We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food, great bar atmosphere”
Review of Black Finn - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Black Finn
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good food, great bar atmosphere”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

A good good value for the price. Trendy and welcoming. Burgers are fantastic. Wait staff very attentive.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    2
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elwood, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun Atmosphere”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

The Food here is delicious. A great place to be with friends to order all the appetizers and share platters.. lots of dips with pita chips, the best French onion soup around.. Friendly waiters, happy place to be, with fast service, GREAT prices and yummy food!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaime C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bar with a Fine Dining Menu”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Restaurant: Clean, Sports Bar with a fine dining appeal
Menu: Creative dishes
Levels: 3 (main, upper and lower)
Scene: Bar/Restaurant with TV's at the Bar and in the restaurant booths (they can change the channel if you ask them)
Specials: Yes. Lunch/ Sports/ Happy Hour (Rail/Beer/Appetizers)
Cost: $$
Party: Two adults and an 11 year old
(Footnote: If it's game day and you sit near the bar... be prepared for some shouting or clapps)

FOOD:
Ordered: Balboa (shaved prime rib, mozzarella, toasted garlic bread, au jus)
Fries: lightly batter
Taste: Flavor
Portion: Hearty sandwich

Ordered: Pecan Crusted Rockfish (vanilla vodka cream, sweet potato mash, green beans) *Ordered the Pecan crust and the vanilla vodka cream on the side
Taste: Delicious, sweet potato was like a puree, delightful and the green beans complemented the dish; however, the green beans little heavy on the olive oil.
Rockfish: is not the whole fish, but a thick long fillet.
Portion: Enough for one person and some sample tasting for another person at your table
*Pecan crust was mixed with a white paste (possibly cream cheese?) was sweet and could eat alone (its for the fish) and the vanilla vodka cream was good.

Ordered: House Salad (Mixed Greens field greens, roma tomatoes, cucumber, red onion, croutons)
Dressing: loww calorie zinfandel vinaigrette (wonderful) not oily, asiago peppercorn (okay, real thick(first time trying it))
Portion: Plenty

Ordered: Crab Cake Sliders jumbo lump crab, remoulade, apple slaw, potato rolls
Portion: 3 sliders with alot of meat (no fillers)
Taste: Delicious, not fishy (crabby)
Disliked: apple slaw (neat name, but not what I ate LOL)

I will go back to taste the rest of the menu. I hope you enjoyed the review and happy eats!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iluvgreatdeals D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Popped In ... Bumbed Out!”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Today ... (08/18/2012) ... Looking to make a stop into several bars/grills on a return visit to Bethesda.
This was our second stop after a most pleasant experience at the Rock Bottom Brewery … just one short block away.
We had gone to the Black Finn in D.C a couple of times, first with our son, a second on our own (hint ... hint ... we liked it, so we went back). Thus, happy it was on the trail, in Bethesda, today! We looked forward to it!!!
However… Walked in, and sat ourselves at the bar just inside the door ... did not explore further inside (but did take a look after sitting there), to see what other bar areas existed. We were promptly greeting by a pleasant, attractive, brunette with a British accent, who eventually served us draft beers from what they had working (no Sam Adams Seasonal, after some effort).
Asked if we wanted menus, we responded, “Yes … looking for an appetizer or ‘munchie’.” Beers arrived, and we laid the menus down on the bar, having arrived at a choice of a very tempting crab & artichoke flatbread endeavor. But the “desire” died there.
Our server ignored us, a good 20 minutes, despite repeated walk-bys for her soda (left right in front of us), and a good 5 minutes counting the register right in front of us as well. Then, there were her repeated breaks at a server station further into the restaurant where there were other employees with which she could converse.
Of the 20 or so seats at the bar, at the most, at any moment we were there, six (6) were occupied, and we were two of them. We wanted to warn the sixth one that came in to “run away!”
Having an appreciation of the Black Finn in D.C., we hope that this rogue server will weed herself out. Otherwise, she will drive customers to the plentiful other bars/grills within a couple blocks radius.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reccenav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
145 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fun place to grab a beer and watch a game”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Did not eat here but the bar is laid back, with friendly bartenders, and plenty of TVs to watch the days sporting events

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinoNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Finn also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing