We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden gem”
Review of Chapman Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chapman Cottage
Ranked #2 of 5 York Harbor B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 April 2014

this place has been there as long as I've been in York about 7 years, but has recently been renovated and bought by the YOrk Harbor Inn, which is a good thing.
We had a birthday celebration there last sunday night, about 9 people, a pretty raucous mixed group of various ages. The place is an old, very old, quaint well maintained building. although associated with YHI, it seems to have its own kitchen. It shares some menu items. Overall, the food was very good, well presented, with friendly enthusiastic service. Good beers, and good wine and drinks.
Afterwards we stayed the night, first floor, I am sorry but I think it was osmething like the Lawrence room # 605 ??? right at the top of the stairs. Really nicely done, comfortable, well renovated. Only problem to me was that it was right above the kitchen and there was a faint smell of burnt grease. My wife didn't notice this. It wasn't awful but was the only debit on this otherwise very good stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chimayred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Had a lovely visit to York Harbor, Maine in October and were instant fans of our stay at Chapman Cottage. Checked in at main reception at the York Harbor Inn (~ a mile down the road) and were blown away by the beautiful view of the ocean and cliffs. Were greeted warmly with cider, coffee, and cookies upon check-in. Our room in Chapman Cottage had a fireplace, as did the bathroom...quite a treat to bathe beside a glowing fire! Dined at the Inn- delicious dinner in the cozy yet refined dining room. Enjoyed breakfast in the morning back in the cottage. We appreciated breakfast being available early, and several dining rooms to choose from with fire, newspapers, and magazines to make for a leisurely morning.

Our only slight disappointments were 1- no notification that our room was ready, as we had requested early check in and were told we'd be texted when the room was available, and 2- dinner service was a bit rushed. Drinks, appetizers, and entrée literally came out one on top of the other with little opportunity to breathe and enjoy the company and conversation.

All said, this inn is a gem in a beautiful location with hiking, beach, shops, etc. all within minutes. We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEO_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed at the Chapman Cottage in the Chapman room in early October. The room was beautiful with 2 fireplaces. The staff were always accomodating. Everything met our expectations and more. We had a great time in the tavern below; with amazing half priced gourmet appetizers and drink specials .( also at the main inn!) . There food on the full menu was also excellent. The bar and restaurant staff were great and fun. We had a funtastic time and would definately return. The only negative I had was there shampoo and conditioner; bring your own.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lands1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Traveling with no itinerary, stopping at the end of each day wherever we were, we found ourselves here recently. Beautiful inn and room - warm, cozy and inviting on a crisp fall evening. Delightful dinner by the fireplace. Walk-in, triple-head shower, well-appointed quiet room with comfortable bed. Very nice breakfast by the fire was great way to start the day
exploring the Maine coast. Hard to to imagine anywhere else being any better.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed in the Chapman Room for two nights during our visit to York Harbor the second week of September. The property re-opened in August this year after being recently acquired by the York Harbor Inn, owners of several Inns in York Harbor. It was obvious that the Inn had been renovated and while being brought up to modern standards somewhat retained it's 18th century look. Hardwood floors, no carpets....just the way we like it. The room was spacious and had views of the front lawn.

Live-in concierge, Paul was very helpful and accommodating. His attention to detail was much appreciated.

My only criticism, albeit minor. is that the place felt a little too "corporate". Too many reminders of a business hotel and not enough cozy feeling of quaint vintage property.

Room Tip: They have great last minute specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbzspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed at Chapman cottage now run by York Harbor inn this past weekend with my husband, 2 and half year old and 3 month old! the Inn Keeper Paul was so helpful, brought us a nice futon for our son and milk for his bedtime drink! The room was huge and the bathroom with Jacuzzi and shower was so beautiful. Housekeeping (Lisa) was awesome our room was always clean after a days outing. The Inn has been redone and we loved the rocking chairs out front and the lovely lawn my son and i run around on! The common area was beautiful and comfortable, lots of information of things to do in the area. The coffee crumb cake during continental breakfast was delicious!. All in all a lovely stay

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Chapman Cottage
Elegant Inn in a superb position
This is one of the best inns we stayed in – and we have stayed in many good ones. Donna and her son Paul, the owners, were most welcoming. The Mary Room was spacious and extremely comfortable and there were lovely little extra touches such as sherry and chocolates put out each night in the room.
We dined at the Dockside Inn, which was where Paul was the manager at the time, and had a superb meal. Paul then turned up to prepare breakfasts at Chapman Cottage and these were really something special!
Overall a most pleasant and enjoyable experience in a really beautiful and well-maintained old inn.
Donna and Paul – Thank you!
Bryan and Ann D.
UK

Room Tip: Mary Room is spacious light and comfortable, with its own deck outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BryanDCrowboroughUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
0.4 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
797 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
410 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at Tanglewood Hall
Inn at Tanglewood Hall
#1 of 5 in York Harbor
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
774 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
0.7 mi away
Morning Glory Inn
Morning Glory Inn
#2 of 23 in York
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapman Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapman Cottage

Address: 370 York St., Coastal Rt 1A, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in York Harbor
Price Range: £98 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Chapman Cottage York, Maine - York Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing