We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable alternative”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bethesda Court Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Great find on a budget ! These friendly folks try very hard to make a older motor hotel into quiet getaway for those visiting Washington, DC. Easy check in with bottled water and chocolates, updated rooms, continental breakfast included. This hotel is very close to the metro ( Red line ) and within walking distance of a number of great neighborhood restaurants. You can't beat the price ! Especially when you consider just how expensive DC can be ! It's not fancy but very comfortable.

Room Tip: Depending on your final stop , keep in mind that it's about a 30 - 45 minute commute, by the ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pwrightnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

My husband and I just spent one night at this wonderful hotel and wish we could have stayed a week. Brandon at the front desk was as personable and accommodating as he could be. The staff always had smiles on their faces and said hello. The bed was super comfy and the rooms furnished perfectly. We enjoyed the wonderful breakfast and I had the largest and sweetest red delicious apple I have ever seen in my life!! When we come back to this area, this is where we will stay. Great job and thank you!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethT_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This hotel made my trip worthwhile. Where you stay influences the quality of your trip. I felt like I was staying at an old, smaller European hotel, and having been partially raised in Switzerland, that really appealed to me. I read later that it is a four star hotel in a worldwide chain. It had a free continental breakfast nook, two free internet stations with a printer, a little garden and a free car to drive you anywhere within three miles (certain times). NIH and the Metro were within that zone. There's also an Enterprise rental agency right across the street that I used for one day. Two Zip Cars are in the parking lot along with a 30 minute stall for your rental car. How convenient! Also, all the best Bethesda restaurants were close by serving gourmet food and it was hard to choose which one to dine at next. I wanted to bring the food back to my home state! The room was comfortable, clean and had everything you needed - mini-fridge, safe, micro, coffee maker, dryer and even a blue nightlight. The bed was perfect for me - not too soft, not too hard and decorated with cozy sheets and covers. A friend who was staying at the more expensive, huge Hyatt two blocks down liked this little hotel better. It was quaint, quiet, and had reasonable rates in comparison to the Hyatt. Bethesda is in an expensive county so nothing is really cheap. The staff, and especially Mr. Brandon Butler, Hotel Manager, were always helpful. NIH scientists are the primary pool of customers so I guess that had something to do with the quiet part. Yes, the air conditioner could have been quieter, but it didn't bother me. I was too busy being as happy as a clam in a comfortable hotel that I will visit again, if not in Bethesda, somewhere else in the world. It is the first hotel that I will actually seek out - Golden Tulip (4-star) or Royal Tulip (5-star). Thank you for making my first stay in Bethesda one that I will always remember.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the street, stairs, elevator or ice machine...I always do. I don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We arrived to find a totally run down Hotel. The pictures online don't give an accurate view. The elevator barely fit 2 people. The room smelled of chemicals, and the A/C was so noisy there was no way we were going to be able to sleep. The outlets were outdated and it seemed almost unsafe.

We left and stayed at the Hyatt.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank vtpsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Great location, nice staff, free internet and printing services on the lobby. I stayed there for 6 nights so I got a reduced rate but even this was not cheap, however, you get your money's worth.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank idogold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Wish we could give 5 stars just so the staff would know how much we appreciated their genuine and attentive care.
The owners should reassess their technology and most of all replace the HVAC, specifically because it is a health issue.
We were on 3rd (top) floor, in high 80-low 90 degree weather (not dead heat of summer YET) and our air conditioner was so antiquated we could not adjust the temp. at all, nor was it able to cool off our room. LOUD is an understatement. When leaving, another guest squeezed into their closet sized elevator (3 of us) and commented how she did not sleep due to the loud & poor cooling system. The heat and noise was unbearable for her. Alas, the cleanliness of the room, coffee (pod) maker, fridge and perfect location near NIH cannot change the fact the Heat & Cooling system is terrible. An analog TV with poor picture quality is fine for a night, we laughed at the yellow tinged programs, but if we had to stay for any length of time, we would chose elsewhere. Does HD cost that much more in the DC area?
Sorry to the staff, you were all perfect, warm, friendly, helpful and we felt you deserved another bravo so people would know, if staying in this motel, the staff is the best part of your stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RFRocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We spent three nights at the Bethesda Court Hotel during our trip to DC. I must admit to some real trepidation after reading some of the reviews here on Trip Advisor. Happily, my fears were pretty much unfounded. Our room (331) faced the courtyard side of the hotel. We loved the view. Although our room was several spaces past the courtyard so that we could not look down into that lovely space, we still enjoyed our view. Not sure what the view is like on the other side of the hotel, though.

We were greeted warmly upon our arrival and have no complaints at all with the staff save for the fact that, on the third morning, they were remiss in getting things cleaned up and re-stocked in the breakfast area.

Speaking of the breakfast area, as other reviewers have noted, it is a very, very small space. You might consider taking your breakfast out to the tables in the beautiful courtyard area or even up to your room unless you want to rub elbows (quite literally) with your neighbours. The breakfast offerings are nothing special but were quite adequate. No hot foods, but there are pastries, juices, coffee, cereal, bagels, etc. A perfectly acceptable spread, in my opinion.

Our room was very comfortable and clean, though the carpet has seen better days and is definitely ready to be changed. The bathroom, as noted by others, is very small and does not offer much space to set one's toiletries, though this was not really a problem for us.

Nice flat screen TV, Movies On Demand and free wi-fi.

Great location with a plethora of culinary choices within easy walking and/or driving distance. If you are looking for something quick and don't care about fancy, try the Tastee Diner which is about a one minute walk from the hotel. The food was very good, the prices were excellent, and Frank, who seemed to be one of the owners, was amusing and extraordinarily friendly and attentive. The Tastee Diner has many repeat customers as evidenced by the fact that staff and patrons knew each other by name.

A caveat or two: If staying at the Bethesda Court Hotel, I would not recommend a first floor room facing the courtyard. Could be noisy, plus, you can't really leave the curtains open to enjoy the view unless you like feeling your are in a fish tank as other guests walk past your window or make use of the courtyard.

Parking costs about $15.00 a day, so, be prepared for that extra cost unless you want to park in the garage across the street...which comes with its own fees unless you park after 10:00 p.m. and move your vehicle before 6:00 a.m. We were told parking there is free between those hours.

This is an older hotel, so don't expect it to be an Embassy Suites! If you like something a little different, though, this could be the place for you.

All in all, we really enjoyed the Bethesda Court Hotel. We would definitely stay there again if in the DC area!

Room Tip: We loved Room 331! Would highly suggest requesting a room facing the courtyard but NOT on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Magic_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
1,724 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
American Inn of Bethesda
American Inn of Bethesda
#8 of 11 in Bethesda
305 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
134 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bethesda Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Court Hotel

Address: 7740 Wisconsin Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-3522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#6 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range: £82 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bethesda Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in a charming neighborhood outside of Washington DC, the Bethesda Court Hotel provides elegant European hospitality in an intimate, gracious environment. Enjoy the first-class amenities and accommodations of this stunning hotel, combined with the warmth and comfort of a traditional bed and breakfast. Few other Washington DC area hotels offer such an inviting experience. Consider our English boutique-style property as your private retreat - providing a quiet, comfortable haven just 8 miles from downtown Washington DC. Our premier Bethesda, MD hotel is ideally located just two miles from the Walter Reed National Military Medical Center and National Institutes of Health.Or set out and explore the exclusive shops and restaurants within blocks of our front door. Conveniently two short blocks away from the Red Line's Bethesda Metro Station, nine miles away from Union Station train station, & 11 miles away from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport. Truly a gem among DC area hotels, the Bethesda Court offers the timeless elegance of another era in an exquisite setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bethesda Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Bethesda
Bethesda Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing