We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations”
Review of Chapman Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chapman Cottage
Ranked #2 of 5 York Harbor B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 August 2010

My husband and I stayed at Chapman Cottage with family and friends the weekend of our son's wedding. The inn was fully booked but our room was quiet. Donna and Paul are wonderful innkeepers-the place is immaculate and the breakfast was outstanding. Paul's homemade granola is the best.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cside04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2010

My wife and I recently celebrated our 1 year anniversary in York ME and had the pleasure of spending 2 nights at the Chapman. The owners were extremely welcoming and warm, showing us to our huge room immediately. The room had a large bed with a separate sitting area and huge bathroom with soaking tub.

We were disappointed to learn that they have recently suspended dinner service but they offered a “happy hour” with free appetizers. The appetizers were amazing – if you go you have to request the lobster risotto, it was by far the best I have ever had. The martinis were equally as good with a large selection of wines, a few beers and great cocktails!

Breakfast is what I am always going to remember about this visit, each morning we had homemade granola, freshly baked muffins, fresh fruit and coffee – while waiting for the real breakfast! Blueberry pancakes were the best!

I highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a quiet and relaxing getaway! Thank you so much for making our anniversary so much more special!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2010

In short, its great. The rooms are beautiful and large and impeccable. Ours had a private porch overlooking the woods and the sea. Small details, such as sherry and truffles in the room, give you a good idea of the welcoming environment. The owners are very kind and accomodating, not to mention excellent cooks -- the breakfast is among the best we've had in New England.

The location is very beautiful, particularly in spring. York harbor has nice beaches and restaurants which make for beautiful walks.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMSantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

A wonderful stay at a moment of stress. (Forced to stay in the USA as all flight to UK were cancelled, due to the Volacanic Dust cloud of 2010).

Made welcome, lovely room, lovely food, and lovely hosts.

Lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FKJHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2009

My husband and I have stayed three times over the past four years and were always very satisfied. The rooms are beautiful with nice crisp sheets, ample space, and walking distance to the beach. This B&B is located very close to all the outlet shopping in Kittery, and a nice scenic drive (30 minutes) to Kennbunk Port. We were served a delicious breakfast daily, and were not disappointed at all when we decided to make reservations for dinner. The food is great! The hosts were very pleasant and accomodating, and the attitude seemed very laid back. I highly recommend and we are currently looking into planning another stay.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nycmetrogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Maine and spend two nights at the Chapman Cottage. We love to try new inns and B & B's, and do a great deal of research before we go. We found Paul and Carol, the owners, to be warm and gracious hosts, and the entire staff to be professional, warm and caring. Paul's meals are an event in themselves, so be sure to take the package that includes dinner. The rooms are spacious, beautifully furnished and immaculate. It was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nypatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Chapman Cottage is a beautiful house with a great host. The rooms are very clean, comfortably furnished, and resaonably priced. We stayed in Mary's Room, an airy third floor room with a private balcony. We enjoyed drinking wine on the balcony, looking up at the stars. The central air and ceiling fan were most appreciated as it was hot the two days we visited. We enjoyed the delicious, full breakfast. Paul's homemade hot muffins were so tasty! Chapman Cottage is located in a quiet, beautiful area. We did a lot of walking and it was truly a relaxing experience. We definitely recommend this inn!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skantravellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
0.4 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
783 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
406 reviews
1.9 mi away
Long Beach Motor Inn
Long Beach Motor Inn
#7 of 9 in York Beach
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Inn at Tanglewood Hall
Inn at Tanglewood Hall
#1 of 5 in York Harbor
211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Morning Glory Inn
Morning Glory Inn
#2 of 23 in York
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapman Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapman Cottage

Address: 370 York St., Coastal Rt 1A, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in York Harbor
Price Range: £99 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Chapman Cottage York, Maine - York Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing