We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”
Review of Stage Neck Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stage Neck Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Delanson, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Everything was wonderful, and the service was top notch. Beautifully decorated (and very clean!) rooms. We chose the bed and breakfast option, and the breakfast buffet was very good, with lovely views from the dining room. We did not eat dinner here, but did have drinks at the bar - a little pricey, but very good with friendly service. If I had one change to make, it would be that the indoor pool would stay open a little later. 10pm is fairly standard, but we are night owls and would have loved to use the whirlpool later in the evening. We will absolutely stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
So very happy that you loved the inn, along with the service, breakfast buffet, etc.

As for the indoor pool, we do have to close it at 10 p.m. in order to begin the process of adding chemicals to both the pool and the hot tub. So sorry about that.

We look forward to your return visit! And, once again, thank you for your nice review!

Best Regards,
Phoebe Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    78
    21
    11
    6
See reviews for
111
188
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Came here for a work retreat and it really felt like getting away. Perfect size for our small group of about 40-50 people. Having stayed in a number of hotels or all sizes, this place feels different. It manages to offer a "cottagy" feel. The dining room offers an expansive view of the ocean. My room offered a covered balcony overlooking the inlet and the avenue to the open ocean. Unfortunately, it was too cold to go out on the deck, but I could still here the relaxing sounds of the ocean. I had a little bit of free time to go walking along the adjacent Cliff Walk...even managed to catch the sunrise! Staff were extremely attentive and food was quite enjoyable. Overall, many in my group were saying "I'm coming back!"

Room Tip: I would try to get a room on the ocean vs the parking lot side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmsmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. So glad that you had a great group retreat. The inn does offer some wonderful group meetings/retreats on a year-round basis. The meeting and function rooms do all have great views of the beach, harbor and ocean.

So glad that you found the walking paths. The Fisherman's walk along the harbor is my favorite!

We hope to have you as a guest again in the near future. Again, we thank you for your review.


Best Regards,
Phoebe Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Egremont, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Living in the south western corner of MA on the second highest mountain in the state, my husband and I felt the need to relief ourselves of the wintery bliss and decided to travel to York, ME for an overnight stay. We chose to stay at the Stage Neck Inn and did we made the right choice.

We had the most wonderful stay. Where do I begin? The property is well kept, clean and certainly exhitbits an eye for detail. Our room had a beautiful ocean view. We enjoyed the most delicious dinner and breakfast. We were fortunate for dinner and breakfast to have a window table with glorious views.

Every employee we encountered was gracious, professional and had a smile on their face. We were surprised how busy the inn was despite being off-season.

We enjoyed the shopping in Kittery. We will highly recommend the Stage Neck Inn and my husband and I are talking about our next return visit.

Room Tip: Reserve an ocean view room. There is a balcony so you can sit outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
We thank you for choosing the Stage Neck Inn and we are thrilled that you had a nice stay. It seems that you enjoyed the great ambiance and hospitality that we offer at the inn.

Thank you for your lovely review, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!


Best Regards,
Phoebe Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed here in the Fall and had a room with a balcony overlooking the water. It was so calming and beautiful, even in the cooler weather. The staff was top notch - friendly and professional. We enjoyed walking the grounds and sitting in the chairs on the lawn. Breakfast was very good as well. Dinner was decent, but drinks in the lounge were very enjoyable with a friendly bartender.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HikingBikingDude89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us last Fall, and so glad that you enjoyed a relaxing get-away. Every season in York Harbor has its' special and unique offerings.

We hope to see you again!

Best Regards,
Phoebe Apgar-Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stage Neck Inn is luxurious and expensive , but, everyone deserves a little pampering once in a while. The facilities are wonderful and offer terrific ocean views. The staff is attentive and friendly. The dining is exquisite. There's an indoor pool with Jacuzzi. In the summertime there's a private beach, tennis courts and an outdoor pool. A spa is available by appt. It's a little bit of heaven on earth.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srh7009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of the inn. We are so glad that you had a memorable time with us. It seems that you experienced all that the inn has to offer. Very happy to hear that our staff was attentive and friendly. We just love our staff!

Here's hoping to have you as guests again in the near future. Thank you for staying with us!

Best Regards,
Phoebe Apgar-Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
143 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

From the moment you step into the stage neck inn you are surrounded by comfort and luxury The restaurants are wonderful. One is casual food the over is over the top. We go here for mid week getaways. Right on the harbor. Fireplace, wood burning. Hot Coffee tea and cookies for everyone. It's a must in our book

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nags48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review. So happy that you enjoyed the comfort of the inn, along with the restaurant(s). Our mid-week package, including breakfast and dinner, is a great way to go, for sure.

We look forward to your return visit!

Best Regards,
Phoebe Apgar-Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

If I could give this Stageneck INN ten stars I would.
You cannot improve on perfection!!!! Yes, we had a perfect experience and left elated.
Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and our room was ready early . Always a nice surprise. The environment is warm and welcoming, the staff all very friendly, the food was fabulous, our room very comfortable. All rooms have some view of the ocean.
We were on a B and B package. The breakfast buffet is awesome; we never needed to have lunch. It is indeed a full breakfast, very full!
I commend the staff and managers of StageNeck Inn, York,Maine.
And I recommend it highly. We look forward to returning.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank EdsoF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Wow, ten Stars!! We are so pleased that we made your stay at the inn a perfect experience!
Thank you for your kind comments.

Glad that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet. All of our rates do include a full complimentary breakfast, which pleases so many of our guests.

We look forward to your return visit.

Thanks again,

Phoebe Apgar-Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
0.2 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
3.5 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#1 of 9 in York Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
17.5 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn & Spa
6.9 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Neck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Neck Inn

Property: Stage Neck Inn
Address: 8 Stage Neck Road, Route 1A, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stage Neck Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stage Neck Inn is situated on a peninsula, surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean, The York River, and York Harbor. One of only 13 properties in the country to have consistently earned AAA’s Four Diamond Award since 1976, there are extensive amenities for the size of the resort … indoor and outdoor pools, a beach, clay tennis courts, 18-hole golf, a day spa, two restaurants, lounge, and deluxe guest rooms with private baths and great views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stage Neck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Neck Hotel York Harbor
Inn Maine Neck Stage York
Stage Neck Inn York Harbor
Stage Neck York Harbor
Stage Neck Inn York, Maine - York Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing