We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chapman Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chapman Cottage
Ranked #2 of 5 York Harbor B&B and Inns
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Traveling with no itinerary, stopping at the end of each day wherever we were, we found ourselves here recently. Beautiful inn and room - warm, cozy and inviting on a crisp fall evening. Delightful dinner by the fireplace. Walk-in, triple-head shower, well-appointed quiet room with comfortable bed. Very nice breakfast by the fire was great way to start the day
exploring the Maine coast. Hard to to imagine anywhere else being any better.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    3
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed in the Chapman Room for two nights during our visit to York Harbor the second week of September. The property re-opened in August this year after being recently acquired by the York Harbor Inn, owners of several Inns in York Harbor. It was obvious that the Inn had been renovated and while being brought up to modern standards somewhat retained it's 18th century look. Hardwood floors, no carpets....just the way we like it. The room was spacious and had views of the front lawn.

Live-in concierge, Paul was very helpful and accommodating. His attention to detail was much appreciated.

My only criticism, albeit minor. is that the place felt a little too "corporate". Too many reminders of a business hotel and not enough cozy feeling of quaint vintage property.

Room Tip: They have great last minute specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbzspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Bethpage, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed at Chapman cottage now run by York Harbor inn this past weekend with my husband, 2 and half year old and 3 month old! the Inn Keeper Paul was so helpful, brought us a nice futon for our son and milk for his bedtime drink! The room was huge and the bathroom with Jacuzzi and shower was so beautiful. Housekeeping (Lisa) was awesome our room was always clean after a days outing. The Inn has been redone and we loved the rocking chairs out front and the lovely lawn my son and i run around on! The common area was beautiful and comfortable, lots of information of things to do in the area. The coffee crumb cake during continental breakfast was delicious!. All in all a lovely stay

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Chapman Cottage
Elegant Inn in a superb position
This is one of the best inns we stayed in – and we have stayed in many good ones. Donna and her son Paul, the owners, were most welcoming. The Mary Room was spacious and extremely comfortable and there were lovely little extra touches such as sherry and chocolates put out each night in the room.
We dined at the Dockside Inn, which was where Paul was the manager at the time, and had a superb meal. Paul then turned up to prepare breakfasts at Chapman Cottage and these were really something special!
Overall a most pleasant and enjoyable experience in a really beautiful and well-maintained old inn.
Donna and Paul – Thank you!
Bryan and Ann D.
UK

Room Tip: Mary Room is spacious light and comfortable, with its own deck outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BryanDCrowboroughUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Our experience differed from the superlative reviews we read prior to arrival. Chalk it down to expectations. We booked and paid for two nights and only stayed for one. The inn and its decor are tired. Our room was the Lawrence and it was quite small, not allowing much room for our suitcases. Details are important to us. The advertised terry robes lay heaped on the bottom of the armoire which held three hangers in total. The pillows were foam and no feather pillows were available. The small Phillips television was old and small. The quality of towels and linens were sub par. The toiletries included a bar of soap, combined shampoo and conditioner, and moisturizer labeled with Chapman Cottage. The gourmet breakfast that included scrambled eggs over tortilla chips and mild salsa was not gourmet. In fairness there were sherry and truffles. Unfortunately these items were not enough to make up for the other flaws including the view from our room which overlooked three large propane (?) canisters. We moved to a well lit, meticulously clean hotel in Portsmouth in a wonderful location near the harbor instead for the same price.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pearleco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We had a friendly and warm welcome when we arrived. We had the Elizabeth room which was cosy and had its own veranda which we enjoyed drinking wine on when it was warm and sunny.The only negative we had about the room was there was nowhere to hang your clothes except for a cupboard that had a few hooks in and no rail and had all the water pipes and hoovers in!! The location was fantastic with only a short walk to the local beach and a couple of retaurants.We found the Dockside restaurant a lovely place to eat.The daily truffles and sherry were a delight as was the breakfast with fresh fruit and muffins.It was such a relaxing place that we would recommend to other people.

Room Tip: The Elizabeth or Mary rooms if you want a veranda.The other rooms were much larger and more plush.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stotties7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

What a nice treat! A last minute getaway found us in this very comfortable B&B. Room was luxurious - we napped in the oversized chairs! I wouldn't book the Fonthill again ONLY because the shower curtain suspended around the claw foot tub made me nervous - however, all of the rooms are spectacular. Breakfast was wonderful!! Warm muffins, great fruit and main entree. Nice gardens to view. On-site lounge with cheese plate and 3 engaging bartender/hosts was a great place to start AND end an evening. Convenient access no matter what your interest - lighthouse, dining, walk down the street to the art association (free concert the weekend we were there). Lovely getaway.

Room Tip: See note above about claw foot tub in Fonthill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelPut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
0.4 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
710 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
377 reviews
1.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#1 of 9 in York Beach
353 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at Tanglewood Hall
Inn at Tanglewood Hall
#1 of 5 in York Harbor
187 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapman Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapman Cottage

Property: Chapman Cottage
Address: 370 York St., Coastal Rt 1A, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in York Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Chapman Cottage York, Maine - York Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing