We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantic House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantic House Inn
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

My family and I have been renting a house in York Beach for years. This year we decided to extend our vacation and spent 2 nights at the Atlantic House -- great decision! Location is great -- short walk to Short Sands beach and all the main street attactions. Added convenience of GiGi's restaurant and the new bakery made it even more enjoyable. We stayed in the Loft and had plenty of room (family of five). The washer/dryer was an added bonus making it easy to wash our beach towels, etc. at the end of our trip. The staff was terrific. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The loft room has a nice balcony overlooking main street and comfortably sleeps 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda K, Management Company at Atlantic House Inn, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for choosing to extend your stay at our beautiful Atlantic House Inn. We are so happy that you had the chance to experience our brand of hospitality with your family. Our Loft is wonderful, spacious, modern and perfect for groups up to 10 people! We couldn't agree more with your assessment of our two tenant restaurants, GiGi's and the Italian Bakery. They are great partners in making our guest's stays complete! Thank you for giving us a try and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    12
    0
    1
    7
See reviews for
19
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

I really enjoyed our stay at the Atlantic House. Our room was very large, very clean and had everything we could need including a washer and dyer. The location is great right across from the beach and walking distance to York's wild Kingdom I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: One bedroom with fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jointfixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda K, Management Company at Atlantic House Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
We are so glad you found us! Being close to everything is one of our greatest amenities. We hope that the next time you find yourself in our area that you will come and stay with us again! Have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We were looking for a place to stay only one night...2 couples...desired privacy for each couple so Kathy gave us a great rate for a King Suite that adjoined a Queen Room with whirlpool tub...it was PERFECT. Spotless, beautifully decorated and comfortable. And an Italian Bakery downstairs??? What could be more perfect? Made our overnight in Maine truly wonderful!

Room Tip: Tell them exactly what you are looking for and your price range...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda K, Management Company at Atlantic House Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
We are truly lucky to have such a great manager! Thank you for recognizing Kathy. One of the biggest benefits of the Atlantic House Inn is the versatility in layout of our suites. As you experienced, we can connect hotel rooms to condos, and condos to condos to make groups staying together comfortable and give the privacy that each family desires! We hope that you'll think of us again on your next trip to York Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in a queen bedroom. The price for a rather small room was rather high (260 plus tax per night). That said, the room was upscale, clean, had nice furnishings, a gas fireplace, and came with a whirlpool in the bathroom. The staff was very courteous and helpful, and the hotel is walking distance to the Short Sands beach and various restaurants on Main Street. It is within a 10-15 minute drive from Long Sands Beach, Ogunquit Beach, and the Nubble lighthouse. The second floor of the building houses Gigi restaurant, which is a major plus because of its amazing food. We ate there two nights in a row! The only con to the room where we stayed was that the balcony of the other room extended in front of our window, which resulted in noise in the morning (which woke me up as I am a light sleeper--if you are not a light sleeper, it shouldn't bother you) and lack of privacy if they decided to stand outside their rooms. We had to shut our blinds to get some privacy. The parking lot is across the street and the hotel gives its guests a pass to park there. It's pretty convenient and there is a loading area in front of the hotel, so one doesn't have to lug the stuff all the way across the street. All in all, a pleasant stay though a little steeply priced (caveat: we booked last minute and it was peak summer rates).

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank the_rover_syracuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda K, Management Company at Atlantic House Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to let us know you enjoyed your stay at our beautiful hotel! We love hearing that customers are happy and do appreciate your comments and notes! Location, location, location..... and you are right - we have that down! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

So this hotel recently opened under new management. When you check into the hotel you feel like you are in a loading dock basement. Very shady and not welcoming environment. That said, the people we very nice. A younger adult seemed to run the check in process and did a fine job. From there you get into a shady elevator and go up to your room. This is where is gets good. The hotel outside of the lobby and entrance is very nice. Clean and well taken care of. The rooms are perfect and also have a nice touch to them. There's no room service or real amenities to note of. Bathrooms are clean, beds are clean and comfy enough. Great views of downtown york and short sands. This hotel has everything you need for a beach hotel. If you plan on staying in the hotel don't go to the beach. The resturant, GIGI's is awesome. service is okay but food was good. Best location to stay in york for sure. Walking distance to everything.

one bad note, the central air was broken so there was an in window ac unit. not a big deal but just thought I would mention it.

Advice to the owners...you are on the cusp of a perfect hotel and experience. improve lobby, add a couple services and it will be perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kvarie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda K, Management Company at Atlantic House Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for taking time to let us know about your recent stay. We really appreciate the favorable comments about our nice rooms, clean accommodations, good views, and good food at our tenant restaurant GiGi's. It is nice to know that we mostly provided a good travel experience during your stay. It's tough to make calls on which spaces are the most important in the guest experience. While we want to make a great first impression - sometimes small hotels and inns need to make hard decisions with respect to the public space so they can focus on the guest rooms. Over the course of the off season, we'll take another look at the lobby and elevator and see what we can do to elevate the quality of these spaces and bring them more in line with our guest rooms. Maybe then, we'll step over the cusp and be that perfect hotel for you! Thank you so much for your vote of confidence. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband and I read some horrific reviews regarding the Atlantic House Inn -- don't believe them! Those reviews were based on the previous management. We went away spur of the moment without reservations. When we saw the "Under New Management" sign, we decided to give it a shot. Cathy Chalue was warm and friendly. The room we got was exceptional and at a great price. Kayleigh was covering the desk when we were on our way out to dinner. I mentioned that a lightbulb was out in the bathroom. It was replaced immediately. Although it was only a one night get away, I enjoyed the Atlantic immensely! Hopefully, we'll be back sooner rather than later. Thanks, Cathy. Your kindness was much appreciated!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TessB6A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda K, Management Company at Atlantic House Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
We couldn't agree more! Kathy Chalue and her team are simply awesome and we are glad you noticed. The Atlantic House Inn is so happy to again be part of this robust community. Our new management company and staff look forward to serving customers for many years to come. We are so glad you tried us and gave us the chance to show you our brand of hospitality! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peabody, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Thanks to the management the stay was superb, The staff answer our request and where there when ever we needed them.
The room was great, clean up to date and comfortable we loved the fire place.
The restaurant GiGi was a little slow but we were on vacation and that's what its about taken in the peacefulness, But I must say the food was excellent I had the sword fish.
I have to mention the Italian pastry and bread bakery was out of this world.
Would I go again "yes"

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda K, Management Company at Atlantic House Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so glad that we lived up to your expectations and gave you moments to remember. We are so fortunate to have such great vendor partners in our building and are glad that you enjoyed GiGi's and the Italian bakery! See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Beach
0.1 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#1 of 9 in York Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
3.2 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
3.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
1.3 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cutty Sark Motel
Cutty Sark Motel
#4 of 9 in York Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic House Inn

Property: Atlantic House Inn
Address: 2 Beach St, York Beach, York, ME 03909-6237
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in York Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantic House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in our beautifully appointed suites in the newly opened Atlantic House Inn. Choose from luxurious condo style suites with full kitchens or wonderfully appointed hotel guest rooms. Steps away from Short Sands Beach in family friendly York Beach, Maine.Originally built in 1877, the Atlantic House Inn offers comfortable, cozy, and upscale accommodations to guests looking for the convenience of a condominium but yearning for the ambiance of a country inn. All of our individually decorated condo-style one bedroom hotel suites pay homage to traditional New England cottage décor, with modern touches such as gourmet kitchenettes with granite countertops and stainless appliances, and luxurious bathrooms with rainfall showers and whirlpool tubs. Each suite features separate areas for living and sleeping, washer/dryer, gas fireplace, sleeper sofa and two 42” plasma televisions. For additional space, add a connecting hotel room to your condo to accommodate additional guests while maintaining privacy. One-of-a-kind Loft features two-story accommodations. For maximum occupancy, add a one-bedroom condo suite to the Loft unit, and/or another hotel room to accommodate up to 12 persons! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Atlantic House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic House Inn York, Maine - York Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing