We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasurable experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Tanglewood Hall
Ranked #1 of 5 York Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Spartanburg, SC
Level Contributor
140 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“pleasurable experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Exhausted from a long drive when we arrived, we were greeted by our welcoming hosts.
Andy insisted on carrying our heavy bags up the stairs for us. We had quite a large suite
on the upper floor.. I'd recommend this room if you're someone who likes to have plenty room
to spread out, if you don't mind stairs. Also, the cliff walk is withing walking distance, and
you really should take it. The more commercial area around the lighthouse is far enough
away not to be bothersome, but close enough to drive to quickly. The lighthouse is worth
visiting. Breakfast, prepared by our hosts, was quite good. I would not recommend
adding on the supper. This is a meal at a restaurant far from the inn. Although the restaurant is
nice, if you're tired of driving when you arrive, you really don't want to have to set out on this
journey.

Room Tip: If stairs not a problem, get the rooms at the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scmaddux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    11
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
19
137
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

As our first experience at a Bed and Breakfast, I can say that Su and Andy made it a great one. They greeted us by name when we arrived and made us feel right at home. Everything was perfect from the beautiful home and decor, the great breakfast, the lovely porch and grounds to the travel advice they prepared for us. We stayed here at the end of a week traveling New England and it was just what we needed to relax a bit before returning home. If I lived closer I would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floridian813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Having never been to Maine, we were looking for the entire New England experience. This Inn proved to be a perfect part of that experience.

We stayed in the Garden Canopy Room, which was beautifully decorated with a wonderfully comfortable queen-sizes bed. From the overall decor to the excellent breakfasts to the stunning grounds to the perfect activity and dining suggestions...we just couldn't have been more pleased and really can't say enough about the place to really do it justice.

We would definitely return and look forward to making this an annual part of our summer vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandJRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehall
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Andy and Su were wonderful hosts. I found this to be a very positive experience. This was our first time at a B&B and it was great. The combination of old and new décor was very tasteful and relaxing. My husband and I enjoyed the flavorful breakfasts that were unique and delicious. All the flowers were in bloom and the "fairy lights" lit up the garden so pretty. It was our pleasure to meet other couples and exchange their travels. We highly recommend this beautiful house as your next stay in York Harbor, Maine.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Billiard Room" on the first floor and I really liked it. But all the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nutty61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This was our third stay with Andy and Su, which speaks for itself. We have stayed in 3 different rooms, all very nice: Captain's Quarters, Library, and this year 3 nights in the York Harbor Suite, the best yet! Since our last visit they've added magical outdoor lighting. Terrific breakfasts, warm hospitality and luxurious accommodations in a wonderful location!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestJohnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

The Inn at Tanglewood Hall is absolutely the ideal B&B! It is a gorgeous house located in an idyllic New England town. We stayed for two nights in the Billiard Room and wished we could have stayed for a few more nights. The Billiard Room has a gas fire place as the heating source and it creates a romantic atmosphere throughout the night. The breakfasts were absolutely fantastic! Su and Andy serve gourmet breakfast that is far from the run of the mill continental breakfast one sees in other B&Bs. Su and Andy created a very comfortable atmosphere in which one can relax with a hot cup of tea after a busy day of sight seeing. The Inn is located in an ideal setting for a nice afternoon or morning walk around town. Additionally, it is only a few minutes to Portsmouth, NH and Portland, ME. So it is an ideal place to stay while taking short day trips to see NH and southern Maine. We hope to return to the Inn at Tanglewood again in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pseudolazysod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Su and Andy are the kindest innkeepers I have ever encountered. The house is beautiful and the grounds are pretty. I can only imagine how much nicer they will look when everything is in bloom. At night they have "fairy lights" set up and it is spectacular! I felt like a kid standing in awe looking up into the trees. The breakfast in the morning was delicious, homemade blueberry french toast bake, homemade granola and two different kinds of yogurt plus all sorts of fruit and breads. The coffee was good and strong just the way I like it. There is no doubt I will come and stay here again and will spread the word about this special place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swana999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
0.6 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
2.8 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#1 of 9 in York Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
1.4 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Tanglewood Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Tanglewood Hall

Property: Inn at Tanglewood Hall
Address: 611 York Street, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in York Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience casual elegance by the sea in an 1880s grand summer cottage estate located in the centuries-old resort of York Harbor on the Southern Maine coast. Nestled amidst woodland gardens and fountains, once a York Historical Decorator Showcase home, and a short stroll to the Cliff Walk, long sandy beaches, and restaurants, Tanglewood Hall offers a soothing peaceful romantic sanctuary just over an hour's drive north of Boston, with Ogunquit, Kennebunkport, and Portsmouth nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Tanglewood Hall Hotel York Harbor
Inn At Tanglewood Hall York, Maine - York Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing