We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“somewhat lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Tanglewood Hall
Ranked #1 of 5 York Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2008

We have stayed in many bed and breakfast inns over the years. My wife and I were disappointed about this bed and breakfast. First, as soon as you are greeted by the owners, a request is made to hand over your credit card to satisfy the balance. We found this rather astonishing as most inns do not request payment until the completion of the stay. Second, the breakfast was rather limited. There is one entree and a very small amount of fruit on the buffet. The owners are quite anxious to remove your breakfast dishes leading us to conclude that seconds were not encouraged. Third, there are few amenities in the bathroom(only small bars of soap and one small bottle of shampoo). Fourth, the owners were continually mentioning to guests about how many days they had worked without time off. The owners are knowledgable about the area and the home is well maintained. The rates charged greatly exceed the value received.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank neptune675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sakkl, Innkeepers/Owners at Inn at Tanglewood Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2008

It is our fondest wish that every guest who passes through our doors leaves satisfied; and we regret to have learned that this couple did not enjoy their personal experience, but must say that we were surprised and perplexed upon reading this review. First of all, an unfortunate misunderstanding appears to have occurred at the very beginning of their visit. To insure an easy express check-out, we do politely ask for payment after our initial welcome and clearly inform our guests ahead of time that this will occur. This is the same practice found in similar small all-inclusive area B&Bs with no formal front desk in their home, and no other extra charges during the stay (wi-fi, phone calls, assorted beverages, snacks, housekeeping, etc). Their room was reserved for $165 a night during peak season, using our online reservation system that requires all guests to check a box stating: "Guest has read and agrees to the Policies" which specifically includes this statement: "The balance is due upon Arrival at Check-In". In addition, all of our guests are promptly sent an official Confirmation Letter to review, reiterating when the balance is due; and our payment procedures are outlined on our website Policy page.

Second, we always serve a different entrée every day rotated on a weekly basis between such oft requested recipe favorites as our Blueberry-Raspberry Stuffed French Toast, Egg and Cheese Puff with Roasted Red Peppers & Artichokes, Caramel Apple Kuchen Pancake, Mediterranean Crustless Quiche, etc., etc. In addition, our family-style breakfast offers ENDLESS refills of: fresh-cut fruit, yogurt, our signature homemade granola, blueberry crisp cereal, breads, muffins, and bagels, jams, juices, coffee, hot chocolate & gourmet teas. We do cook to order if someone notifies us of special dietary requests. And we do clear our guests’ dirty dishes out of the way according to usual service standards, but there are always plenty of fresh plates, bowls, and mugs available in the dining room. There are hundreds of delighted guest quotes from all over the country and world posted on our website regarding our breakfasts.

Third, we provide a choice of several different naturally scented hypoallergenic glycerine soaps along with high-end Lemon-Almond Conditioning Shampoo (both 1.5 ounce traditional hospitality size) custom-made by a well-known California company; in addition to our hand-ironed 500 thread count sheets, designer bedding, luxury down blankets, Eurofeather pillows, Egyptian cotton towels, etc. found in our rooms.

Fourth, with a house full of ever-changing guests there is no doubt that we did indeed mention multiple times that we had not had a day off in several months, as we often candidly share our amazement at our record breaking occupancy rates this summer season, despite the economy. Like every other successful innkeeper, we feel blessed and grateful to NOT have days off until our busy season ends. During their particular four-day visit, we had many conversations at the breakfast table, on the veranda, and in the parlor with three sets of repeat guests (one from England who had spent 10 days with us last year) concerning our lives and the business; with another couple also here for four days who intend to open a B&B, discussing pros and cons; and with the usual guests who are inevitably just plain curious to know if the B&B dream is as glorious as it may seem. And we repeat over and over again, that we did not leave our corporate lives to make less money, scrub toilets, and make beds, but to connect in a purposeful manner with the wonderful folks we meet every day; putting our hearts and souls into being ever conscious of details that will enrich their experience in our 1880s estate home and seaside community; oft overwhelmed by their kind and generous appreciation.

~Su & Andy, Innkeepers/Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2008

This was our first time at a B&B, and we are hooked! The Inn is in a private garden setting and has a lovely covered porch. The Garden Canopy Room was fantastic and comfortable. Sue and Andy were wonderful hosts and gave us suggestions for fun things to do each day (including maps to find our way around!) The food was amazing, and their attention to detail is impressive. I would recommend it to anyone for a quiet, relaxing vacation. We plan to go back ourselves!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KnT1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2008

Andy and Su are the most gracious hosts! The beds were extremely comfortable. The food was great. The location is perfect, a short walk to the beautiful cliff walk that leads to the beach. What more can you ask of a B&B? They even went the extra mile and and made sure we had breakfast before we left to catch our early flight home. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kwm_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2008

We reserved our room over the internet. It is a very well conceived site, with accurate descriptions of the rooms, prices and availability. The B&B looked every bit as beautiful as the pictures upon arrival. It is located in the one of the nicest parts of York, within walking distance to several beaches and scenic trails (which we quickly took advantage of). If you are looking for a "headquarters" to stay at while exploring southern Maine or the North Shore area of MA, Andy and Sue are hard to beat.

Thanks for the great getaway,
Kevin & Donna

Stayed: July 2008
Thank CtDaytrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2008

Stay at the Inn at Tanglewood if you are staying in the York Harbor area in Maine. We were delighted when we stayed there in June '08. The rooms are much better than the website pictures. Andy & Su are so helpful & welcoming. We would highly recommend this B&B. There is lots to do in the area. Unfortunately, we were only there for 2 nights but could have stayed much longer. We drove to Kennebunkport and were lucky enough to see George Bush Senior and Barbara in their summer residence. Amazing! I wish Andy and Su all the very best for the future running their beautiful B&B. Tess & Mick, Leeds, UK

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fergul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2008

I cannot give enough praise for Su and Andy. I booked the York Suite for Memorial Day weekend to surprise my wife on our one year anniversary. Our stay at this B&B was beyond anything we had expected. Su and Andy were sincerely committed to ensuring our comfort as well as assisting in planning an unforgettable vacation. The hospitality we received there was first rate and the breakfasts were DELICIOUS!!! Our room was very spacious and romantic and we both thoroughly enjoyed the fireplace and the sun porch. The owners were genuinely concerned with assisting us in every means and we truly enjoyed just talking with them over breakfast coffee. I would absolutely recommend the Inn at Tanglewood Hall and will frequent it again in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rtg4crg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2008

The Inn at Tanglewood Hall in York Harbor, Maine is without question an experience that definitely exceeded our expectations. The Inn is beautiful, with several common areas that are beautiful, yet comfortable and cozy. The porch and gardens are delightful whether you are just relaxing after a long day enjoying the Maine Coast or are sharing conversation with other guests over a gourmet breakfast. Each guest room is well appointed and will not disappoint even the most picky traveler (we got a tour of each room). Our hosts, Andy & Su, are delightful company and go out of their way to make not only your experience in their home a treat but your entire stay a treat. They are very knowledgable about the greater NH/Maine Coast and will guide you to destinations you didn't even know existed. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LBGGWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
0.6 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
801 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
413 reviews
2.8 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
6.2 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
831 reviews
1.4 mi away
Morning Glory Inn
Morning Glory Inn
#2 of 23 in York
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Tanglewood Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Tanglewood Hall

Address: 611 York Street, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in York Harbor
Price Range: £50 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience casual elegance by the sea in an 1880s grand summer cottage estate located in the centuries-old resort of York Harbor on the Southern Maine coast. Nestled amidst woodland gardens and fountains, once a York Historical Decorator Showcase home, and a short stroll to the Cliff Walk, long sandy beaches, and restaurants, Tanglewood Hall offers a soothing peaceful romantic sanctuary just over an hour's drive north of Boston, with Ogunquit, Kennebunkport, and Portsmouth nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Tanglewood Hall Hotel York Harbor
Inn At Tanglewood Hall York, Maine - York Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing