We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea Latch Motor Inn
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

My family and I go up to York every summer for a long weekend. We have stayed at the Sea Latch before (against my will) when the old building was there and it was gross. We went up last minute this year hoping we cited work a deal for the new building and I am so glad we did.
I was greeted by Patrice, the lovely woman at the front desk. I explained that it was my father, brother and i and we are repeat customers and were really hoping to stay in the new
building for a discounted rate. After a few phone calls she obliged. Gorgeous updated rooms with nice bathroom and double balcony. Weird that the rooms had no closet, hangers or ironing board but I didn't care because the building was clean, neat and tidy and directly across from the ocean. Price to stay in the new building is absolutely outrageous, but pleased with the cleanliness and courtesy of staff.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaLatchME, Manager at Sea Latch Motor Inn, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad Patrice could accommodate your family in our beautiful new Manor House. We are still in the process of adding additional items and welcome suggestions from our guests.
We pride ourselves on setting our prices comparable to other oceanfront hotels and maintaining the highest level of cleanliness. Our dependable staff is always ready to assist our guests in any way possible.
We hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    23
    20
    12
    18
See reviews for
46
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We come to Maine every tear and usually stay at the Achorage, but no room was available, so we found the Sea Latch had a new building with rooms that would accomadate our family. My first impression was at check in and the woman working the desk , that Thursday morning ,was very nice! Had a very nice conversation with her while our room was being prepared! Our room was in the new building which was very clean and smelled new as expected. Had two problems with other women working in the office on Saturday and again at checkout Sunday!! My daughters , ages 17 and 13 went to office to see about getting 2 more shower towels , and they came back upset because the women was rude to them. Then checking out Sunday I passed two overnight bags over our railing( we were on the first floor) and the women gave me a lecture of why I shouldn't do that!!! Never touched the vinyl railing, just two overnight bags to put in my vehicle!! She was extremely rude, I went to the office ten minutes later to tell her that was not appreciated and very unprofessional! That being said because of the two rude employees we will not be retuning to the Sea Latch!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markdeubel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The MOTEL is across the street from the beach BUT it is all rocks there and not for swimming. You have to drive down the road to access a sandy beach. The rooms are very old, very dated and the rugs are dirty. We were told we would have a view of the light house......yes if you lay in your bed open the drapes so everyone walking by can look in and see you and the light house is a distant vision MILES AWAY.........don't fall for it. The breakfast coupon is only for an amount up to $6.99 so you always go over and end up paying extra. However, they did build a new building, 3 floors but it was not yet open when we were there over July 4th. The pool is small and the office closes at 10:00 which means no ice after 10:00 P.M. All in all we paid almost $800 for three nights. Wish I had stayed home......look for another place to stay. NOT A PLEASANT EXPERIENCE if you like cleanliness. We were with friends and their rooms were as bad and one was worse than ours. Not nice! Smelled old, musty and moldy........wouldn't walk on any rugs without my shoes. This hotel is rated MINUS POOR by us.

Room Tip: GO TO ANOTHER HOTEL TOWARD THE CUTE LITTLE DOWNTOWN.......YORK HARBOR. Don't forget to keep put...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York Beach hotels

2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

My family goes to York Beach a few times each year. The hotel where we normally stay was booked on a weekend we wanted to go up last minute. We decided to stay at the Sea Latch for 2 reasons. The first was that my husband used to stay there as a child and second they had just done renovations.

We stayed in the new hotel portion. The rooms were very nice, because they were brand new. They were lacking in a few areas however. There are no peep holes in the doors, there are no full length mirrors and the rooms did not have blow dryers. There are no extra pillows and the blankets are paper thin. The rooms are of average quality. There is nothing special about them other than being new.

While the new hotel is very nice and clean the cottages and motel are the same as they always were and bring down the hotel tremendously. There is one pool that is not very inviting. The room was over $300 for one night. Extremely overpriced compared to others in the area.

While the location is perfect and the hotel was brand new and clean, I do not plan on staying at this hotel again due to the cons outweighing the pros.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I would never stay ther ever again thay are rude it is over priced at 325.00 a night can't even park near your room can't even sit on your deck and have a coffee in a real coffee cup went and used the front door near the pool and then when thay seen us using it thay blocked it off with caution tap so we could not use it

Room Tip: Do not stay ther it's really sucks
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank billbill9696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaLatchME, Manager at Sea Latch Motor Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Sea Latch. We are sorry to hear that you would not return as a guest. Our new building has been well received and we feel that our rates are competitive for the area and the summer season along the Maine coast.

All of the rooms in the Manor House feature a butler's pantry with refrigerator, microwave,sink, coffee maker and dishes. The safety of our guests, including access to our building(s) is a high priority. If a door is blocked by a crowd or other obstacle, this creates an unsafe situation in the event of an emergency.

While we do not offer assigned parking spots for our guests, we do provide free, on-site parking. During constructions of our new building, we dramatically increased our available parking area by 30 spaces.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlemont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our family rents a cottage there for a week each year. The location is great and for a family looking for a place to stay and play, it's nice. The cottages show some wear and tear but are a nice getaway with full kitchens. Beds are a bit small for larger guests but decent overall. The hotel rooms are older and a bit on the smallish side, but a good value in a tourist spot compared to others lodging options. Family run operation with pretty good service but limited amenities.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nexdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaLatchME, Manager at Sea Latch Motor Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We appreciate your comments regarding Sea Latch Inn. We're glad you enjoyed our location and the surrounding area. Since your last visit, we have added 31 new rooms, refurbished the pool, and have started adding new coffee makers to every room which should be finished by this fall. We hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed at the sea latch right before our first born was due. The rooms where clean upon arrival. Woman at the front desk ( Jamaican woman) extremely nice and helpful. White woman upon arrival at the front desk not so personable. Had a great stay location was beautiful. Cleaning lady did not empty trash when cleaning our room on the second day. No coffee maker in room and front desk area did not open till 10 am where you could get coffee.:( other than those few things the stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lkissbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaLatchME, Manager at Sea Latch Motor Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We appreciate your comments regarding Sea Latch Inn. We're glad you enjoyed our location. Our housekeeping manager reviewed the room and spoke to the housekeeper regarding the missed trash can. Our front desk manager spoke to the front desk staff. Our front desk opens at 8:30 am, however at 10:00 am they close the office to open the pool. We have started adding coffee makers to every room and this task should be completed by fall. We hope you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Beach
1.5 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#1 of 9 in York Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
2.0 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Long Beach Motor Inn
Long Beach Motor Inn
#6 of 9 in York Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand View Inn and Cottages
Grand View Inn and Cottages
#3 of 4 in York Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Latch Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Latch Motor Inn

Property: Sea Latch Motor Inn
Address: 277 Long Beach Avenue, Route 1A, York Beach, York, ME 03910
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Latch Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Latch Motel, located across from Long Sands Beach in York Beach, Maine, boasts a stunning, scenic view of the ocean and offers a diverse choice of accommodations including rooms, efficiencies, cottages and suites. New for 2014, our Manor House has been replaced with a brand new, three-story, all-suite building.In addition to the on-site amenities including a swimming pool, free parking and free hot breakfast at the Lobster Cove restaurant, the York Beach area offers a wealth of attractions to keep you entertained, satisfied and wishing summer in New England could last forever. During your stay you may consider lounging on Long Sands Beach, visiting York's Wild Kingdom or nearby Nubble Lighthouse. And don't forget about the dozens of shopping opportunities at the infamous Kittery Outlets.Between the feel of the sea breeze, the warmth of summer air, the smell of the ocean and the sound of the waves lapping the shore, the memories of your visit to York Beach Maine will surely become lifelong treasures.We are family-owned and operated and our goal is to make you feel at home, while you're away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Sea Latch Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Latch Hotel York Beach
Sea Latch Motor Inn York, Maine - York Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing