We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheer Madness...NY to York Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Latch Motor Inn
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Aloha,and mahalo for a blessed girls gettaway:) My friends and I recently stayed at the sealatch this past weekend(rm 35) and had an absolute blast! The staff and location could not be beat. Just a few barefoot steps from my door to the sand. An incredible lighthouse view,and convienently located to town and the harbor. The pool sits as the centerpiece to the property and is a freshwater blessing after a dip in the ocean. We traveled with the fixings for a friendly beachside BBQ. Ron (the crumbster) maintainance man set us up with a grill,picnic table and some complimentary charcoal and made us feel more than at home:) Given that our room was only a "basic" hotel room,it more than exceeded our expectations...thanx again. the mini fridge kept our beer and wine SUPER cold...a definate plus on vacation. The room was super clean and equiped with everything we wished for...thanx Mike and John:) The crab rangoogn at the panda something at short sands were the best i ever ate!!! We tried to make it to Cape Neddick for lobster and steamers,but to our surprise and dissapointment it was closed on Mon and Tue after the summer rush FYI. If by chance you just so happen to b stuck without a car... Call York Beach Taxi (207) 216-0032
Bob,AKA "Santa Clause" will asst. with all of your transportation needs. He is efficient and not a dirt bag cabbie. His vehicle is clean and he is very professional and timely,not to mention his very reasonable rates. He told us that he grows his beard from April thru Dec to play Santa Clause at the local mall and then shaves it on Christmas eve...a pretty spirited guy:) Went for chowdah and a beer at the union bluff,beer was greeeeeaat,chowdah tasted like snows out of a can...skip it. The service was good and ambiance fine,after eating we walked across the street and recilned on a beach chair compliments of the bluff and watched the full moon shine like diamonds on the ocean. The next night we ate at the 123 restaraunt,had a great time and the service was good. There is an outside patio across from the beach, a little pricey,but remember...LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION. There is a comfy cozy smokers corner out back with couches,chairs and coffee tables,a nice place to relax after dinner.
Well,thats my story and I'm stickin to it...Do yourself a favor and make your reservations at the sealatch...you WONT be dissapointed.
From one happy and satisfied traveler to another. AloooooHA!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank maui420_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2011

This hotel saved our vacation. We had been screwed by a dirty nasty smelly place in Kittery and decided to go hunting for a place with vacancy. We went to a few places with only one room available for the 2 nights and 7 people we needed to accomodate. The Sea Latch was the 4th place we stopped and they had 2 double rooms side by side. The rooms were a little out dated but very clean, friendly staff and good breakfast coupons for the place down the road. We had a blast at the beach right accross the road and vacation turned out great!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank H R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

I stayed at the Sea Latch in a weekly cottage last week. I had an excellent time. The weather was perfect. We accomplished just about every water activity there is. The cottage was adorable. Very clean. We grilled several nights outside, met a lot of other nice vacationers staying there also. The people that work in the Front Office were extremely helpful in providing us with all the activities and restaurants available in the area to try. Over all I would give this place an A. I highly recommend it for your family.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank smilingkitty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

I went to The Sea Latch Motel for a week with my husband and girlfriend. It was a last minute plan and it was really the only place available, at the time, that was right across the street from the beach/ocean. You can't beat the location. The room, on the other hand, was not so good. It smelled of insecticide and the beds were extremely uncomfortable. We stayed in H3 and because we were there for a week we were considered "long term" guests. They advertise free hot breakfast but not for us. One day we received maid service and the next day we didn't. One day we had to pay to park, the next day we didn't. One day we were given toilet paper the next day we were told to buy our own. No towels for us either! My husband joked about the staff at the office and wondered what color their mood rings would be on any given day. We never seemed to get the same answer from anyone. Once we were told "she must have missed the staff meeting". Huh? Black mood rings that day! We will never go back! It really could have been a more positive experience if the staff could have got their acts together and if the beds were more comfortable

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
7  Thank JodyBTyngsboro_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We made reservations by speaking direct to the motel clerk for a two night stay on a weekend in Sept. 2010. Having never stayed at this location, we were assured that the room H-7 had an excellent ocean front view witha balcony. It did. However, when we arrived at 8:00PM and entered our "suite" as it was protrayed to be, we almost fainted when we opened the door. To begin with we had to enter from the back side up a pair of run down stairs and a very dirt carpeted stairway to the second floor. The smell and the entrance should have been warning enough, but we forged on. When we opened the door to the room and all there was for lighting was a very old, outdated ceiling light and one small table lamp, you got it, everything went down from there. By the way, the ocean front view, you had to look through a sliding glass door that was so old and stained that you could not see the ocean and the balcony was as dirty and detoriated as the entrance stairs. the poarch furniture on the deck was filthy, I bet had not been cleand in months, probably years. No phone in roo,, a small 13" TV, no dresser for clothes, no portable luggage rack to set you suitcase on, ect. Absoutley, Hell On Earth !! Sleep in your car first.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank digger01_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Nobody could argue that the location of this motel is extraordinary...just across the ocean. However, cleanliness is not a luxury. The sink area was not clean and the sliding door had children's handprints on it inside and out, which I cleaned after the first day. Obviously, cleaning staff didn't catch it the first or second time. Asking for an extra pillow twice was also a waste of time. As for the value of our room...let's say that the room rate was posted at $205/night and we were charged more...NOT WORTH IT!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank auntie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

After visiting many places like Los Angeles, Disney world, West Palm beach and all East coast states this had to be our favorite place to stay and vacation spot. After staying in The Mirage penthouse in Vegas I wasn’t sure my family would like Sea Latch; however they loved it. Sea Latch was friendlier and seemed to get to know the guests unlike any of the places we've been to. It was so much more family oriented than all the other hotels and resorts. They went out of their way to accomodate us.
We appreciated the closeness of the beach to the motel. It was not a busy highway at least by our standards. It was a 2 lane road with pedestrian right away cross walks. I have never found that in many other Southern beaches with 6 lane highways.
We chose it after reading reviews on trip advisor as well as based on the location we wanted. I had to call several times with issues such as when my parents decided to join our trip and wanted a room next to ours. The owner was always so helpful and even upon our arrival was able to tell us so much about the area. Being from Pittsburgh, Pa we weren’t familiar with anything in New England. The rooms we stayed in were updated, clean and the maid service was perfect. If we needed extra towels, blankets, pillows or anything it was there immediately with friendly service. We need quiet to sleep and we would leave the window open all night listening to the waves with no problem from anyone nearby making noise. The restaurants we chose were all within walking distance and to get to the Short Sands beach we took the trolley, which the children enjoyed. Nubble Lighthouse was the only place we found ourselves driving to.
My girls 5 and 7 have said they want to return to Maine than Disney or a Florida trip again next year. That is what prompted me to write a review. We all fell in love with this motel and town. Looking back I wish we’d have spent the second part of our vacation here rather than Martha’s Vineyard.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deebug2470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Beach
0.0 mi away
Long Beach Motor Inn
Long Beach Motor Inn
#7 of 9 in York Beach
105 reviews
1.8 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
783 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand View Inn and Cottages
Grand View Inn and Cottages
#3 of 4 in York Harbor
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
703 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunrise Motel
Sunrise Motel
#6 of 9 in York Beach
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Latch Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Latch Motor Inn

Address: 277 Long Beach Ave, Route 1A, York Beach, York, ME 03910
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Price Range: £131 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Latch Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Latch Motel, located across from Long Sands Beach in York Beach, Maine, boasts a stunning, scenic view of the ocean and offers a diverse choice of accommodations including rooms, efficiencies, cottages and suites. New for 2014, our Manor House has been replaced with a brand new, three-story, all-suite building.In addition to the on-site amenities including a swimming pool, free parking and free hot breakfast at the Lobster Cove restaurant, the York Beach area offers a wealth of attractions to keep you entertained, satisfied and wishing summer in New England could last forever. During your stay you may consider lounging on Long Sands Beach, visiting York's Wild Kingdom or nearby Nubble Lighthouse. And don't forget about the dozens of shopping opportunities at the infamous Kittery Outlets.Between the feel of the sea breeze, the warmth of summer air, the smell of the ocean and the sound of the waves lapping the shore, the memories of your visit to York Beach Maine will surely become lifelong treasures.We are family-owned and operated and our goal is to make you feel at home, while you're away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sea Latch Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Latch Hotel York Beach
Sea Latch Motor Inn York, Maine - York Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing