We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect end to our holiday”
Review of York Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
York Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We were originally allocated room 28 which is a very very small room. On request we were immediately upgraded to room 21 which was a superior room at least three times the size.
Meal in the cellar bar that night was superb and the attention from the staff was excellent. The same can be said of breakfast the following morning

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had a "quaint" room in the actual Inn. There are lots of other options at other locations owned by the Inn, but we wanted to be "where the action is"! We walked across the street wondered along the seaside walking path....we had a delicious meal in the Inn's restaurant with cocktails before at the Ship's Bar downstairs. Everything was perfect....the food, location, flowers everywhere, the rooms were very clean, the staff very helpful, the breakfast (came with the room) very delicious.....especially the lobster quiche! The seashore ride to Perkin's Cove was gorgeous......Perkin's Cove is a must to see! The room that we got under the Travelzoo voucher was small, but the building was probably 200 years old and that added to the quaintness of our stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 38yearresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in #404, designated a luxury room. Second floor, nice view of ocean. Room attractive, clean, very comfortable. We had a great dinner in dining room. Lobsters were tasty, steamed and Yorkshire. Breakfast although continental, was very good with lots of choices. The price was high but about average for the season and locale. We would return.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Atowndoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I have wanted to stay at the York Harbor Inn for sometime. We took advantage of a TravelZoo deal for $99.00 which is supposed to be $149.00 promotional value, normally. I expected a small room for the price but not a room that was hazardous to my head with an accident waiting to happen. I'm glad that we only spent one night in this room. I like old inns, stayed in many and never worried about being knocked out before. My husband did hit his head twice and mentioned this at the front desk. If you have to use the bathroom in the night, remember the ceiling is very close to your head. The bed is situated under the eaves which are very low. There wasn't enough room for a headboard because it is so close to the ceiling. I thought that the bed could have been situated across the room on the straight wall but since they have an extra pullout chair for sleeping there probably wasn't room.

There was no full size mirror either. I could see that one would work near the clothes rack. The only mirror is high over the bathroom sink.

We met Donna as we were leaving to check out. She so graciously showed us other rooms to request if we returned, as we were hoping to have a family reunion next summer.

The restaurant and pub were enjoyable. Emily was a pleasure, serving us our lunch and dinner. At breakfact we met Cork and Patti. They were a pleasure to talk to and very helpful. The food was good. I might go back to the restaurant when we are in the area. The pub is a fun place to unwind.

Room Tip: Room # 8 has the very low ceiling unless they move the bed in the meantime. Ask questions about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellowbirdVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the York Harbor Inn. Though it is in a very pretty spot and the Inn itself is quaint and attractive, our stay was less than good. Our room was very tiny - in fact, I hit my head on the ceiling getting out of bed in the night and also hit it turning around in the bathroom to use the toilet! The area near the sink in the bathroom was so tiny I actually hit the wand of my mascara on the wall and had to clean the wall off! In addition, there was a wedding going on - luckily it ended at 8:30 - and our entire room (bed included - which was the only place to really sit when in room except for 1 chair) vibrated from the music. We could hear music so well we might as well have been at the wedding. Drunk wedding guests kept arriving to their rooms late into the night (up until 1am, at least) and it was as if they were coming into our room! Obviously very little soundproofing going on! Finally turned on AC (even though we didn't need it) just to cover up the noise. AC was so loud it did cover the noise of the other guests!! Not to keep complaining but...next morning we went to take showers and the shower head was so loose it couldn't be adjusted to actually spray water onto your body! Had to almost stand against the faucet to rinse off totally! For $190 per night I would have hoped for a room that was bigger than maybe 10x10 or so, a good nights sleep and a nice shower. Views and location are nice but when you are tired and cranky that doesn't really help. To add insult to injury, when we mentioned the above issues (shower and noise) to desk when checking out we just got a "sorry - everyone deserves a good nights sleep".

Room Tip: I suppose you could ask about the size of the room you were getting before booking and also ask if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJ1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My family and I have been to this restaurant many times. The food was excellent and atmosphere was perfect. But our last visit to celebrate my retirement was not good at all. The waiter was not pleasant at all which dampened the experience. The food was good, except the salad came late and was warm and wilted - the waiter barely apologized for the lateness. But even great restaurants can have their off days and I wouldn't be complaining if they handled it appropriately when I brought these issues to their attention. I wrote to the restaurant twice on their website explaining our visit and dissatisfaction and they never responded. That is very bad customer service. Sorry York Harbor Inn - satisfactory customer service is just as important to me as quality service and food. You should have taken the time to respond.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanci228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your recent experience at the York Harbor Inn’s 1637 Dining Room. We truly appreciate your many visits over the years.

As you will see from our past reviews on Trip Advisor, we make every effort to respond to the concerns of our guests in a timely and efficient manner. In this case however,

it seems we had not received your initial correspondence.

We apologize for any inconvenience you and your guests may have experienced during your special occasion dinner.

As you had experienced in the past, we make every effort to exceed the expectations of our guests and we view all comments as an opportunity to continue to do just that.

We would encourage you to contact Paul Gagnon, Guest Services Manager so that we may discuss your concerns further. He can be reached at 207-363-5119 x292 or via email at pgagnon@yorkharborinn.com

We truly hope to have you return to the York Harbor Inn in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed for three nights on a spur of the moment decision after seeing a deal on the travel zoo website as knew it was close to shopping and Portsmouth. Had no issues with the staff that we bumped into during our stay as all were very polite and helpful. The pub downstairs was convenient and the food was good. I knew from the reviews that the rooms in the main Inn were on the small side and nobody was wrong! There was room to walk around the bed if on one side you bent at the waist and followed the contours of the roof down the side. Bad at night if you got up too fast as you definitely got a bump. Bathroom was very tiny, shower only, and not suitable for full bodied people as you kinda had to go into it sideways and pull the door shut to turn around. Still workable and clean just small. The overall room was clean as well which is the main thing we look for so no complaints in that regard. First two nights were good but by the third definitely started to feel claustrophobic and couldn't wait to get out. Overall the Inn itself is a great place to stay for a night, maybe two, but if longer pay for a larger room :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
0.2 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
406 reviews
2.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
3.3 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,046 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
687 reviews
1.9 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Harbor Inn

Address: 480 York Street, P.O. Box 573, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Price Range: £105 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — York Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Historic Oceanfront Inn has been featured on the Travel Channels "Great Country Inns". Award winning gourmet ocean view dining plus casual fireplaced Ship's Cellar Pub. Outdoor hot tub open year round. Many rooms with fireplaces, Jacuzzi spa tubs, decks and ocean vistas. Free Wireless Internet Access. Exquisitely decorated, fine dining, the perfect place to stay in Southern Maine. Complete conference facilities. One hour north of Boston. Near beaches, golf & shopping. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your York Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York Harbor Hotel York Harbor
York Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing