We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Stay”
Review of Stage Neck Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stage Neck Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Danvers
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Anniversary Stay”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stage Neck Inn is a wonderful place to stay. A beautiful view of the Atlantic Ocean, a beautiful beach and great clay tennis courts. We celebrated our 22nd anniversay there and had a wonderful time. The breakfast buffet each morning was wonderful.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SniBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond to your recent stay with us. What nicer way to spend an anniversary!

Hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Phoebe Apgar-Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    78
    21
    11
    6
See reviews for
111
188
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Stage Neck Inn is everything you could want in a hotel and more. My husband and I spent this past Columbus Day weekend there, and loved every minute. Housekeeping was amazing - cleaned the room while we were at breakfast, and the turn-down service was a nice bonus. Breakfast buffet was delicious. Everyone who worked there seemed genuinely concerned that we were enjoying our stay. I had an amazing massage at the spa - would definitely recommend a treatment there. Cozy bar with half-price drink coupons for people staying on the property, and a friendly bartender (nice job, Chris!) who made you feel right at home. And last but definitely not least, the location is to die for - right on the water, spectacular views were right outside our door. We are already planning our next trip back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mezz4a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you so much for staying at the inn. We are thrilled that you and your husband enjoyed your stay. Our staff does genuinely really care! Chris, the bartender, does make people feel welcomed and right at home.

So glad that you be returning!

Best Regards,
Phoebe Apgar-Pressey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
187 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I was disappointed. In a nutshell, they are living off their past reputation and beautiful view. The staff is friendly and attentive although at times seem reluctant to make decisions without checking with their supervisor.

Compared to a mid-price chain hotel Stage Neck is "average" but comparing it to high end inns it rates "poor".

We stayed eight nights. We had an early morning flight out of Boston which is a one hour drive south so I asked if we could cancel our last night in order to get a hotel closer to the airport. You would think after spending that amount of time an money with them they would be a little more accommodating. They told me they couldn't do that unless they could resell the room. Given it's early-mid October and a Thursday night, the probability of that is slim to none.

Bathroom: The bathroom door would not stay open so we had to keep a chair against the door during the times we wished to have the door open. The shower was small and there was not anywhere near enough space to keep toiletries such as shampoo or even soap. The grout was old and in need of some deep scrubbing.

Room: Needs to be freshened up. Getting old and tired. Again, it would be OK for a moderately priced chain hotel but certainly not what I would expect for a high-end inn on the coast.

Food: Average. Lunch was what you would expect. Very tasty. The breakfast buffet was disappointing. Basically the same offerings every morning. The hot foods were not hot. The fruit selection was very nice and very ripe. The toast was pre-buttered and was placed in a basket with a hot lamp over it. For $18.00 I would expect a little creativity. Perhaps a toaster, eggs cooked to order? The scrambled eggs were not real and tasted oily. Again, if this were a budget motel you'd see along the highway catering to travelers who are staying one night and off early the next morning I would accept fake scrambled eggs but not when you're at a place like Stage Neck.

If you want a place with a beautiful view Stage Neck is a great place. If you want/expect the amenities of a first rate inn along the coast of Maine Stage Neck may not be that place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
We are saddened to know that you were disappointed during your eight day stay with us. I wish that you had asked for me. I would have tried to make your stay more enjoyable.

As for the bathroom doors, they were installed so that the door opens up into the room, in order to accommodate those that have wheel chairs. We could have given you a door stopper, to alleviate the closing of the door. Our apologies.

The breakfast buffet does offer low cholesterol scrambled eggs. We get so many requests for them, and thought it best to have them available each day on the buffet. We would have been more than happy to have provided you with real scrambled eggs.

We can only hope that you will give us another chance. If you choose to do so, please contact me directly, and I would be more than happy to assist you.

Sincerely,
Phoebe Apgar-Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peabody
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Attended our nephew's wedding on 09/20/13, The venue couldn't have been more perfect - weather included. The food was over the top - always a challenge for a group. The attention to detail and guests comfort was paramount, A lovely ceremony and reception!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsmaz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you for your review of the inn. It sure is a great wedding venue with the backdrop of the ocean. So glad that you enjoyed everything.

Hope to see you again!

Best Regards,
Phoebe Apgar-Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

On arrival we were surprised by the lovely location. Our room proofed to be both spacious and comfortable and very clean which is important. Staff is very friendly and makes you feel welcome. Breakfast is very good, plenty
choise, diner was very good also. We can recomment this hotel and would certainly come again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wout1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your nice review. We can only say that we are thrilled that your experience was excellent.

Glad that you dined with us and all was good. Look forward to your return.

Best Regards,
Phoebe Apgar-Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Coming from the Midwest, my husband & I just returned from three nights(Sunday-Wednesday) at The Stage Neck Inn. WOW, it is everything we could have hoped. From the location, property, staff, food, & spa, The Stage Neck has it all. For a quiet retreat on the Atlantic you have come to the right place. Going following Labor Day called for fewer travelers.
We stayed on a third floor ocean view room. The view was spectacular, the room clean and cozy. Our veranda looked out not more than 30 yds. from the rocky coast. A small beach was there for strolling along the Atlantic. Our pkg. included a delicious breakfast buffet of fresh Maine fruit, eggs, bacon, homemade donuts and sweets to name a bit of a plentiful meal. At 3pm you can enjoy Tea Time with some of the best coffee, tea, and cookies. Then from 4-6 drinks (which they know how to make) along with cheese & crackers. All this while taking in the beach, harbor, or ocean views. Dinner, well let's say I don't know where it could be any better. The dining rooms is so quaint and there is not a bad seat for viewing. Yes a tip is added to the drinks , breakfast, and dinner, but it was not a problem.-one less thing to think about. We also used the spa for massages & a pedicure. There was not one staff member who was not helpful or friendly. Housekeeping visited your room each night for turn down service. When asking for more blankets, additional thick towels,no problem. Robes are provided in each room too. Our private balcony had a table & chairs, which we used often.
If you want a quiet, relaxing and beautiful Inn, the Stage Neck is the place. Yes, it is not an inexpensive property, but the Stage Neck is not someplace where you would go all the time. Also, it is close to Nubble Lighthouse, Ogunquit, Kittery, and Porthsmouth for quick trips. WE LOVED IT, & WILL RETURN.

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth it. Harbor view can look out onto the parking lot along with harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debby5480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Oh, so glad that you discovered the inn. It sure is a hidden treasure. Many are discovering the inn each and every day. Now we can add you to our list of wonderful guests!

We can see that you experienced all that the inn has to offer, from the restaurant to the spa, etc.
We thank you for your lovely review!

Best Regards,
Phoebe Apgar-Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is my second review of Stage Neck. The first one I gave them 5 stars but realize that was mostly based on location. To truly get 5 stars everything should be great and there are a few issues here. First off is the buffet breakfast. For the price of the room, putting out mediocre buffet breakfast food is ridiculous. I mentioned this in my first review and the response was that to expedite the 150+ guest that come thru in the high season they do a buffet. I think its probably more about their bottom line. It would cost them more to have the wait staff and kitchen crew that they would need for a cooked to order breakfast. If our local breakfast place can expedite more than 150 guest on any given Sunday morning and put out good food quickly, I would think a "four star" resort should be able to handle it. Didn't notice this last time so not sure if its something new or not, but an 18% gratuity was added to the breakfast check. They place a value of 18.00 a head (with tax) on the buffet (so overpriced) and add an 18% gratuity for the waitress essentially pouring you coffee and clearing your plate. A little over the top. 18% should be for full service, not buffet. There were a few maintenance issues in our oceanfront room that we meant to mention but were in a rush at checkout and forget. The sliding glass door made a awful screeching sound when opened or closed. There was a creaky floor problem and the bathroom door would not stay open. Had to prop a suitcase against it when getting ready for dinner so it didn't slam shut on you. However, I am sure if we had brought these issues to their attention it would have been taken care of, but we were only staying one night and forget to mention it in the morning. Also, drinks are a little pricey (9.00 for a glass of wine) so we go elsewhere for a few cocktails then maybe have one there before retiring. Overall I still enjoy this property with its fabulous location and clean rooms but cant bring myself to stay more than one night because of the breakfast situation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We are, however, disappointed that you did not enjoy the breakfast buffet. We typically get such raves about it.

We take your suggestions seriously and only want to offer the best in both service and food.
Please give us another chance to serve you.

Best Regards,
Phoebe Apgar-Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
0.2 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
3.5 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#1 of 9 in York Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
17.5 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn & Spa
6.9 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Neck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Neck Inn

Property: Stage Neck Inn
Address: 8 Stage Neck Road, Route 1A, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stage Neck Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stage Neck Inn is situated on a peninsula, surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean, The York River, and York Harbor. One of only 13 properties in the country to have consistently earned AAA’s Four Diamond Award since 1976, there are extensive amenities for the size of the resort … indoor and outdoor pools, a beach, clay tennis courts, 18-hole golf, a day spa, two restaurants, lounge, and deluxe guest rooms with private baths and great views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stage Neck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Neck Hotel York Harbor
Inn Maine Neck Stage York
Stage Neck Inn York Harbor
Stage Neck York Harbor
Stage Neck Inn York, Maine - York Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing