We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Writing with Regret”
Review of Chapman Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chapman Cottage
Ranked #2 of 5 York Harbor B&B and Inns
Columbia, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Writing with Regret”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Our experience differed from the superlative reviews we read prior to arrival. Chalk it down to expectations. We booked and paid for two nights and only stayed for one. The inn and its decor are tired. Our room was the Lawrence and it was quite small, not allowing much room for our suitcases. Details are important to us. The advertised terry robes lay heaped on the bottom of the armoire which held three hangers in total. The pillows were foam and no feather pillows were available. The small Phillips television was old and small. The quality of towels and linens were sub par. The toiletries included a bar of soap, combined shampoo and conditioner, and moisturizer labeled with Chapman Cottage. The gourmet breakfast that included scrambled eggs over tortilla chips and mild salsa was not gourmet. In fairness there were sherry and truffles. Unfortunately these items were not enough to make up for the other flaws including the view from our room which overlooked three large propane (?) canisters. We moved to a well lit, meticulously clean hotel in Portsmouth in a wonderful location near the harbor instead for the same price.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pearleco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    4
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We had a friendly and warm welcome when we arrived. We had the Elizabeth room which was cosy and had its own veranda which we enjoyed drinking wine on when it was warm and sunny.The only negative we had about the room was there was nowhere to hang your clothes except for a cupboard that had a few hooks in and no rail and had all the water pipes and hoovers in!! The location was fantastic with only a short walk to the local beach and a couple of retaurants.We found the Dockside restaurant a lovely place to eat.The daily truffles and sherry were a delight as was the breakfast with fresh fruit and muffins.It was such a relaxing place that we would recommend to other people.

Room Tip: The Elizabeth or Mary rooms if you want a veranda.The other rooms were much larger and more plush.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stotties7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

What a nice treat! A last minute getaway found us in this very comfortable B&B. Room was luxurious - we napped in the oversized chairs! I wouldn't book the Fonthill again ONLY because the shower curtain suspended around the claw foot tub made me nervous - however, all of the rooms are spectacular. Breakfast was wonderful!! Warm muffins, great fruit and main entree. Nice gardens to view. On-site lounge with cheese plate and 3 engaging bartender/hosts was a great place to start AND end an evening. Convenient access no matter what your interest - lighthouse, dining, walk down the street to the art association (free concert the weekend we were there). Lovely getaway.

Room Tip: See note above about claw foot tub in Fonthill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelPut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Would fully recommend here, the Elizabeth Suite with the Deck was a dream letting us make the most of the excellent weather.Neil was an excellent host and Donna 's truffles and sherry were all they said on the tin.
The restaurant was not fully available when we were there , but theYork Harbor Inn with its dining room overlooking the cove was only a short walk away and Dockside was a short drive although it was an excellent target for a daytime stroll.
The Cottage is more of a Mansion and our hosts let us do your own thing which was just what we wanted, and we met some super guests over breakfast. Lobster and Scrambled Eggs - wow.
So thanks Chapman Cottage for a lovely time

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derbypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

The Chapman Cottage is perfect in everyway. The suite was beyond excellent. Everything at the Inn is perfect and clean. Breakfast was delicious and our host was helpful and kind. The entire atmosphere is absolute perfection. Best B&B was have stayed at!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoreHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Opening night at the Tavern was a great success. We happened to be staying nearby and heard about the grand opening when searching local accomodations. We were happy to mix it up and walk to the Chapman Cottage for cocktails, a lovely appetizer and a tour of the beautiful kitchen and prep facilities. Thank you for your hospitality and all the best in 2011!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reppop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

My partner and I enjoyed the pleasant decor, delicious breakfasts and very warm hospitality of Paul and Donna. For anyone looking for a nice B&B experience in York, this is the place!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottB_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
0.4 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
757 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
400 reviews
1.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
373 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at Tanglewood Hall
Inn at Tanglewood Hall
#1 of 5 in York Harbor
205 reviews
1.4 mi away
York Harbor Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapman Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapman Cottage

Property: Chapman Cottage
Address: 370 York St., Coastal Rt 1A, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in York Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Chapman Cottage York, Maine - York Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing