We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No luxury? No problem.”
Review of Anchorage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchorage Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Very simple, basic inn. Stayed in late April so theoretically off season but was still fairly busy. There are 2 buildings, the main, front building that over looks the beach and then the building on the side/back which has beach view from the porch. Rooms are on the smaller size but well equipped. Friendly front desk staff. Can't beat the location or view.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank random315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 715 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

It was my wife's birthday and we thought it would be nice to get away for a few days. We looked for a place that would be interesting and cost effective. My wife found an advertizement for the Anchorage Inn for their 3 day 2 night stay with 1 dinner on one of the nights. So for $114/night we went to York Beach. The room I chose was on the 3rd floor for the better view (there is no elevator so be careful) the view from the 1st is nil, the 2nd is a little better. The room was very clean, modern, freshly painted. The rooms had fire sprinklers as well as smoke and co2 alarms. The building is far from new but has been kept up.There are 2 pools inside and out heated The outside balcony had a table and chairs to sit and watch the water that is directly across the street. The wall are thin and conservations between rooms can be annoying. Our dinner was at the Sun n' surf restaurant it was excellent, any item we wanted was available to us, from salad to dessert. We had an excellent time and will return.

Room Tip: If you want the best view of the ocean and don't mind climbing 3 flights stairs ask for a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeterReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I think the value is great and have always had clean rooms at The Anchorage. I am perplexed why the rooms don't have coffee makers. I have found even the cheapest hotels have coffee makers in them. On our last visit we stayed in the Atrium building and it was unfortunate that a very large group had camped out around the stairs of the pool. They were literally there from morning until night, even bringing crock pots out at meal time. This made it difficult for anyone else with small children needing the stairs to use the pool. Maybe a staff member could make a check on the pool occasionally and discourage people from sitting around the end of the pool for hours at a time since some people obviously don't have the courtesy to think of others.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moving_on2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I was looking at places to stay with my girlfriend for a nice weekend getaway. My family have been visiting York Beach since I was a child so I was well aware of the area. I ended up choosing the Anchorage Inn and couldn't have been more pleased. Check in was a breeze, we were offered a deal due to it being Valentines Day which included a free dinner at Surf and Turf (great food) and a bottle of champagne. The room was on the third floor and was really nice. Flat screen TV, mini fridge, great views! The king size bed was super comfy as well! All in all we had a great weekend.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank SRChristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed at The Anchorage Inn over the long weekend January 18th - 20th. Due to sickness during the holiday season, we weren't able to visit family in Connecticut, so they traveled to Maine to meet us for a delayed holiday gathering. We were THRILLED with our accommodations at The Anchorage Inn !!!! Everyone at the Inn was helpful and pleasant to us, from the front desk to the housekeeping staff to the delightful cook in the breakfast cafe!! The rooms were immaculate and the beds were sooooooooo comfortable!!! Our kids enjoyed the pool and just being together. We were able to sit and visit and look at the gorgeous ocean views - AWESOME! There seemed to be several families enjoying the weekend and the winter weather didn't stop anyone from walking to the pool with snow boots and coats over bathing suits !!! I was concerned initially that the Inn might only be a great summer get-away, but I was WRONG!! This Inn is perfect for a get-away in winter too! Thank you Anchorage Inn - we will definitely return!!!

Room Tip: There are 2 pools at the Inn. If you stay in the front of the Inn, you'll have to walk from you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

This has been our 9th year coming here in a row, and our family loves it. We have stayed in every different room, and we have enjoyed every one. This time we stayed in the normal rooms, and we loved the smell, the view, and the separate bunk bed room. The two pools are amazing, and its great to have one indoor and one outdoor in case of rain. The waterslide is always the kids favorite. There is alot of great nearby restraunts, and the beach is right across the street. This is our families favorite hotel in the world. We will be returning for the 10th time this summer.

Stayed: August 2013
3  Thank Ballerstatus10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed here the weekend after Memorial Weekend, The staff were wonderful, thoughtful. The weather turned unusually warm, very early, The out door pool staff were very helpful and mindful of the unusually strong sun. they provided umbrellas sun burn reminders. to watch out for the sun. The room was nice even though it was not on the ocean front view. I loved that there was a children's area including an area just for the adults. The grass and ocean views were wonderful. Just being able to be poolside and ocean side a walk from the parking lot was special. I would stay there again. Highly recommend this as a nice resort.

Room Tip: choose rooms on the ocean side of the complex, not across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancee444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Beach
1.4 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
384 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
415 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
804 reviews
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
4.8 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Inn

Address: Route 1A, 265 Long Beach Avenue, York Beach, York, ME 03910
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Price Range: £75 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
202 Room Ocean Front Hotel with 2 indoor, 1 outdoor seasonal pool with slide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anchorage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Hotel York Beach
Anchorage Resort York Beach
Anchorage Inn York, Maine - York Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing