We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff never ceases to amaze and best vacation spot in region!”
Review of Sands by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sands by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just spent a week in mid-July in Sea Rose suites with family. Amazing accommodations across from one of top beaches in Northeast while surrounded by "village" that covers any and all a family needs to enjoy and relax. Sands even raised the bar by adding heated pool, so the closest pool to beach in York now even more comfortable.

What will bring us back more than anything is attentiveness of staff. Paul and his staff have the place spotless and immaculate and are ready to jump through hoops to please. 3 teenage girls and a special needs sister in law equals needs to be met and self inflicted hiccups (clogging a toilet type of thing) along the way, and yet things were was addressed so fast it was like nothing happened!!!......Can't wait til next chance to get there for either a quick get away or another week! Thanks Sands!!

Room Tip: If you want to maximize your view get one of the suites or an "end room". The extra comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CoachK2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsbytheSeaMotel, Owner at Sands by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thanks Charlie! We always love your yearly reviews. What a nice bunch of comments you made. Thank you very much. We strive to be family friendly and as accommodating as possible. Hospitality is the name of the game:^). We hope you make it up again at the end of the season for another quick getaway as you had hoped. We're here for you and your family anytime. Take care and god bless you guys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Where do I begin? It's in a good location. That's about all it has going for it. If you enjoy cigarette smoke, stay here. There are constantly people smoking on the balconies and it goes right through the AC units into the rooms. Let's move onto the rooms. Old, dated, nasty. Our sink wouldn't drain and had bugs floating in it. The tub floor was separating and had water trapped under the layer of vinyl and it was like showering while standing on a waterbed. The parking is awful. And for the price, I'd rather spend $20 more a night and stay at the Union Bluff. I will never come back.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank tilemover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsbytheSeaMotel, Owner at Sands by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

I find your review to be unnecessarily harsh. If you do not alert the front desk about a clogged drain, then it will remain clogged. A quick call and would have been remedied in minutes. We are looking into the maintenance issue with the shower, but again we cannot fix certain things unless we are made aware of it by a guest. Thank you for letting us know, but It would have been fine to address these issues at the front desk instead of online. Parking on Short Sands Beach is very limited and so it's also a concern for us as well. Every guest is GUARANTEED a spot and since we did not have any complaints from you or anyone else about a lack of parking I can only imagine that you were annoyed because you had to park in our main lot instead of one of the much desired front spots. Please understand the majority of our parking is in our main lot that is located on motel property right behind the motel. As far as your "Old, dated, nasty" comment, I would like to inform you that your room was completely repainted a new color this year, a brand new bureau and flat screen TV w/ DVD was put in this year and the window treatments, art, headboard, mattress & box spring and all bedding is new within the last 21/2 seasons. The carpet is less than 6 seasons old and the rest is being worked on each and every year. As far as "Nasty", that is a straight up emotional and untrue response and you know it. We take cleanliness very seriously and i do not appreciate you disgracing my hardworking housekeeping staff. We understand that we cannot make everyone happy and we accept the fact that this place is not for you. To each his own and we'll be more than pleased if you stay anywhere else the next time you come to York Beach ME.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Late review - I stayed at this hotel in August 2012. The best thing about this motel is its location - very very close to everything! Easy walk to the beach, arcade, zoo, shops, restaurants. Never took the car out of the parking lot during our stay. The room was clean and comfortable, but small. The bathroom was very small and somewhat outdated. The downside of this motel is that is pretty crowded in layout and can get noisy. The pool is in the center of the U-shaped motel and, with our room being on the ground floor and next to the office, it was pretty loud there whenever we were in our room. Also, given the limited space, the parking is limited and I had to park in an overflow parking area behind the building. However, because I didn't even use the car, it wasn't a big problem.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank badbcatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsbytheSeaMotel, Owner at Sands by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

We appreciate your honest review and we are always looking for ways to improve our services and our property. We're sorry if you experienced some noise problems when you stayed back in 2012. I assure you that even though we are a family friendly establishment, that we run a very tight ship here and are able to handle any kids or guests that might be getting a little loud. We take a great pride in making sure that all of our guests are comfortable, that includes you. If you ever experience anything like that again, please contact the front desk and let us know because we are more then happy to to extinguish any loud behavior form our motel. As far as the parking goes, you had referred to our rear lot as "overflow", but I assure you that, that is the main parking lot. The few coveted spots up front are less then 25% of our parking. Thank you so much for taking a moment to review us. Until next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

My wife, daughter, and I stayed here recently. The location was absolutely perfect considering the close proximity of the arcade, zoo, beach, shops, and amusement park. We're still not sure though how a MOTEL gets away with charging the prices they do especially considering all the other places around there.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottcowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsbytheSeaMotel, Owner at Sands by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

You said it yourself "LOCATION". Just to be clear, there are only 3 hotels on Short Sands Beach and we are clearly the cheapest. I'm not sure what you mean by "all the places around there". If you mean the many other places on the other beach that do not have our location, convenience, cleanliness or outside heated pool, then please feel free to rent and compare and I'm sure you'll see why we're top rated. Thank you for your honest review. We always striving to improve. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I have spent a view days at Sands by the Sea years ago.and now we are back.....Rooms are kept very clean and the staff is always willing to help you with your needs. I also appreciate that the prices are still reasonablele for the family. Hope to come back next year

Room Tip: Loved being on the second level. Was able to view the ocean and enjoyed the beach and also the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsbytheSeaMotel, Owner at Sands by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Just wanted to say thanks for your kind words. We really do try to keep our prices as competitive as possible and we're pleased that you appreciated that. We are the least expensive motel on Short Sands Beach. We always try to keep our family customers satisfied and we really appreciate your honest review. We'll be so happy to have you back any old time. Thanks so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

I have been coming to the Sands by the Sea for 5 years. Everything about this hotel is wonderful. The location is perfect...near everything fun and across from the beach. Impeccably clean with wonderful management and service. Prices are fair!!! Comfortable rooms. I love staying there and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsbytheSeaMotel, Owner at Sands by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us for 5 years straight! We really appreciate your kind words and review. Can't wait to have you return. Our repeat customers mean so much to us and it makes us feel good that you cared enough to review us. Take care until next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My family comes here every year for a few days and we are never disappointed. The rooms are very clean. Fresh linen and towels everyday. The staff is always cleaning. The beach is right across the street. If it rains you can just walk downtown to the shops. The hotel pool is heated. Plenty to do here. My husband and I stayed at the Hilton in Hawaii and we prefer Sands by the Sea in York.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsbytheSeaMotel, Owner at Sands by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

What a review! Thank you so much for your great comments. Better than Hawaii, WOW! Take care and we can't wait to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Beach
0.1 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
384 reviews
1.3 mi away
Long Beach Motor Inn
Long Beach Motor Inn
#7 of 9 in York Beach
104 reviews
5 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
805 reviews
1.3 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
715 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands by the Sea

Address: 15 Ocean Avenue, PO Box 300, York Beach, York, ME
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Price Range: £92 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you like being able to check into a clean, friendly, ocean front motel with a beautiful pool and close proximity to not only the beach, but the shops, restaurants, park, trolly, amusement park and even a Wild Animal Kingdom, then you've found the right place! Come see us at the Sands by the Sea Motel where all of your troubles and worries will melt away as you first arrive and view out over the majestic Atlantic Ocean, which is visible from most of our comfortable accommodations. We have a range of standard rooms, 1-bedroom suites, 2 or 3 bedroom cottages and even the Sea Rose Luxury Condominium Suites. We look forward to seeing you in York Beach at the Sands by the Sea Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sands by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands By The Sea Hotel York Beach
Sands By The Sea York, Maine - York Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing