We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value for price paid . . . one visit was enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Long Beach Motor Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Looking at the other reviews, there were some positives to this place: good location across from beach, nice landscaping, separate section for families with kids and adults only, smoke free and pet free. However, the price we paid for three nights was not worth it for us and we would not go back. The hotel rooms are very dated, the towels provided were so small and thin you could hardly dry yourself. The little kitchenette was barely adequate, no coffeemaker but fortunately we brought our own. Gary, the owner, was a bit quirky and has a full page list of rules including "friends or family or guests visiting must sign in at the office" and "no visitors may stay beyond 6:00 p.m." We had a local York Beach friend stop by LBMI before going out to dinner and Gary wanted to charge him $10.00 to park even though the hotel was only half filled and had plenty of parking spaces available. This hotel was disappointing and next time I'd look elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you are in the "adults only" category, request Room 18 which is on the front corner of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank FloridaSandyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

A friend and I spent two nights in the Long Beach Motor Inn in late July. It was a pleasant experience. The location can't be beat...directly across the road from a sandy beach (when the tide is out), with ocean views and the option of sleeping at night with the windows open listening to the sound of the surf. The grounds are extremely clean and well-maintained. When I made our reservation Gary was very detailed about the room we would need and explained that he separates families with kids from adults-only travelers (which we were) so that everyone can have a pleasant experience. The entire faciliy is smoke-free...also a plus in our book. The room (and bathroom) was also extremely clean and well-maintained, beds were comfortable. The only, very minor "complaint" my traveling companion had was that there is no coffeemaker in the ktchenette area, only instant coffee, so she had to go out in the morning and walk up the street a bit to find "real" coffee. But she's an early riser, so it wasn't that tough on her. If we came to stay in York again and stayed at the Long Beach Motor Inn -- which we would, without hesitation -- we'd know to bring our own coffeemaker. Easy enough!

All in all, a clean, well-maintained, comfortable, safe place to stay with an owner/manager who takes his guests comfort into consideration. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to other travelers.

Room Tip: If you choose the second floor, no one will be walking around above you. There is no elevator, howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJO377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with a friend. It was a truly relaxing experience! The motel is divided (families on one side, adults on the other), giving us tranquility and serenity. How amazing it was to gaze at the sunrise from the balcony with coffee in hand. The view was magnificient and only had to cross the street to be on the beach.
If you are looking for a place to walk on the beach at low tide without having to zig-zag between people lying everywhere, this is the place. A superb beach to watch surfers trying their sport in the high silver shiny waves. Sleeping with the sweet sound of the nearby waves was a real treat!
Gary and his brother are doing their very best to make each guest feel at home and have the best quality of vacation. two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LewLew007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We had a little trouble getting through to Gary to book our room. Hoping that everyone was fine we tried a couple more times by e-mail. Finally we got through to Gary and everything is great. Please do use the Email. (If you take two minutes to listen and realize that there are situations that we just have to make the best of, you will be a better person for it). Technology is only great when everything works as it should.
We usually take the first floor, closest to the Ocean. This year we will be taking the second floor closest to the Ocean. This is our fourth year return. Gary is as always eager to assist in any way he can. We are not high maintenance, so I hope his job is easy. All I need is real coffee and the sunrise in the early morning. Looking forward to our super relaxing and very enjoyable visit back to York Beach Maine and our stay @ Long Beach Motor Inn.

Room Tip: It really does not matter all rooms are the same. You are so close to the Ocean that you can hear th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank traveler4735028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We were passing through Maine and decided to stay an extra day before heading down the cape. This place looked old, but the grounds were very well maintained and we thought it was worth a look since most other places were either booked or looked too sketchy.

We should have stayed in a dumpster.

Some old lady greeted us and was nice at first but then turned into a big B, when we were about to leave the owner came out and said it was just his mom who was sick, so we thought it would be ok. That was our first mistake.

Not only did we pay far too much for a musty outdated room, my husband was convinced there were cameras spying on us with all the creaks and post-it notes everywhere telling us not to touch anything. It smelled moldy and damp.

The next morning when we told the owner he just laughed and said its time for you to leave now anyways.

We have never had service like this before, I can't believe this place is still in business. After reading the reviews here, I can see we are not the only people who fell victim to the Demon of Long Beach Motor Inn

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank BJ_Park69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Thank You Gary, for sharing your place with us again this year.
Long Beach Motor Inn is right across the road (2 lane not interstate)from the ocean. The beach is long clean and beautiful.The Inn has wonderful kitchenettes comfortable beds and they are kept very clean. Gary keeps the grounds and accommodation beautiful. He has been updating a few things for his guest, this last year as well. We have always had a great time visiting the south part of Maine. Kittery, York Beach area and up to Wells Beach this year. York Beach is a great place to stay and take a day trip or two, if you feel like it. I look forward to our next visit to Long Beach Motor Inn @York Beach Maine.

Room Tip: Sorry I hit restaurant by mistake and couldn't get rid of it. All Rooms are great. We get #2 eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank traveler4735028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

My family and I recently stayed at Long Beach Motor Inn twice in the last month. The first was an aborted trip that ended (before it started) with my son having an emergency appendectomy. The owner, Gary, was very gracious and accommodating to us during this highly emotional time. In the end he was able to roll our aborted trip over to a different week, so that we could still have our family's Maine vacation. When we returned a couple of weeks later, we found the room spotless as expected, and Gary showing great concern and relief to hear that our son was back to his healthy self. Long Beach Motor Inn is a great place to stay, literally across the street from the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Corey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Beach
1.4 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
384 reviews
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
0 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sands by the Sea
Sands by the Sea
#5 of 9 in York Beach
149 reviews
1 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
0.4 mi away
Sunrise Motel
Sunrise Motel
#6 of 9 in York Beach
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Motor Inn

Address: 271 Long Beach Avenue, Box 615, York Beach, York, ME 03910
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Price Range: £121 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Long Beach Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Long Beach Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Motor Hotel York Beach
Long Beach Hotel
Long Beach York
Long Beach Motor Inn York, Maine - York Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing