We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a Romantic Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Tanglewood Hall
Ranked #1 of 5 York Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a Romantic Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

We arrived at the Inn on Friday night and were immersed in the experience as soon as we walked through the lit garden and opened up the front door. The sights and smells of country and home assault your senses. I brought my girlfriend here as a Birthday surprise, and was she ever surprised! The furnishings are beautiful, the house in impeccable condition. Our favorite features: Su and Andy, the Innkeepers with lovely manners and insightful advice on things to do and places to go depending on your individual tastes, the veranda overlooking the lit garden where you can snuggle up with a bottle of wine, and the gas fireplace in our room that flickered against the ceiling as we lie in the 4 poster bed…

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibi2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    11
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
19
137
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2009

This was our second stay at The Inn at Tanglewood Hall & we felt very welcome when we arrived after a very long drive. It was great to see Su & Andy again and we looked forward to the relaxing & peaceful environment.....It is situated in a great location, you can walk to some restaurants & beaches which are a short stroll away if you don't feel like driving....
Su & Andy were very helpful in suggesting things to do. VERY knowledgeable of the area, we welcomed all advice from them. They are warm & friendly....very easy to talk to! Oh, & then there's Keiko! The most enthusiastic canine greeter! We loved seeing Keiko every morning whose only request was a belly rub! The breakfasts are FANTASTIC, plentiful & DELICIOUS! The rooms are comfortable with plenty of storage for your personal belongings....we stayed in The Cottage this time, and our son (who we picked up from camp) had his own space...it is like a mini suite. We stayed in The Library last year which is also a lovely room. We will always return here, it is a special place where we feel very welcome and very much at home. Thank you Su & Andy for your hospitality & friendship!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mms127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

My boyfriend and I were in York for a wedding and decided to make it a romantic getaway as well. Being at Tanglewood was the perfect ambiance! We had lavish breakfasts every morning and Su and Andy (and Kiko) were captivating to talk to over our morning tea. We couldn't have been happier with our choice of B&B. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bounce2684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

My wife & I very much enjoyed our recent stay at The Inn. Su & Andy provided a welcoming orientation upon our arrival to their beautifully appointed Inn. The house is a 19th century renovated structure that provides a blend of beautiful antiques & first class furnishings in well appointed rooms.
A terrific breakfast can be enjoyed on the front veranda overlooking the lawns & gardens that surround the building.
Su & Andy provided excellent recommendations about restaurants in the area & places of interest to visitors.
All in all, the Inn offers very comfortable accommodation in a marvelous setting.

  • Liked — The rooms & the building
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JimandJudy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

When you stay at the Inn at Tanglewood Hall, you must book the York Harbor Suite. We were lucky enough to stay in the suite and thoroughly enjoyed the romance, intimacy and wonderful accomodations. Beautifully furnished and very cozy, I loved sitting in the porch area with the breeze and looking out at the garden area. Su and Andy are wonderful hosts, love the breakfasts and hospitality they provided, maps, restaurants, etc. You must visit Nubble Light and walk from the Inn to the beaches....I definately will return to the Inn as I have fallen in love with York and the beauty and simplicity of the Maine life...

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scoobyrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dresher, pa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2009

We stayed at this bed and breakfast for four nights with another couple. I booked here based on the many glowing reviews on Trip Advisor, and while I agree with much of what has been said, I do think there are some areas that could use improvement.

The good: the rooms are lovely, very spacious and well-appointed. The beds are extremely comfortable. There is not a lot of space to put away your clothes, though, so if you like to unpack keep that in mind. In fact, our friends' room, the Library, did not have a bureau or drawers at all. Our room, the Billiard Room, had a very small shower also, although the bathroom itself was spacious. Everything was immaculate in both the guest rooms and the common areas, with the exception of the patio furniture which was okay but could have been a bit cleaner. Su and Andy were very welcoming upon our arrival, and seemed knowledgeable about the area. The breakfasts were very good, and it was nice to have several things to pick from (granola, breads, fruit, cereal) in addition to the hot entree of the day. However, if you are staying for multiple nights, you should know that each hot entree choice is basically a variation on a casserole theme - bread pudding, french toast, quiche, etc. in a casserole dish. I thought all of them were very tasty, but it did get a bit repetitive by the fourth day. The location is excellent, both for York Harbor and for the entire south coast of Maine.

The less good: the "snacks" left out in the dining area were pretty pathetic - some stale goldfish crackers and pretzels, a canister of cookies that appeared to be store bought and was never replenished during our entire stay, and a small bowl of wrapped hershey's chocolates. It would have been nice to have some kind of fresh-baked cookies or muffins as well as maybe a bowl of fruit around when we returned from a long day of sightseeing. Of more concern, however, was the rather unpleasant vibe we got from Su and Andy by the end of our stay. They were very friendly and welcoming when we first arrived, as I had said above. However, they became less friendly and sometimes even rather rude once they realized that we had done a lot of research before taking this trip and had ideas already for things we wanted to do and see. They seemed almost to resent not being able to guide us in our daily activities. It got to the point that Andy would say things like "Why would you want to go there?" or "Well, I'm sure you already have your list for today" in a condescending tone of voice. I didn't notice them behaving the same way towards the other guests who were there during our stay, but it looked like each of those guests was relying mainly on Su and Andy for itinerary guidance. I realize that part of the appeal of a bed and breakfast is that the owners are often knowledgeable about the area, and we did ask for their help and suggestions about lots of things, but it really felt like they were annoyed by the fact that we already had some of our plans in place. And the bottom line is whether they actually were annoyed or not, we felt like they were, and it made our stay much less enjoyable than it could have and should have been.

Our stay here was more positive than negative, but I doubt that we would stay here again based on our lack of connection with the owners. I really don't like writing negative reviews, especially about such a personal aspect of an inn, but I think this is the kind of information that might be useful to prospective travelers. If you are planning to visit and are happy to just be guided by Su and Andy, I'm sure you will have a wonderful stay. But if you are a planner and have ideas ahead of time, you may not enjoy your stay quite as much.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa6191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sakkl, Owner at Inn at Tanglewood Hall, responded to this review, 18 August 2009
It is disconcerting to discover this review after being thanked by both couples when they left with hugs goodbye. It was evident from the start that L*6191 was an exceptional researcher who’d put a lot of effort into designing her trip. At first, we did enthusiastically share our knowledge of York and beyond, both positive and negative. We strive to be a forthright and honest area resource for all our guests, but have no agenda to push our personal preferences. In fact, we oft jokingly tell Southern Maine-savvy guests to tell us to “hush up” at any point if we’re overloading them with unsolicited info. And, as noted by our other TA reviewers, when we sense that guests would prefer a more unobtrusive presence, we do try to scale back our interactions.

A few days into the group’s stay, we made some minor suggestions that differed from L*6191’s pre-planned route to explore lighthouses in the Portland area. When it appeared that L*6191 seemed somewhat reticent to hear our alternative options, we instinctively felt that we should adjust our level of advice-giving to “not step on anyone’s toes”. However, we remained our usual friendly and conversational selves, never annoyed, and absolutely not resentful—freer to focus on guiding our needier couples traveling solo. When Andy said, “I’m sure you already have your plans for today,” he sincerely meant it in a kudos-kind-of-way. If we asked “What made you decide to go to Peaks Island, etc?” it was simply because we are naturally curious to learn about new places to visit. L*6191’s itinerary was by far the most innovative and well thought-out we’ve encountered, with lots of tales of inspired adventures after long days away exploring, and interesting ideas to pass on to future guests.

L*6191 is right: our complimentary snacks are not intended to be the highlight here, they are however, replenished each and every morning after being eaten the day before, but some times the ocean air can take its toll by day’s end; during our busy season we do serve “very tasty” family-style buffet dishes (never a repeat, even for guests who stay for a week) (we serve more individual fare during slower times); it would have been useful if this 1880s house had been built with more clothing closets, but The Library does not lack drawers as mentioned, and is indeed furnished with both a bureau and a large armoire with a very deep bottom storage drawer; the shower in the Billiard Room is a standard size single stall with a rainfall showerhead in an otherwise spacious bath; and our patio furniture did become a bit grungy during the soggy days of perpetual rain here in Maine.

We thought we had genuine conversations with these folks, not only regarding their daily travels, but personal experiences like the college application process, etc. We are still confused and saddened to have learned through this TA review that their experience here for whatever reason was not entirely enjoyable. We would gladly welcome both couples back in a heartbeat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUBLIN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

We stayed two nights with Sue and Andy and really enjoyed our stay. They were helpful but not intrusive and suggested local spots of interest and then advised us on locations to visit for the remainder of our stay in Maine. Their Inn is warm and welcoming and their breakfasts on the front porch were a wonderful start to the day.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dublin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
0.6 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
2.8 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#1 of 9 in York Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
1.4 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Tanglewood Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Tanglewood Hall

Property: Inn at Tanglewood Hall
Address: 611 York Street, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in York Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience casual elegance by the sea in an 1880s grand summer cottage estate located in the centuries-old resort of York Harbor on the Southern Maine coast. Nestled amidst woodland gardens and fountains, once a York Historical Decorator Showcase home, and a short stroll to the Cliff Walk, long sandy beaches, and restaurants, Tanglewood Hall offers a soothing peaceful romantic sanctuary just over an hour's drive north of Boston, with Ogunquit, Kennebunkport, and Portsmouth nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Tanglewood Hall Hotel York Harbor
Inn At Tanglewood Hall York, Maine - York Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing