We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Accommodations”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stage Neck Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stage Neck Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Nice Accommodations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Stayed here for three nights with an ocean view room and was terrific. Very clean and modern. The restaurant was mixed. Our first nights dinner in the restaurant was nothing to rave about. Incredibly slow and disorganized. However, the last night we were there, decided to give it another chance and was very pleased with our dinner and service. The breakfast buffet was very nice. Good variety of food.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laserkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Thank you for staying with us recently and thank you for your review. So sorry that you did not have a good experience in the dining room on your first night with us, but I am very happy that you gave us another chance and that you enjoyed the offerings the second time around.

Unfortunately, sometimes things can go awry on a busy night in the restaurant business, but we do try to make each and everyone's experience a good one. Our staff in both the kitchen and the dining room really care about offering the best in both service and food, so it is disappointing when we fall short.

We think that the breakfast buffet is a good offering of breakfast foods and we receive alot of great comments about it. Thank you...I am glad that you all enjoyed it. Here's hoping to have you as guests again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Phoebe Apgar-Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    77
    21
    11
    6
See reviews for
109
187
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We were there for 2 nights. The rooms were very nice, clean and quiet. We had a nice balcony that overlooked the York River. Lovely place to have coffee in the morning. Had a temporary problem with WiFi being overloaded in the hotel, after dinner we tried again and it was fine. It is expensive but probably worth it. Would I go back? Yes, we would.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linscott9070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Thank you so much for your nice review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay, and even happier that you will return!!

Thanks again!

Phoebe Pressey
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woburn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Stage Neck Inn was the right choice for a romantic weekend away. The views, both inside and out were magnificant!!.......room was immaculate and service was amazing....Spa was great. We will return for some additional pampering. Lynda and Ron

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyndaron0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Thank you so much for your nice review of the inn. You are definitely right, the inn is a great place for a romantic getaway. So glad that you received great service. We do, indeed, have a wonderful staff and they really care alot. The spa is also a wonderful place to visit. They certainly know how to make one relax!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Two suites- 4 adults and 2 children (total = approximately $1000 per night)
"Free Breakfast" is not free. It cost us $20 each morning - Inn used "creative" billing to charge us $100 for breakfast, then tacked on a "service fee", subtracted the $100 as a credit and - voila- a $20 bill for "free" breakfast. We got our own food and juice, yet it was $20 nonetheless.
One tired old treadmill for 125 guests- do the math on access.
Turndown service was an adventure. In a six-day stay, turndown didn't show twice and one time put a door stop under our door and left, leaving our room (with a $1000 laptop and personal items) exposed for quite a while. The explanation at the front desk= "oops".
Plenty of "oops" moments during our stay. Day One dinner tab was $245- we left a generous(30%) tip. Day 2 tab was $220 and the waitress ithen added a $44 tip (20%) for party of 5 or more. Saw nothing noticeably stated about that "fee" and when I explained that we were not charged on Day One, the response was.... you guessed it - "oops".
Room servie was very efficient but you'd have to double the cost of anything you ordered because the tack-ons and tip calculations made the delivery very pricey.
Positive: Probably the best outdoor pool I ever used- big, very clean and never crowded.
Indoor pool small but hot tub nice.
Overall, the Inn should be more forthcoming in its advertising and descriptions. The fitness center needs a lot of work and there needs to be better staff communication. We asked for two extra towels. They came immediately. Next morning, maids picked up 4 dirty towels and replaced them with two. We called again. Got two towels. Turndown came, picked up 4 towels and replaced them with two. A circus.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank moneymaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Thank you for your review and feedback. As for being deceptive in any way, I am very sorry that you feel we fell short. We certainly feel that we describe the inn's offerings and policies quite clearly in our advertising, but I will bring your concerns up at my next managers meeting. I take your input very seriously.

As for the breafkast buffet, it is, indeed, complimentary. However, for accounting purposes, it is necessary that we assign a food value per patron, which is why you saw what you did on the breakfast bill. The total of the breakfast charges are voided off, and then a service fee is calculated off the value of the complimentary breafkast charges. Sorry that you found our policy unsettling. It is a typical industry standard.

I especially want to apologize for the inconsistency with the turn-down maid service and the responses you received from the staff. Your complaints on the guest room door being left open and the housekeping issues are all valid and certainly warranted a more thoughtful response from the staff members. I will be sure to address these issues with my entire staff.

The fitness room is being equipped very soon with an eliptical machine, which I think guests will enjoy. The treadmill is relatively new, but I will look into that. I am glad that the outdoor pool was inviting. It is a great pool, for sure. As for the indoor pool, I agree, it is on the small size. But, this winter we are planning on putting in a brand new one!! Just met with the architect yesterday and the plans look great!

I do hope that you will give us another chance. We would like very much to have you as guests again.

Best to you,

Phoebe Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

You know how every time you're by the ocean your head clears up? You become creative, relaxed, refreshed and renewed? You get this all in one place. The ocean, river and beach envelope you on three sides of the inn. From the elegantly comfortable beds to the top notch service with a real smile, not a put-on. Stay right on this beautiful peninsula and let the stress roll away. My husband, his mother, his sister and I spent four gorgeous days enjoying everything about the Inn, especially using the clean, clear, smooth water in the outdoor pool and beach. This was my sister-in-law's first vacation to Maine and she, first of all didn't want to leave, second she felt comfortable enough to walk the grounds and the beach all by herself. She said she could drive here and come by herself and enjoy never leaving the inn the whole time. Get a real juicy burger by the pool, not one of those cardboard burgers, brought right to where you're sitting. Also, the breakfast buffet had delicious choices for everyone. We have all found a new home to visit for R & R & R & R...

Room Tip: Rooms #324 & #326 gave us a gorgeous view of the beach to the ocean and the harbor. Not connecti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Thank you so much for your lovely review of the inn. It is a great place to relax and get renewed, for sure! We think that the outdoor pool is the best place to be, any day. It is located overlooking the harbor beach and the Atlantic ocean.

We are gald that you all had a good time, and we look forward to your return.

Phoebe Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Contoocook, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We have never "reviewed" a hotel or resort in 36 years of traveling, but my wife and I are so impressed with the quality of this hotel that we felt this might help someone else decide. So that you'll understand how impressed we are with the Stage Neck Inn, I've got to tell you that we live in a waterfront home on a secluded lake in NH. It is pure heaven that we rarely leave. But a couple of times a year, just for a change of pace, we take off for a few days. WHAT WE LIKED; Probably the best service from start to finish we've ever received. The girl actually apologized when they were busy and she said room service was going to take 30 minutes. It didn't! The fastest room service ever! But it gets better, Every question we asked, the answer was Yes. Can we go ANYWHERE on the property with our drinks? YES! My wife won't come down for the free buffett breakfast can I bring her a plate of food? YES! They don't sell coffee by the pot, can my wife have a pot of coffee? YES! You get the idea. These people, all that we came in contact with, went out of their way to make us happy. The building and grounds are top notch, the rooms are nicely appointed basic hotel rooms. Lots of nice touches, too many to mention, but all pleasant and appreciated. Taking drinks for a walk out onto the rocks in front where there are several private spots to lounge, Private spots at that height of tourist season? YES! There's only 58 rooms. WHAT WE DIDN'T LIKE; All of the big 8' sliding glass doors to the balconies and patios squeaked when used. The water must be treated or something because it does not rinse well when in the shower. It feels different than what we're used to. The bathroom doors autoclose, can't keep them open. It is very expensive for a basic room with a view. Cell phone signal for everyone (except verizon) was terible. IN CONCLUSION; try for oceanview, balcony if you're a couple, patio if you have kids. When you are in your room watching tv you will think you've overpaid, when you are sitting almost anywhere else with your favorite whatever, you'll understand what you paid for.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moet2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
We thank you for your lovely review, and I just recently received a very nice personal letter from you, as well. So glad the staff did their job. I must say, that we do have alot of wonderful staff members and they do show our guests a nice time. I receive compliments about the staff on a daily basis. That makes us definitely very proud. Thank you!!

I am looking into the squeaky sliding glass doors to the balconies and patios. We do oil the tracks frequently, due to the sea air that can create this issue. Perhaps we will need to do that task more often.

We hope to see you again in the near future. And, again, thank you.

Phoebe Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

This hotel is my favorite place to stay. Rooms are simple and comfortable. Hotel staff is always accommodating and friendly. Breakfast is very nice and the restaurant food is always tasty and reasonably priced. Great pool and pool food. The beach is never crowded and very clean. Prices are not cheap, but not outrageous either for what you get. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happiness_55_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Oh how nice of you to write such a lovely and complementing review! Both my staff and I love seeing you both and we appreciate your continued visits to the inn. It is really true...one can meet such wonderful people while staying at the inn. I have to say that we have a plethora of wonderful guests that stay with us each and every year, and that's what makes working at the inn such a true pleasure.

Hope all is well, and we look forward to your return. Best to you both!!!

Phoebe and the SNI staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
0.2 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
3.5 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#1 of 9 in York Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
17.5 mi away
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
6.9 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Neck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Neck Inn

Property: Stage Neck Inn
Address: 8 Stage Neck Road, Route 1A, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stage Neck Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stage Neck Inn is situated on a peninsula, surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean, The York River, and York Harbor. One of only 13 properties in the country to have consistently earned AAA’s Four Diamond Award since 1976, there are extensive amenities for the size of the resort … indoor and outdoor pools, a beach, clay tennis courts, 18-hole golf, a day spa, two restaurants, lounge, and deluxe guest rooms with private baths and great views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stage Neck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Neck Hotel York Harbor
Inn Maine Neck Stage York
Stage Neck Inn York Harbor
Stage Neck York Harbor
Stage Neck Inn York, Maine - York Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing