We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Family Tradition”
Review of Sands by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sands by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Just got back from our second, now annual, stay at the Sands by the Sea. We had a amazing three nights. If you are going to York Beach, look no further, this is the place to stay. You simply can't beat the location. Friendly staff(they all care about the guests), super clean grounds, close to everything. You park your car and never need it again. The beach is across the street and they also have a nice pool if that's what you prefer. Room has fridge and microwave, nice cold ac after a hot day at the beach. Beds are fine, twin pull out was adequate. No complaints from us, we will return again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shedawg1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsbytheSeaMotel, Owner at Sands by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

We love that you have started an annual family tradition in York Beach and that it includes us! We're so excited to be a part of your families memories. The list of things that you were happy about really motivates us to keep on going with all our improvements. We're so glad you noticed. We wanted to thank you for your wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

My family and I booked two rooms for a few nights to enjoy the Fourth of July weekend. I must say it was nothing but the best from the Sands! Both rooms were immaculate, I must say I've never seen such clean motel rooms. From check in to check out the staff were so friendly and helpful. We had stunning views of the fireworks, the beach and the pool. I even got to take in a beautiful sunrise right from my room! You can't go wrong booking a few nights here. The location is superb! Just a few steps away from the beach, quaint little shops, nice places to eat and of course York's Wild Kingdom! Our favorite part of the motel is the pool! Always clean, refreshing and relaxing! We will be back soon! Thank you Samds by the Sea for yet another great vacation :) the Brammer-DiFiore family

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsbytheSeaMotel, Owner at Sands by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thanks Jen,

We always love having the Brammer Family down to the Sands! Thanks so much for your review. You didnt have to do that, but it makes us glad you took the time anyway. It was great serving you guys this year again and please let us know when we can be of service again. Take care until next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed here for three nights over the 4th of July holiday. It was so convenient to the beach, fireworks, in town stuff for the kids, etc. The owner and general manager were so nice and helpful. Some minor things- the room was very clean, and the bathroom looked like it had just been redone. However, there was not a single towel bar or hook to hang towels on! And we had 3-4 wet beach towels and bathing suits to hang daily as well. Our room was a studio suite, and it could have used a privacy curtain between the queen bed and pull-out couch. There were also no curtains or shades on the windows. They were small, but people could still see in, and the sun would come in at 5:00am! But the room was away from the main road, so it was quiet. And my kids loved the pool. The whole hotel was very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenandbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We loved this place! Great access to the Beach and shops, Nice pool, Price was fantastic compared to the other places in the area. Very clean! Beds were VERY comfy. Needs a coffee maker in the room. We will be back next year! <3

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The location is great! The beach is right there! The Zoo is a block away and there are lots of shops and places to eat right there. The staff was great... Helpful and friendly. The is limited parking in the front but plenty of parking right behind the motel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damy0128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We just got back from a short stay. We park our car and never have to move it, you are so close to everything, if you want to stay in York or take a trolley to Perkins cove. We have three boys (at the age they can explore on their own). It is safe and exceptionally clean, The staff is extremely friendly from the managers to housekeeping . Paul and Chris are wonderful, they both are professional and really care about your experience. I will write more but I'm off too sleep after a grest 3 days! I highly recommend sands by the sea!

On a side note; this is a wonderful place however it is not the ritz, my reason for saying this is, is not to confuse others thinking it is comparable. This is a wonderful clean place that you will be able to create wonderful memories with your family! !

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dwillard3bs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I spent 3 nights here on Memorial Day weekend with 3 adults and 5 children. We had 2 rooms with 2 double beds in each. The rooms were very clean and employees extremely nice! The location is perfect. Walking distance to York's Wild kingdom and lots of other restaurants, shops etc. Perfect view to the beach also! No complaints, i am absolutely staying here again!! Awesome hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeiceyD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsbytheSeaMotel, Owner at Sands by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you for your glowing review. We really do love it when customers are as happy as you were. As a new owner I am striving to make all the improvements I can and my staff works very hard to supply the best customer service possible. It really does help to motivate all of us when we get such a nice review. We're glad you enjoyed your Memorial Day Weekend stay even though it rained two thirds of the time. Its great to be in York Beach come rain or shine, right?! Take care and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Beach
0.1 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
383 reviews
1.3 mi away
Long Beach Motor Inn
Long Beach Motor Inn
#7 of 9 in York Beach
104 reviews
3.1 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
1.3 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
712 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands by the Sea

Address: 15 Ocean Avenue, PO Box 300, York Beach, York, ME
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Price Range: £94 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you like being able to check into a clean, friendly, ocean front motel with a beautiful pool and close proximity to not only the beach, but the shops, restaurants, park, trolly, amusement park and even a Wild Animal Kingdom, then you've found the right place! Come see us at the Sands by the Sea Motel where all of your troubles and worries will melt away as you first arrive and view out over the majestic Atlantic Ocean, which is visible from most of our comfortable accommodations. We have a range of standard rooms, 1-bedroom suites, 2 or 3 bedroom cottages and even the Sea Rose Luxury Condominium Suites. We look forward to seeing you in York Beach at the Sands by the Sea Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Sands by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands By The Sea Hotel York Beach
Sands By The Sea York, Maine - York Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing