We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful find”
Review of Stage Neck Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stage Neck Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We were lucky to find this inn as we toured the Maine coast and that they had a room available for 3 nights, with an off-season discount. Beautiful location right on the York River where it empties into the ocean. Old world charm in decoration and service. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Afternoon tea with cookies; discount coupons for cocktails; excellent breakfast buffet. There is a spa and several pools, including an indoor one; fitness center and walking trails right from the inn.
A real gem of a place!

Room Tip: Ocean or river view second floor to give a better vista.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VoyageurNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Thank you so much for your great review! So glad that you found the inn during your Maine visit. We do offer some wonderful off-season discounts, including our ever popular Get-away package, which includes four-course dinner and full breakfast. Our mid-week packages are even better!

We are also glad that our staff made your stay memorable.

Thank you,

Phoebe Apgar-Pressey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

Wonderful experience at a recent wedding, staff was excellent, food was excellent and the view is fabulous, would highly recommend it for any special occasion. Everything was perfect from the time we drove it with person telling us about parking to end of evening with well lit area when leaving. Decorating and service was superb.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review of the inn. We appreciate your positive feedback on the experience you had while attending a recent wedding at the inn. So appreciate the fact that you enjoyed both the food and service.

We hope that we will see you again sometime in the near future.

Best Regards,
Phoebe Pressey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We found this beautiful place in Internet and were very much satisfied. The hotel lays right on the ocean, beautiful views all around. Beautiful furnished, ocean views from every room, nice reception, beautiful restaurant with a caring, loving staff. The rooms perfect, WiFi , tv, wooden floors and nice bedding,each with a balcony looking on to the water. There is an outside and an inside swimmingpool, and a precious beach right in front. Gorgeous place! Breackfast was delicous! We recommend very much this hotel?

Room Tip: They are all perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for your nice review of the inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. The location of the inn as it sits directly on the ocean and near the York Harbor beach is, for sure, a great location.

Thank you for your recommendation of the inn and thank you for staying with us.

Best Regards,
Phoebe Pressey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stage Neck Inn is a wonderful place to stay. A beautiful view of the Atlantic Ocean, a beautiful beach and great clay tennis courts. We celebrated our 22nd anniversay there and had a wonderful time. The breakfast buffet each morning was wonderful.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank SniBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to respond to your recent stay with us. What nicer way to spend an anniversary!

Hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Phoebe Apgar-Pressey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Stage Neck Inn is everything you could want in a hotel and more. My husband and I spent this past Columbus Day weekend there, and loved every minute. Housekeeping was amazing - cleaned the room while we were at breakfast, and the turn-down service was a nice bonus. Breakfast buffet was delicious. Everyone who worked there seemed genuinely concerned that we were enjoying our stay. I had an amazing massage at the spa - would definitely recommend a treatment there. Cozy bar with half-price drink coupons for people staying on the property, and a friendly bartender (nice job, Chris!) who made you feel right at home. And last but definitely not least, the location is to die for - right on the water, spectacular views were right outside our door. We are already planning our next trip back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mezz4a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Thank you so much for staying at the inn. We are thrilled that you and your husband enjoyed your stay. Our staff does genuinely really care! Chris, the bartender, does make people feel welcomed and right at home.

So glad that you be returning!

Best Regards,
Phoebe Apgar-Pressey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I was disappointed. In a nutshell, they are living off their past reputation and beautiful view. The staff is friendly and attentive although at times seem reluctant to make decisions without checking with their supervisor.

Compared to a mid-price chain hotel Stage Neck is "average" but comparing it to high end inns it rates "poor".

We stayed eight nights. We had an early morning flight out of Boston which is a one hour drive south so I asked if we could cancel our last night in order to get a hotel closer to the airport. You would think after spending that amount of time an money with them they would be a little more accommodating. They told me they couldn't do that unless they could resell the room. Given it's early-mid October and a Thursday night, the probability of that is slim to none.

Bathroom: The bathroom door would not stay open so we had to keep a chair against the door during the times we wished to have the door open. The shower was small and there was not anywhere near enough space to keep toiletries such as shampoo or even soap. The grout was old and in need of some deep scrubbing.

Room: Needs to be freshened up. Getting old and tired. Again, it would be OK for a moderately priced chain hotel but certainly not what I would expect for a high-end inn on the coast.

Food: Average. Lunch was what you would expect. Very tasty. The breakfast buffet was disappointing. Basically the same offerings every morning. The hot foods were not hot. The fruit selection was very nice and very ripe. The toast was pre-buttered and was placed in a basket with a hot lamp over it. For $18.00 I would expect a little creativity. Perhaps a toaster, eggs cooked to order? The scrambled eggs were not real and tasted oily. Again, if this were a budget motel you'd see along the highway catering to travelers who are staying one night and off early the next morning I would accept fake scrambled eggs but not when you're at a place like Stage Neck.

If you want a place with a beautiful view Stage Neck is a great place. If you want/expect the amenities of a first rate inn along the coast of Maine Stage Neck may not be that place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

We are saddened to know that you were disappointed during your eight day stay with us. I wish that you had asked for me. I would have tried to make your stay more enjoyable.

As for the bathroom doors, they were installed so that the door opens up into the room, in order to accommodate those that have wheel chairs. We could have given you a door stopper, to alleviate the closing of the door. Our apologies.

The breakfast buffet does offer low cholesterol scrambled eggs. We get so many requests for them, and thought it best to have them available each day on the buffet. We would have been more than happy to have provided you with real scrambled eggs.

We can only hope that you will give us another chance. If you choose to do so, please contact me directly, and I would be more than happy to assist you.

Sincerely,
Phoebe Apgar-Pressey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Attended our nephew's wedding on 09/20/13, The venue couldn't have been more perfect - weather included. The food was over the top - always a challenge for a group. The attention to detail and guests comfort was paramount, A lovely ceremony and reception!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsmaz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Thank you for your review of the inn. It sure is a great wedding venue with the backdrop of the ocean. So glad that you enjoyed everything.

Hope to see you again!

Best Regards,
Phoebe Apgar-Pressey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
0.2 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
782 reviews
17.5 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
8.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#14 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
380 reviews
6.9 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
702 reviews
2.1 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Neck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Neck Inn

Address: 8 Stage Neck Road, Route 1A, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Price Range: £131 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stage Neck Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stage Neck Inn is situated on a peninsula, surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean, The York River, and York Harbor. One of only 13 properties in the country to have consistently earned AAA’s Four Diamond Award since 1976, there are extensive amenities for the size of the resort … indoor and outdoor pools, a beach, clay tennis courts, 18-hole golf, a day spa, two restaurants, lounge, and deluxe guest rooms with private baths and great views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Stage Neck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Neck Hotel York Harbor
Inn Maine Neck Stage York
Stage Neck Inn York Harbor
Stage Neck York Harbor
Stage Neck Inn York, Maine - York Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing