We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Tanglewood Hall
Ranked #1 of 5 York Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2008

We reserved our room over the internet. It is a very well conceived site, with accurate descriptions of the rooms, prices and availability. The B&B looked every bit as beautiful as the pictures upon arrival. It is located in the one of the nicest parts of York, within walking distance to several beaches and scenic trails (which we quickly took advantage of). If you are looking for a "headquarters" to stay at while exploring southern Maine or the North Shore area of MA, Andy and Sue are hard to beat.

Thanks for the great getaway,
Kevin & Donna

Stayed: July 2008
Thank CtDaytrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2008

Stay at the Inn at Tanglewood if you are staying in the York Harbor area in Maine. We were delighted when we stayed there in June '08. The rooms are much better than the website pictures. Andy & Su are so helpful & welcoming. We would highly recommend this B&B. There is lots to do in the area. Unfortunately, we were only there for 2 nights but could have stayed much longer. We drove to Kennebunkport and were lucky enough to see George Bush Senior and Barbara in their summer residence. Amazing! I wish Andy and Su all the very best for the future running their beautiful B&B. Tess & Mick, Leeds, UK

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fergul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2008

I cannot give enough praise for Su and Andy. I booked the York Suite for Memorial Day weekend to surprise my wife on our one year anniversary. Our stay at this B&B was beyond anything we had expected. Su and Andy were sincerely committed to ensuring our comfort as well as assisting in planning an unforgettable vacation. The hospitality we received there was first rate and the breakfasts were DELICIOUS!!! Our room was very spacious and romantic and we both thoroughly enjoyed the fireplace and the sun porch. The owners were genuinely concerned with assisting us in every means and we truly enjoyed just talking with them over breakfast coffee. I would absolutely recommend the Inn at Tanglewood Hall and will frequent it again in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rtg4crg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2008

The Inn at Tanglewood Hall in York Harbor, Maine is without question an experience that definitely exceeded our expectations. The Inn is beautiful, with several common areas that are beautiful, yet comfortable and cozy. The porch and gardens are delightful whether you are just relaxing after a long day enjoying the Maine Coast or are sharing conversation with other guests over a gourmet breakfast. Each guest room is well appointed and will not disappoint even the most picky traveler (we got a tour of each room). Our hosts, Andy & Su, are delightful company and go out of their way to make not only your experience in their home a treat but your entire stay a treat. They are very knowledgable about the greater NH/Maine Coast and will guide you to destinations you didn't even know existed. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LBGGWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2008

We celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary at Tanglewood Hall. It was far and away the most charming, welcoming, homey and comfortable Inn we've ever experienced. We stayed in the Billiard Room which was located on the first floor and had its own private porch; just lovely. The gardens were sweet and pretty. The location was perfect. The breakfasts were delicious. Our hosts, Su and Andy ,were so easy to be with; we feel we have made new friends. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jubes828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2008

I have stayed at B&Bs all over the country, and this was the best one. The house itself is large, gracious, with beautiful gardens and a deep porch. We stayed in a lovely room with a wonderful soft-but-firm bed, and we never wanted to leave! Andy and Su were wonderful hosts--never imposing, but full of helpful information. York is a great little town. The price was right, the breakfast wonderful and we would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank troubadour67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2008

A lovely, warm and charming inn, beautifully appointed rooms, excellent breakfasts, and wonderful hosts, Su and Andy. Located in a beautiful area of Maine, there is much to do and see, as well as relaxing in the common areas. Very cozy in a snow storm!
Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthforkNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
0.8 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
415 reviews
0.6 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
804 reviews
2.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
863 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Lynwood Inn
The Lynwood Inn
#3 of 7 in York Beach
29 reviews
17 mi away
The Inn at English Meadows Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Tanglewood Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Tanglewood Hall

Address: 611 York Street, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in York Harbor
Price Range: £88 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience casual elegance by the sea in an 1880s grand summer cottage estate located in the centuries-old resort of York Harbor on the Southern Maine coast. Nestled amidst woodland gardens and fountains, once a York Historical Decorator Showcase home, and a short stroll to the Cliff Walk, long sandy beaches, and restaurants, Tanglewood Hall offers a soothing peaceful romantic sanctuary just over an hour's drive north of Boston, with Ogunquit, Kennebunkport, and Portsmouth nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Tanglewood Hall Hotel York Harbor
Inn At Tanglewood Hall York, Maine - York Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing