We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TJ's - A mainstay in Calverton/Beltsville”
Review of Tj's of Calverton

Tj's of Calverton
Ranked #2 of 63 Restaurants in Beltsville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“TJ's - A mainstay in Calverton/Beltsville”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We've been visiting TJ's for over 15 years. The lunch crowd is busy and steady. The food is good and consistent. Service is very good and the owners really get to know you and love to make you feel welcome.

One of the only traditional diner spots in the area serving American cuisine and some specialties. Burgers, fish and sandwiches are the typical lunch fare, but full dinners and recently the addition of breakfast is very popular.

The older generation loves TJ's for their traditional American fare at reasonable prices.

Seasonal specials are always a good choice, but their burgers and BBQ sandwiches are popular with our office.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    34
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Decent food in a *severe* "food desert"”
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Ate lunch here b/c of nearby conference; it's what we cld find & get to quickly.

Busy place; very popular w seniors.

My tuna-stuffed tomato had very little tuna salad, but it was attractively presented & all the fruits & vegetables were fresh, as was my colleague's garden salad. My spouse liked her pork roast & my friend said her burger was good.

Their deserts looked delicious, but no one in my party indulged.

I wld eat there again if I found myself in Beltsville.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drrobinhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Open for breakfast”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

TJs just opened their doors for breakfast, and it is worth a trip to taste it. Start off with some Sweet Potato Puffs (sort of like hushpuppies) - yummy. French toast was great - one person in our group had one of the "skillet dishes" she liked it. The side of fruit was nearly enough to be the meal. Good coffee and good service and good value. TJs fits the bill!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good sandwiches, OK fish.”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The BBQ sandwich and the French dip were very good. The rainbow trout was dry and bland. We enjoyed the baked potatoes and salads. The server was very attentive and friendly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good Food - feels like home cooked meals”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The restaurant has been around for a long time. Really good food in my opinion, the service is good, but sometimes the food comes out a little slow. If you're looking for a quick place, this is probably not what you're looking for. But the food is good and it's a nice quiet place to have lunch or dinner.

I love their club sandwich, they always have tilapia specials and my family really enjoys going to TJ's.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank irishfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tj's of Calverton also viewed

 

Been to Tj's of Calverton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing