We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A new option in York Harbor”

Chapman Cottage Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
York, Maine
Level Contributor
89 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A new option in York Harbor”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We finally made it to Chapman Cottage for dinner last week. There has not been a lot of buzz about this new restaurant which is part of the York Harbor Inn family of restaurants.

This is a beautiful property where most tables are shaded and out on the expansive porch. there is live entertainment as well as a small pub and in-door dining area.

The food was excellent , though a bit spicey so order carefully. The shrimp small plate (a specail the night we were there) was wonderful. The flank steak delicious with 3 sauces to choose from and the chicken dish was also 5 stars. Service was good but a bit slow. So if you linger between courses in an unhurried atmosphere this is the place for you!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shart43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    18
    1
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
236 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Great deck for drinks and small plates”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Sad to say it took us a year to check out the Chapman Cottage restaurant. But we've been twice in the last month and it is definitely THE place for an evening cocktail and unique, interesting small plates on the relaxed front porch. There is a cozy dining room and bar inside as well. The cocktails are truly fresh and fabulous.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pcyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great addition to York Harbor”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great addition to York Harbor dining choices. Small plates or full dinners - relaxed dining, with a departure from the traditional lobster dinner (although the lobster pizza is great).

Helpful?
1 Thank Penny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outside on the deck for small dishes and big drinks”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Reasonably priced, just-right menu offerings.
Chapman Cottage has a nice attitude for putting together quality foods and a good wine list .
A late afternoon hanging on the deck with good friends could not better spent.
Service was appropriate, water glasses never stayed empty.
While Chapman's is owned by the folks at York Harbour Inn, it is NOT York Harbour Inn.
Less formal, less expensive, less three course mealy.
I have been here 3 times , all of them in gorgeous weather outside.
I can't speak for the indoor dining experience, but snacks and drinks on the deck rule!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank NHSeaurchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“HAVING FRIENDS JOIN US AT THE CHAPMAN INN”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Got to Chapman Inn, decided to dine on the deck, the sky darkened, but as soon as the drops started, the staff provided us with speedy assistance on moving to an inside table in a cozy room. As a lifelong Maine resident, I was impressed with my very ample lobster roll on a brioche roll toasted brown. It was the same shape as a hot dog roll, but larger and the dough was definitely brioche--and yummy enough that I would order it again! We had friends with us who had not been here before and said they will definitely put Chapman's on their "eat here again another time" list. And the rhubarb dessert will be on our "order again next time" list as well. A nice evening!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaineSeacoastWedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chapman Cottage Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chapman Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing