We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great decor deserts!”

Fancy Cakes by Leslie
Ranked #8 of 11 Bakeries in Bethesda
Restaurant details
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great decor deserts!”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This place offer a fantastic deserts decoration! I couldn't resist to take a look inside just because of the decoration they have. I tried the cup cakes and I liked them. If you think you can't stand waiting in line for the "other" cupcake store try this one instead.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raquelcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
309 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“MORE than cakes - "Man Cookies" are out of this world!!!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Return visit to Fancy Cakes By Leslie. They are more than just a bakery for fancy custom cakes (which I still haven't tried). To me, this is a first class bakery that is home to the most OUTRAGEOUS chocolate chip cookie you will ever have - the "man cookie" are two soft and heavenly chocolate chip cookies FIVE INCHES IN DIAMETER glued together with a layer of chocolate fudge. It is beyond delicious.

Also had a chocolate chip brownie (delicious brownie with tons of chocolate chips throughout) and an almond paste cookie, both of which were so good, I wanted more!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank milril44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, MD
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Went in here at close on Sunday to order a custom birthday cake for Wednesday pick up and they came through. We did the 10-12" round and it could have served 25, it was so dense and heavy. It felt like it weighed 25 lbs. Their red velvet is to DIE for and so moist it tasted just as wonderful as we nibbled on it over the next 3 days. The custom design was just what we asked for and so impressive.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank coolmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viriginia,usa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Buttercream at its best”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Always iso a good cupcake without cream cheese icing...This shop had a tasty version with a verry delicious cake...usually the 2 don't happen together. The staff was lovely and it looks as if they do beautiful cakes as well

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emnmnm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
309 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“The "Man Cookie" is a must! They have more than cakes!”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

YUM!!! They have beautiful cakes in the window and on display, but what I reccommend is stopping in for their cupcakes, cookies and other delectable treats! I tried their chocolate cupcake with dark chocolate ganache, which was delicious, and their "cake pop" (which is more of a small chocolate mousse and cake tart-shaped creation on a stick that tastes oh so fudgy and scrumptious!!).

But if I had to recommend just one thing, it would totally be the "Man Cookie" - picture two soft and heavenly chocolate chip cookies FIVE INCHES IN DIAMETER glued together with a thin layer of chocolate fudge. Oh my god!!!! It is beyond sinfully good!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank milril44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fancy Cakes by Leslie also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 

Been to Fancy Cakes by Leslie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing