We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but grubby, unappetizing restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location but grubby, unappetizing restaurant”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

This hotel has a good location and pleasant enough rooms. The reception staff range from pleasant and helpful to downright surly and useless. As tourists, we asked for instructions to get to a restaurant which we hadn't spotted was actually on the corner of our block and visible from the hotel; the receptionist puzzled and googled for several minutes before suggesting we could only get there by cab. The restaurant is somewhat grubby for a new hotel and less than appetizing. Tea and coffee were simply awful. Attempted to get some scrambled egg from the buffet serving hatch but couldn't as one of the cooks was slouched on the lid and picking her zits. After that i'd gone off the idea of the cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daltmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    336
    90
    26
    13
See reviews for
261
159
54
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I booked this hotel with Hilton Honors points since I needed something Metro-accessible in the D.C. area. I could not have been more pleased with the quality of the hotel and the overall lodging experience. The rooms are spacious, clean and in great repair. The hotel is a short walk (about three blocks) from the Bethesda red line Metro station. Dining is convenient. The breakfast buffet is an acceptable $13 with acceptable-quality food, including omelets.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

My husband and I stayed here last year at Christmas due to overcrowding at my in-laws and stayed here again this year for Thanksgiving for the same reason. And the other reason we stayed here is that it's a GREAT hotel! The staff is always friendly. Check in was a BREEZE and took hardly any time at all.

The bed is comfortable, the room is clean and well appointed. I guess I'm not really saying anything I hadn't said in my last review, but I felt like I again needed to state that this is a great hotel that I highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AztecsU2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

This hotel is always my first choice when I am in town on business. It's walking distance to the metro and to lots of restaurants (Mia's Pizza in Bethesda is amazing FYI).

The rooms are typical HGI variety--relatively large and clean. All have mini-fridges and microwaves.

The staff are friendly and helpful.

Love this hotel. Very disappointed when it's sold out and I have to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TempAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of travel for conference. Clean and simple rooms with well designed interiors and lobby area.

Only disadvantage is having to pay for Parking which is getting more and more frequent. Friendly customer service, and easy access to transit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKCTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fiora, Italy
Level Contributor
118 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

this was my first hotel experience in this area.my aunt couldnt put us up and i chose this hotel based on reviews and location.i wasn't disappointed.the location is great,near the red line.the lobby is attractive and staff welcoming.the services were so handy,the pantry,the laundry room,wifi,breakfast,and the room ample and attractive.it was very clean and modern.there was a microwave and fridge and a coffeemaker..we felt so comfortable here that we cancelled another reservation(closer to family) and extended our stay here.i will try out another hilton garden inn somewhere else and hope it's as good.

Room Tip: i asked for a room with a lot of light and got it.room 1311.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We chose this hotel for a family Thanksgiving vacation in DC based on the good reviews here, and indeed this hotel is just excellent in all aspects.
Location is great, 5 minute walk to Metro and in the middle of Bethesda with a short walking distance to many restaurants, cafes, and shopping.
The room was very clean and inviting and the whole facility in an excellent shape and very well maintained. The pool and hot-tub are small but clean and inviting and just what the kid needed after a day of sightseeing.
Staff were super-helpful and nice all around.
We took the 3-in-1 deal for parking and breakfast and it was great. Breakfast was just excellent with made-to-order items along with a large hot and cold buffet for everyone to find what they loved, and it kept us fueled and energized for the day.
And then there were the small things that make a big difference like surprisingly reasonable (or low) prices in the pantry, or the free yogurt we got at the bar for our 4yld who was too tired to go to dinner.
All in all, and excellent experience and we will recommend the hotel and will be back when in the area again.

One small con was the TV (frustrating remote response) and the lack of kids' channels...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaasolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Bethesda Court Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Upper Northwest
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy Chase Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
Address: 7301 Waverly St, Bethesda, MD 20814-3330
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bethesda
#1 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#3 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A chic, sexy, and entirely new downtown Bethesda hotel near the Metro. The Hilton Garden Inn Bethesda. Only one block from the Bethesda Metrorail station and two miles outside Washington DC. Step inside and soak up an ambiance equally abuzz with urban energy. Adorned in glass, with artful lighting and sleek lines, the airy two-story lobby offers an inspiring alternative to the typical Bethesda hotels near the Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc / Bethesda Hotel Bethesda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing