We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough old style charm”
Review of Stage Neck Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stage Neck Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is a reasonable stay with a Classic Maine ocean view. Had a room facing the parking lot. Restaurant was good but not great. Buffet in the morning was excellent. Not a five star resort by any stretch and a bit pricey, but there are limited choices in York. Would consider the cliff house as an alternative if you want great views but it is not as centrally located to town.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for staying at the inn recently. Also, thank you for your review. So happy that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet. We receive such rave reviews on the offerings. As for dinner, we are also glad that you rated it good, but would have hoped for great.

We hope to have you as guests again in the future.

Best Regards,
Phoebe Pressey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed at the Stage Neck Inn for our 23rd wedding anniversary. From the reservation process on the phone to the checkout, this is one of our tops for a stay. We had the room/dinner package and I highly recommend this. Our room was fabulous with a gorgeous view of the harbor. Dinner was excellent, 4 course meal with a piano playing in the background. The beach is great as it's "private" so not crowded at all. Breakfast in the morning was great as well with a good selection of foods and a beautiful view looking out towards the sea. We stay in York often and this was our first time at the Inn and what a difference from the stays at Long Sands/Short Sands. If you are looking for peaceful this is the place.

Room Tip: Rooms with Harbor View have view of harbor/ocean but there is boat traffic frequently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your great review! So happy that you chose the inn to celebrate your 23rd wedding anniversary. The Get-away package that you were on is a great package, with full course dinner and breakfast. The offerings, are indeed, plentiful.

We hope that this will not be your first and last time staying with us. We thank you so much for staying with us and so happy to know that you found it to be a peaceful stay.

Best Regards,
Phoebe Pressey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

On the plus side, the Stage Neck Inn is perfectly located on the sea near the pretty town of York, with a beautiful little garden and a lovely sheltered beach on the doorstep.

Unfortunately,the hotel is priced as top-notch accommodation, and it really doesn't have the level of service and facilities to justify that. Another reviewer said that it hasn't changed in the past two decades, and this is exactly how it felt, with friendly but unprofessional service, uninspiring decor and average food at way-above average prices. It may have been the time of year, but clientele and staff were all fairly elderly, and there was a faintly institutional whiff in the dining room.

Other good things - it was clean with a decent shower and the breakfast was lovely (American, rather than international). Oh, but they can't make a decent cup of tea!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

We are so disappointed to know that you did not fully enjoy the inn and all it has to offer. We do pride ourselves in the service and ambiance that we have come to be known for, so we are sorry that you did not have the ultimate experience.

We have changed quite a bit in the last two decades and we do diligently continue to do upgrades on a yearly basis. Our ocean front rooms, along with some recent renovations of harborview rooms have been so well received. We have also completely renovated our indoor pool area, our excercise room, and added a wonderful intimate spa just a few years ago. Even our lobby area has been newly decorated.

I do hope that you will give us another chance. We thank you for your review and we thank you for enjoying some of the other amenities we offer.


Best Regards,
Phoebe Pressey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I made our reservation today, haven't stayed as yet, however the Reservation Clerk, Dawn, was tremendously helpful, very kind and courteous !!! She was very patient with me and helped me make my reservation quickly and efficiently talking to me about all the room options and prices. All I could think of was if this place is this wonderful BEFORE we get there, I can't wait to see the service and the Inn when we DO get there !!! Thank you again !!! The Hale's

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriciaHale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for making your upcoming reservation at the inn. We are so glad to hear that our reservationist Dawn was so helpful and courteous. She is, indeed, a gem.

You will receive the same wonderful attention and service with the rest of our staff, I assure you!
Look forward to having you with us.

Best Regards,
Phoebe Pressey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We've been going to the Stage Neck Inn for over 20 years and can only say it is just as good today as it was years ago. The setting, the people, the food have not changed in the past two decades. We hope to keep going to Stage Neck for the next decade and recommend this wonderful hotel to all how go to Maine.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank readytotravel_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Wow, so glad to know that you have been coming to the inn for 20 years, and to know that you have enjoyed the inn every time you have visited.

Here's to the next decade of visits!
Thanks again.

Phoebe Apgar-Pressey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

The Stage Neck Inn was a very fun experience! My kids had a great time. Great breakfast,fun activities!!! I would recommend going here! The site was beautiful and all of the features were fantastic. The location was pretty. The staff was helpful and friendly. I had a very nice stay at the Stage Neck Inn...I hope you will too!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phish44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

So glad that you and your children had a fun time at the inn recently. It seems that you loved the site and the features of the inn. We thank you so much for your review!

Hope to see you again!

Best Regards,
Phoebe Apgar-Pressey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We went to a wedding this past Friday, I will start out by saying the view is amazing. I could sit out on their lawn all day. The food was decent and the staff the served it were very nice. The wedding ceremony was outside, they set up a bar there. It was quite cold and people soon moved into the reception hall. They dismantled the outside bar and for an hour an a half had no bar going in the reception hall. People tried to get drinks in the restaurant bar and were rudely turned away. I have never been to a wedding where you couldn't get a drink. The drinks were also very pricey, they list a lot of money. I do not like either how the reception room was broken up in to separate rooms. We were off in a side room and didn't feel part of the wedding at all. The dance floor was also tiny.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

We thank you for your review, and we are sorry to hear of your disappointment with a few aspects of the event that you attended. The wedding couple, did indeed, insist on having their ceremony and cocktail hour outside, despite the fact that it was a cold and damp day. We abided with their request, knowing full well that their guests may be affected.

We do want to apologize for the fact that the bar was not open when the event transferred into the banquet room. The bar staff is usually so quick to move over to the inside venue. We have addressed this with the appropriate staff members. Most definitely, you should have been able to receive a drink in a more fashionable and acceptable time frame.

The function room does extend into an adjoining area which we use for bigger weddings. We certainly can understand that you did not feel tied into the main area. Thank you for the input.

I am glad that you enjoyed other aspects of the inn...the view, the food and the staff attention at the event.

Best Regards,
Phoebe Pressey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
0.2 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
804 reviews
3.5 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
384 reviews
6.6 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,067 reviews
7.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
2.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Neck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Neck Inn

Address: 8 Stage Neck Road, Route 1A, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Region: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Price Range: £105 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stage Neck Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stage Neck Inn is situated on a peninsula, surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean, The York River, and York Harbor. One of only 13 properties in the country to have consistently earned AAA’s Four Diamond Award since 1976, there are extensive amenities for the size of the resort … indoor and outdoor pools, a beach, clay tennis courts, 18-hole golf, a day spa, two restaurants, lounge, and deluxe guest rooms with private baths and great views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stage Neck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Neck Hotel York Harbor
Inn Maine Neck Stage York
Stage Neck Inn York Harbor
Stage Neck York Harbor
Stage Neck Inn York, Maine - York Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing