ago. It was creepy! It gave a "Vacancy" vibe, as in the movie. The front desk woman could have been nicer, I believe she refused to give us more than one key which was a pretty big Inconvenience for us. I also believe that the towels had stains on them and I believe the TV hardly worked. But the thing I remember most about the visit is when I was alone blow drying my hair for the evening, I felt a very strong, eery feeling that someone was behind me watching me. It just freaked me out. Would only recommend if you are absolutely desperate.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York Beach hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

This is a great place stay! The room was very spacious and VERY clean (probably the cleanest room that I have ever stayed in). The staff are very friendly and gave many suggestions and tips on where to go and where to eat. The location is perfect. It's within walking distance to both of the beaches, the amusement park and the shops. I highly recommend this motel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisaden01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Location allows for easy access to both Short Sands beach and Long Sands Beach. Not all rooms are air conditioned. Those that are not air conditioned have ceiling fans. Play area for children but swing set is only equipped with a slide. Fenced in-ground pool is a refreshing amenity after a long day at the beach but like the rest of the property, it needs maintenance.

Although many rooms are large with efficiencies and kept clean, they are very dated and need complete overhauls. Most definitely retro 70's. The outside of the buildings are in desperate need of some TLC with new paint and nails hammered in on stairs and decks.

Price for condition of the hotel is high. Owner is personable. Based on stay the first week of July 2013.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaelForceLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We were driving through and picked the villager after checking several other places. .it was the perfect location to be walking distance everywhere around! The lady at front desk was very sweet and helpful. Spacious room and clean!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maryhledbetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrimac, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Me and my husband stayed at the Villager over the fourth.. our room was clean staff was pleasant and front desk woman was helpful with great suggestions for the area especially the best place to get an ice cream (on the nubble.) Less than 5 minutes walk to both beaches, extremely convenient.The amount we paid to stay was reasonable even cheap compared to hotels at the beach. Overall great and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in a regular room but viewed one room that was like a studio apartment with kitchen and st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latta, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed here for one night during our trip to Bar Harbor. We did not have prior reservations and we looked at several different hotels to stay in for the night. We wanted to be right in the middle of downtown so we could walk around and eat and shop. This is the perfect place for that. Our room was $89 for the night. Its just a simple motel, nothing fancy at all. The lady at the desk was wonderful. The room was very clean. We were right in the middle of everything. Location is perfect. The free breakfast was very simple...cereal, muffins, bagels and boiled eggs. I would stay here again!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#1 of 9 in York Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic House Inn
Atlantic House Inn
#2 of 4 in York Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sands by the Sea
Sands by the Sea
#5 of 9 in York Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stones Throw & Inn On The Blues
0.2 mi away
The Lynwood Inn
The Lynwood Inn
#2 of 7 in York Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villager Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villager Motel

Property: The Villager Motel
Address: 14 Long Beach Avenue, York Beach, York, ME 03910
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in York Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Villager Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Villager Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villager Motel York, Maine - York Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing