We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Sales Conference”
Review of York Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
York Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Sales Conference”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We had our company sales conference at the York Harbor Inn in October and they did such a fabulous job! Bridget Dempsey and her conference staff (and all the other staff) were top-notch! All of my colleagues were so pleased with the quaint, seaside setting and all the attention to detail. The food was terrific! We had a lobster bake and a traditional Thanksgiving dinner. I would highly recommend this place for a wedding or conference. Also the ship's pub downstairs was excellent! It was cozy and had great atmosphere.

I have read criticism of the rooms. The YHI consists of several antique buildings in addition to the main inn. The rooms are not cookie cutter rooms you would find in a modern, chain hotel. The rooms are unique, and yes, some are smaller than others, but I found them all to be nice and the inn itself very charming. This is an antique, New England Inn, and my colleagues from all over the world loved it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    204
    73
    44
    24
See reviews for
97
463
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My wife and I spent an October weekend here, enjoying the relative solitude of the post Labor Day scene. The York Harbor Inn actually owns a collection of properties around York Harbor. We stayed at the Harbor Cliffs, which is directly next to the main York Harbor Inn. This is a classic sea-side house with all the quirks you'd expect from an old home… narrow stairs, twisting hallways, creaky wood floors, and small rooms. Don't stay here if you're expecting a cookie-cutter hotel experience!

We requested a room with a king-size bed. The bed was very comfortable, but because most of the rooms have queen beds, we ended up getting a room without a direct view of the ocean.

Service at the front desk and in the main dining room was very friendly and thorough.

Parking is limited to just 3 somewhat tight spots in an open garage, along the edge of the driveway, or along the roadside. There's also plenty of additional parking at main inn just next door.

The Keurig machine in the kitchen wasn't working, nor did the WiFi provide any Internet. Staff claimed that both of these were on the list to fix. There was plenty of coffee though next door where the included continental breakfast was definitely better than average. We ended up eating dinner at restaurants in nearby Ogunquit, so while I've heard that the food here is great, I can't comment on it directly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craryville, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Charming hillside inn overlooking York Harbor, we had the first floor room just off the living room. The room was very beautiful, spacious for two with plenty of room to relax after a day of hiking around the Marginal Way in Ogunquit. The walk just off the front of the York Harbor Inn was very nice as well. Staff at the Inn was very good and helpful, several of the ladies attending to Breakfast very always happy and personable. Nice area to stay when your in southern costal Maine.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went to York harbor inn during a 4th of July. When we were shown our room, we were taken upstairs to a room that emulated a small attic. We paid $300 a night and were expecting much nicer accomodations.

We saw other rooms that were much more spacious, so it was disappointing to know we paid such a hefty price tag.

The other disconcerning factor was that they advertised free wifi . However, the wifi did not work in our room. We called the inn and informed them, and they grumpily told us to go to another one of their cottages to use wifi. We hauled our stuff to the other cottage only to discover the wifi did not with there either.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Spent two nights at The Inn. Our room was small but quaint. We ate in dinning room first night and food was fantastic. The next night ate in the pub downstairs....same menu,relaxed atmosphere and again great food. We were there in October so didn't do much walking but definitely will go back springtime and enjoy the ocean right across the road

Room Tip: We had a queen bed but they also offer king next door...we liked being in where the dining was locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teetee45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Great getaway. Nice stay, overlooking ocean across the road in York, Maine. Food at Captain's Gailey restaurant is great. Whole staff at York Harbor Inn are nice, polite, courteous, which makes for nice returns. Would highly recommend this Inn for everyone.

Room Tip: Great getaway for weekend or week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doriscNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I was concerned when I found a deal on Groupon's for this hotel. Sometime you never know what you will get. But this was one of the best deals we got. It was a beautiful little old inn, so well kept and people were so warm and friendly. It was in a beautiful location right next to the beach in a lovely little town. One of the highlights of our New England trips. I would recommend it highly. Just my style, beautiful older home.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorthRemembering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
0.2 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
3.3 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#1 of 9 in York Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
2.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
8.7 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Harbor Inn

Property: York Harbor Inn
Address: 480 York Street, P.O. Box 573, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — York Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Historic Oceanfront Inn has been featured on the Travel Channels "Great Country Inns". Award winning gourmet ocean view dining plus casual fireplaced Ship's Cellar Pub. Outdoor hot tub open year round. Many rooms with fireplaces, Jacuzzi spa tubs, decks and ocean vistas. Free Wireless Internet Access. Exquisitely decorated, fine dining, the perfect place to stay in Southern Maine. Complete conference facilities. One hour north of Boston. Near beaches, golf & shopping. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your York Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York Harbor Hotel York Harbor
York Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing