We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Tanglewood Hall
Ranked #1 of 5 York Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We just spent 3 nights at The Inn at Tanglewood Hall in York Maine. What a gem! Su and Andy were the perfect hosts, friendly, helpful and enthusiastic about their home and area. We stayed in the Captains Quarters, a lovely room on the second floor. Comfortable, tastefully decorated, and quiet. We were warmly welcomed and given a tour of the house. The living room was inviting, and the front porch was restful, beckoning us to sit and relax. Our hosts were very knowledgeable about the area. Andy would sit and go over maps, suggest activities, and recommend restaurants. The brochure with directions for hikes was very helpful! Our breakfasts were fabulous! Delicious and beautifully presented in the dining room, with trays to take to the porch. We also enjoyed the house dogs, Pippen and Kiko, very well behaved, a very nice touch to make us feel at home. The Inn was full (6 rooms) while we were there, and everyone seemed to enjoy the ambiance, time on the porch (in spite of rain), and comparing notes on the day before heading out for dinner. Even with 12 people, it was still quiet in the rooms and comfortable. We look forward to visiting the Inn again, it was a perfect get-away for our anniversary.

Room Tip: The Captains Quarters was nicely decorated and quiet. All rooms seemed to be private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patf70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at Inn at Tanglewood the last of July and loved it. The Inn dates to around 1897 and is located in York Harbor, a town we preferred to the more "touristy" close town of Ogunquit. It is in a very convenient, nice quiet location right on scenic Route 1A ; in fact it is right on the coast yet secluded and private, surrounded by lovely trees and gardens. Andy, one of the owners, was very quick to provide maps, directing us to the less traveled routes, avoiding the heavy traffic to Kennebunkport, etc. And he pointed out the way to the cliff walk to the small Harbor Beach -- a super scenic lovely walk along the rocks just down a path in easy walking distance from the inn, which sits actually between two beaches, the small Harbor Beach and longer Long Sands Beach.
The rooms are super clean, beds are comfortable, the owners, Andy and Sue are eager to answer questions and point out area attractions and give excellent directions. To us, the main thing about the Inn, though, is the tranquil location with the lovely gardens, the chairs on the lawn, the hammock, the large wrap around porch, where you can rest and enjoy conversation and eat your breakfast if it's a nice day, since the hosts not only provide delicious food but have the inside table set with trays so that you can take them out on the porch and eat or eat inside as you choose. Every morning there were friendly folks from different areas of the country with whom to share breakfast and easy conversation, a big plus in our opinion over the usual less-intimate buffet at a hotel. At night when we returned to the inn after having dinner at beautiful Clay Hill Farm, we were greeted by sparkling lights in the trees around the Inn - "laser fireflies", Sue told us when we inquired what they were and how they did this lovely nighttime show. And I cannot fail to mention their "greeter", Pippin, the cutest little Shih Tzu ever! He is so friendly and adorable. I wanted to bring him home with me.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imatravellvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Just stayed here this weekend. Since we had to be at a wedding Friday evening, we decided to make a nice getaway weekend out of it. The Inn was in a great location and was just a beautiful spot. Our room was very nice and comfortable and the front porch was our favorite place. Breakfast out there in the morning was relaxed and delicious. Our favorite thing was to come back at night to this cool set of holographic lights that Su and Andy installed out in the front garden and parking area. It shed all these litle points of green lights all over the trees and shrubs, creating a most amazing little light show. An awesome little bonus feature at a very nice B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LK59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We arrived at the inn and were greeted by Andy and Su and their barking dog. It was reassuring to learn that we didn't have to worry about the barking, but I would have liked help hauling my suitcase up seven steps.

Andy quickly led us into the dining room to give us information about the inn and its surroundings. He asked if we wanted suggestions for dinner and I said that we did. He quickly spouted off four options, circling them on a map. I had researched restaurants online and wondered about one he didn't mention, but was intimidated and did not ask where it was or what he thought of it.

To capture what we liked and did not like, I will proceed with pros and cons, for there were many positive aspects of our stay.

Billiard Room:
pro - spacious, silky bed linens, private porch
con - dark with a musty smell...lots of artificial plants. I considered asking if we could be moved to another room.

Bathroom:
pro - good shampoo and conditioner, strong shower spray
con- floor of shower was dangerously slippery

Porch:
pro - hammock and rocking chairs
con - views of parked cars

Breakfast:
pro - three different choices of juice (all interesting but none labeled)
con - buffet was not replenished. Food was not memorable. Inferior to other B&Bs we have stayed at.

Hosts:
pro - knew the area well and eager to give directions and suggestions. Information about the cliff walk was written out for us to carry with us.
con - hovered too much...when we left, Su was at our bedroom door checking to make sure that we left the key.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 43josie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our 15th Wedding Anniversary getaway. We had never been to York Maine or stayed at a Bed & Breakfast. Everything exceeded our expectaions. Su & Andy were wonderful hosts. The breakfasts every morning were amazing each one was better than the last. They had a great suggestions for places to eat and things to see in beautiful York Maine. We stayed in the Library room which was so cozy & quaint. We loved relaxing on the porch and just taking in the tranquility of the property. The Cliff Walk that Su & Andy suggested was a excellent way to view the Maine coastline and even better than Marginal Way. We are hoping to visit again in the future and will definitely be staying at The Inn at Tanglewood.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheljohn1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We recently stayed here for four days for a short vacation. My wife and I had never experienced a bed and breakfast and what a delight. Su and Andy are polite, attentive and the perfect hosts. the breakfasts were a wonderful experience. Eating on the Veranda and relaxing with a hot cup of tea was relaxing. Andy then asks what are your plans for the day and then gives detailed maps of the sights, places to see and recommendations for day trips. it is enlightening and invigorating. He is the perfect concierge for the area. The rooms were immaculate and the decor was awesome. We were made to feel right at home and the whole B&B experience makes me not want to do hotels ever again. We will be back to be pampered in the future. For those who have never experienced a B&B you need to do it at least once and it needs to be the Inn at Tanglewood. York Harbor maine is the perfect getaway. Thank you Su and Andy and God bless. you made my vacation a dream.

Room Tip: I do not believe there is a bad room in the house. everyone i talked to that stayed in the different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boogerman18067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a wedding. We thought the property was lovely and the the owners were very kind and helpful - they ironed my boyfriends suit the morning of the ceremony. The food was delicious as well!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBgirl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
0.6 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
783 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
406 reviews
2.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Morning Glory Inn
Morning Glory Inn
#2 of 23 in York
106 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
6.2 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Tanglewood Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Tanglewood Hall

Address: 611 York Street, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in York Harbor
Price Range: £95 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience casual elegance by the sea in an 1880s grand summer cottage estate located in the centuries-old resort of York Harbor on the Southern Maine coast. Nestled amidst woodland gardens and fountains, once a York Historical Decorator Showcase home, and a short stroll to the Cliff Walk, long sandy beaches, and restaurants, Tanglewood Hall offers a soothing peaceful romantic sanctuary just over an hour's drive north of Boston, with Ogunquit, Kennebunkport, and Portsmouth nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Tanglewood Hall Hotel York Harbor
Inn At Tanglewood Hall York, Maine - York Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing