We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a quaint inn”
Review of York Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
York Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a quaint inn”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were taken back in time once we entered the Inn. The floors creeked, narrow hallways and stairways and every room was different! We had a balcony overlooking the ocean. The restaurant downstairs served sn excellent meal. A newly renovated pub in the lower level mimicked a ship! It was so unique! We thoroughly enjoyed our "Maine escape"!

Room Tip: ROOMS #4, 3, 2 overlook the ocean! LOVELY rooms. #7 is not one to choose, too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charger06Boston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    213
    75
    45
    26
See reviews for
105
481
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

The attic room was tiny, unless you were 3ft tall you could not move easily around due to the eaves. The room was freezing, or if you had the heating on it sounded like you were on a plane! The power beside the bed did not work which meant no bed side light! The bathroom was again tiny and the sink cracked. When we checked out and mentioned about the room we were told yes the rooms on the top floor are not ideal! One bonus - the food is very good.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, Guest Relations Manager at York Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you so much for your recent visit to the York Harbor Inn. We truly appreciate your kind words with regard to our dining.

As a Country Inn with 62 guest rooms, we do offer a variety of lodging options. Indeed, many of the guest rooms in our Main Inn are cozy and charming and are priced accordingly. Some of these more modest rooms are in the Historic part of our Main Inn and the architecture of the guest rooms do reflect that.

This Spring we have undergone a major renovation of our guest rooms, focusing on the Country Inn Rooms in our Main Inn. We have enhanced these rooms with new décor and redesigned these guest rooms to create a more comfortable and fresh look and feel.

We are fortunate to have received considerable positive comments from our guests in the recent months with regard to these updates and changes.

Our Front Desk Staff makes every effort to describe our guest rooms at the time of reservation so that we may place our lodging guests in the most comfortable rooms available.

We do apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with the electricity in the guest room. We would have certainly addressed that immediately had we known about the circumstances.

For guests planning to stay with us in the future, please note that we do offer larger rooms with many amenities, many including King Bed, Jacuzzi Tub and water views as well as fireplaces and other amazing offerings.

We encourage our guests to inquire about the accommodations that will ensure a most enjoyable getaway to the Seacoast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed at the Harbor Crest building for a weekend and it was perfect for us. The rooms were quiet, large, had a great fireplace, and big jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. We had our dog with us and they do a great job of making you and your pet feel welcome, putting out a dog bed in the room with food and water bowls ready when you check in. The place was very clean and it's conveniently located a few minutes to everything nearby. Check-in and check out were very quick and seamless. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tara60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrington, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had stayed at the Harbor Crest Inn building and were very pleased. The setting and house are beautiful. It's up a nice little driveway with parking in the back. Rooms were very pleasant. Breakfast was a little harsh, even though someone came each morning to stock up the bagels and danish's, we still had to travel to the main York Harbor Inn in order to have a real meal. That being said, I had probably had the best meal of my life there. The lobster stuffed chicken over risotto was ridiculously fulfilling. Tastes, portion, and overall satisfaction at the restaurant. Close to the water and walkway to the beach.
My only gripe is that it is a bit pricey to me. But a higher price also helps for a quieter time. This meaning, there are no big families making a racket.
Very nice time, overall.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the York Harbor Inn. We checked-in but the room was not ready yet, so we went out to do some shopping. When we returned we got our keys and headed to the Chapman Cottage where our room was. When we went to open the door, we found another couple in the room that had been given to us. We promptly returned to the front desk to correct this. The other couple was happy to move thankfully. Jason, at the front desk was more concerned with who had made the mistake of giving us both the room then actually solving the problem. Once we sorted out that the other couple was going to another room and we would have our original room, we asked if housekeeping could change the sheets. We were told that housekeeping had gone home for the night, and Jason handed us linens in a trash bag and told us that we could change the bed ourselves. We also were also only offered 2 free drinks for all the confusion.

Overall, we were very disappointed with the customer service at the front desk and thought that this problem could have been solved in a much better way. We have stayed here many times before, as well as many members of our family, but I am not planning to return anytime soon.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsay_C23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, Guest Relations Manager at York Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you so much for your recent visit to the York Harbor Inn and for taking the time to inform us of the circumstances that occurred upon your arrival.
We hope that you accept our apologies for what was clearly an error on our part.
As you may know from previous visits to the Inn, our Front Desk and all of our staff make every effort to exceed the expectations of our guests from the time of reservation, to your arrival and during the course of your stay.
As to this specific event, we agree with you that this situation could have been solved in a different fashion and we have taken steps to correct this with the individual involved as well as utilize this experience a training tool for all of our staff.
We value your loyalty to the York Harbor Inn and we sincerely hope you will visit with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My boyfriend and I enjoyed a lovely 2 night stay at the York Harbor and couldn't have been more pleased! Everyone we came in contact with from the staff was more than welcoming and made our experience wonderful. We enjoyed a delicious dinner at the Inn's restaurant I had we shared the Baked Artichoke Dip; I then enjoyed the Seared Scallops, while my boyfriend had the Lemon Herb Brick Roasted Chicken. The rooms were the perfect size and the atmosphere was a perfect escape from reality. I would suggest the York Harbor Inn to anyone who is looking for a trip away on the beautiful cost of Maine!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Staff is friendly and professional. Our room, 36, did not have a direct view on the water - other than from the window in the bathroom. But for the price we paid, we can not really complain about this. It is an old place so it has its charm and quirks, but overall we found the common areas to be very well maintained and the room clean. We loved the location - across from the water so you can easily walk to the harbor. There are also sidewalks if you want to walk further away. We ate at the restaurant of the hotel for dinner. We thought the early bird special was an excellent deal - you have to be seated by 6pm. Service very professional and the 3 course menu offers something for every taste. I'd recommend this place if you're looking for a special place for a romantic getaway.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Soliterre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
0.2 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
400 reviews
2.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
8.7 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
373 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
533 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Harbor Inn

Property: York Harbor Inn
Address: 480 York Street, P.O. Box 573, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — York Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Historic Oceanfront Inn has been featured on the Travel Channels "Great Country Inns". Award winning gourmet ocean view dining plus casual fireplaced Ship's Cellar Pub. Outdoor hot tub open year round. Many rooms with fireplaces, Jacuzzi spa tubs, decks and ocean vistas. Free Wireless Internet Access. Exquisitely decorated, fine dining, the perfect place to stay in Southern Maine. Complete conference facilities. One hour north of Boston. Near beaches, golf & shopping. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your York Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York Harbor Hotel York Harbor
York Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing