We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Tanglewood Hall
Ranked #1 of 5 York Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This was our second time visiting York, but our first time here at the Inn at Tanglewood Hall. Su & Andy were wonderful hosts! Their Victorian home is beautiful, clean and spacious. They were very welcoming and made us feel right at home. Breakfast was fantastic!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

We decided to stay in New England (our first visit there) after taking a cruise out of Boston. Someone recommended the Kittery, ME area to me. While looking at some B&B's in that general area, I found the listing for Tanglewood Hall. The property looked lovely, they were close to the ocean, and a reasonable price. We are so happy that we stayed here. They have a very private yard with a lovely garden, the room was clean and comfortable, the breakfasts were good (and you can eat outside), and Su and Andy are great hosts...very friendly, and Andy has maps of the local areas and points out nice places to visit off the beaten path (we wouldn't have known that George Bush's home was so close...we went up and photographed it, like everyone else does). The only negative thing I might say is that our room had a very small bathroom with 2 steps that you needed to go down to get into it, but it's often a challenge to put private bathrooms into these old houses, so that's not unexpected.

I would highly recommend their Getaway Package with dinner at Clay Hill Farm...that was a wonderful dining experience. And we loved their little dog, who welcomed all the guests. We will definitely stay here again if we return to this area!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pawilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed at the Inn at Tanglewood Hall when we're were up in York, ME for a wedding. The accomodations were lovely. Great mattress, clean, nice temperature in the house, and the breakfast was fantastic! Andy and Su made sure we had everything we needed and were great at showing us some local hotspots to visit when we had extra time. Definitely would return to the Inn at Tanglewood Hall in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We were in April - our 2nd visit, but certainly not our last! The inn is lovely - warm & cozy - and hosts Andy & Su were very well-versed on the area, where to go, what to do, etc. Andy is great at highlighting area maps & suggesting travel routes that one might not ordinarily take so as not to miss certain sights. Beautifully appointed rooms throughout and yummy breakfasts as well. We love this area of southern Maine, and this inn will definitely be our go-to place whenever we travel here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_and_Chris_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Inn at Tanglewood Hall. It was truly the best B&B we have ever experienced. The room was nicely appointed and the breakfasts (3 for us) were absolutely delicious. Su and Andy went out of their way to ensure we had a pleasant first visit to Maine. They provided valuable information on the area's sights and the best places to eat. If you are looking for a great place to stay along the coast of Maine, you should consider this fabulous B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Billiard Room which provided a nice private porch area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serious-Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I admit we are not b&b people, but the reviews convinced me. No we never went inside. We arrived around 2pm pulled in the driveway and didn't like the look of the property. Yard was very overgrown and not happy, paint was peeling off the building big time. When I walked to the door there was. Sign that read something like check in after 3pm. This made me feel like I shouldn't even enter or else! Anyway, they billed our entire stay no refunds, no partial...it's there right. They asked us to reconsider but we couldn't face the thought of one night, so we stayed at stage neck inn, a well run property with beautiful decks right on the harbor, clean grounds, no paint peeling and no hand written sign on the door that says check inn not permitted before 3pm. If you are hotel people and want the water dont stay at tanglewood, it's off the road a bit in a so so setting.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Ask2416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sakkl, Owner at Inn at Tanglewood Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

Contrary to verdant sunny Southern California, the ebb and frost of the fall season in Maine inevitably leads to the golden decay of our gorgeous perennial gardens and the scattering of spent leaves from surrounding centuries-old shrubs and trees. To compensate for this natural cycle, we traditionally adorn our stone walls with pumpkins, mums, & scarecrows, and our vast porch entrance is festooned with harvest fall finery (along with a small 2 x 3 inch neatly typed "Check-in 3 to 6" info card by the door). Like other historic structures throughout the Northeast, our 125 year-old home has been repainted over time with many layers. There isn't any "paint peeling off the building big time" on this old house. In fact there are many areas, such as the porch, still covered in classic New England unpainted shingles.

When this reviewer called three weeks ahead to make the reservation, he indeed declared that they were not B&B people; despite telling us that his wife wished to stay at stage neck, he said our great non-hotel TA reviewers convinced him to try us instead. Per usual, we discussed approximate arrival time. Due to the uncertainty of his private plane flight plans, we assured him that we would be flexible, and agreed he'd update us by 5 if they'd not yet arrived.

Was wet windy weather, so we turned on their fireplace in the York Harbor Suite early in the day and awaited their arrival. The phone rang just before 5. The reviewer proceeded to say that they'd arrived here earlier than planned at 2, went up to our door and saw the usual check-in times... and since they didn't want to bother us, they went and got a room at stage neck instead!?? We said that was silly (absurd perhaps would have been a better word) because we often check folks in much earlier when they further read "Please ring doorbell for assistance". When he could not be convinced that he was missing out on one of the most beautiful suites in town, we told him that was certainly his choice, but he would be held responsible for his two-night reservation due to such short notice. He never uttered a word of dispute.

A reservation is a binding commitment between both parties guaranteeing that your room is awaiting when you arrive. What if upon a whim, we decided to give his room away because we preferred someone else, or for any reason? Would a large corporate air or cruise line refund his money if he wanted to switch at the very last minute? We knew he would likely write a distorted biased review if we refused to refund the reservation, but we independent seasonal small B&B owners should not be intimidated for upholding standard business practices. Their confirmation letter and our Policy page clearly state: "Last minute cancellations (within 3 days of the reservation) will incur charges for the entire reserved stay". If you (or your spouse) prefers the environment of a large contemporary hotel versus the intimacy of an 1880s B&B, please do not reserve with us---but please do drop by, do ring our doorbell, step inside, and experience the irresistible charm of Tanglewood Hall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

My husband and I had very little notice that we could get away for a couple of overnights in southern Maine. Inn at Tanglewood Hall was exactly what we were looking for. The location is ideal, close to Ogunquit and Kennebunk and yet a charming place in a quiet setting. The hosts are exceptionally accommodating and shared good information and options in the area. They are warm and welcoming. The breakfasts were substantial and carefully prepared, different each day. The B&B is lovingly decorated with special grace notes everywhere, yet not stuffy and overdone. We were very much at home there and plan to return. In fact, this has become our go-to place in southern Maine.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noreen111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
0.6 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
797 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
410 reviews
2.8 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
1.4 mi away
Morning Glory Inn
Morning Glory Inn
#2 of 23 in York
106 reviews
1.4 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Tanglewood Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Tanglewood Hall

Address: 611 York Street, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in York Harbor
Price Range: £95 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience casual elegance by the sea in an 1880s grand summer cottage estate located in the centuries-old resort of York Harbor on the Southern Maine coast. Nestled amidst woodland gardens and fountains, once a York Historical Decorator Showcase home, and a short stroll to the Cliff Walk, long sandy beaches, and restaurants, Tanglewood Hall offers a soothing peaceful romantic sanctuary just over an hour's drive north of Boston, with Ogunquit, Kennebunkport, and Portsmouth nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Tanglewood Hall Hotel York Harbor
Inn At Tanglewood Hall York, Maine - York Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing