We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch”

Greek Village Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #44 of 157 Restaurants in Bel Air
Price range: US$10 - US$28
Cuisines: American, Greek, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This restaurant has been around for years and serves great food. They are known for staying open, even in blizzard conditions and their breakfast is legendary. Serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in a family style atmosphere. The bar in the back dining room has TVs for viewing the game of the day.
Jarrettsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I finally got to go to Greek Village in Bel Air. I had the best burger I've had in awhile. It was cooked exactly how I asked and was hot and juicy. The fries were great too. I had to get a pice of baklava. It was as great as any my own grandmother made for me. I can't wait to go back sometime for dinner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    20
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I'll stick with the Double T for Breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This little greasy spoon was dirty. We were seated in the odd little front room which could use both cleaning and updating. Our server was nice, but comparatively the food was overpriced for the portion.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BBunney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for most occassions!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Clean and welcoming environment. Abundant menu selections and food is always good. Will need to be patient since the service tends to be slow for a diner but they make up for it with the quality of the food and prices. I do continue to dine here because it is suitable for the entire family - very casual and accommodating for those with small children. Worth a visit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SLR02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McConnellsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great Breakfast in Bel Air, Md”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

The Greek Village Restaurant is a good casual restaurant. It's clean and inexpensive. Great for breakfasts. Plenty of parking and easy access if you are on that side of the street. Hard to get out of if you have to cross over all the lanes, but I do recomment this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShirleeGiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An Excellent Local Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We live in Fallston, Maryland which is about 2 or 3 miles from the center of Bel Air, MD, the Harford County Seat.

Almost all the popular chain restaurants are in the area such as BoneFish, Outback, Red Lobster, Chilies, Panera, Pizza Hut, Famous Dave's. Of course they all serve a menu dictated by a corporation. Unless the cook is totally inept the food in one is the same no matter where it is located, Most are well attended with significant waits on weekends.

There is one restaurant which is in my opinion far superior, The Greek Village. Don't let the name fool you. While there are some Greek items on the menu, most items listed are American and Italian. The daily specials are well prepared and priced surprisingly low. For example this past week one of the specials was a two pork chop dinner with two sides. It comes with small loaf of crusty fresh baked bread, $9.95. Now go to one of those chains and see what you get for $9.95.

I had a blackened flounder with two sides and the wonderful crusty loaf for $10.95. This could also be broiled or breaded and fired. Now go to Red Lobster or BoneFish and see what you get for $10.95.

Italian Veal dishes with REAL VEAL (not chopped) are $14 or $15.

The pizzas are the equal of any in the area and prices a little bit lower.

In my mind the speciality of the house is a quarter pound all back fin lump crab cake with nearly no filler for $16 again with two sides. It is far superior to the famous Phillips Crab house in Baltimore's Inner Harbor. That restaurant is way over rated.

Hard to understand why the Greek Village isn't as popular as the chain restaurants which while their food is good do not come close the Greek Village in quality and price.

The question above, "Is this one of the best meals I have ever had" is a bad question to ask me. I have dined in some of the best restaurants in the world and paid a big price. The meal we had in the Jules Vern Restaurant in the Eiffel Tower in Paris was far better but then its price was about 15 times the cost of a great meal in the Greek Village. A better question would be is this one of the best meals you have had in the Bel Air, MD area? to which the answer is ABSOLUTELY YES.

The only item the Greek Village lacks is perhaps ambiance. It is located in an older building which 60-70 years ago was a local dinner and one of only two restaurants in Bel Air. But please don't misunderstand, this place is modern, clean, and service is excellent. It just lacks some of the pictures and decorations of the chain restaurants. But then I can't eat decorations, they give me heartburn.

Many of the newcomers to the Bel Air area are really missing the boat in not patronizing this fine restaurant. The owner makes it a point to visit each table to insure the food has been prepared properly.

If you want something a lot better then the corporate food of the chains and is priced at an affordable level you must go to the Greek Village.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank CharlieWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greek Village Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Greek Village Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing