We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YUM!”
Review of Georgetown Cupcake

Georgetown Cupcake
Ranked #1 of 14 Dessert in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“YUM!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Go to this awesome cupcake shop. The cakes are so moist and its in a nice shopping area. My favorite flavor is salted caramel!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eneg0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    32
    14
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
385 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Expensive”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I don't mean to be overly critical but these cupcakes are really expensive (you can six down the street for the price of one). They always seem dry to me.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank laser20814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Undisclosed Location
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pretty But Not Very Tasty”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

I had heard all the buzz about Georgetown cupcakes and seen the lines but somehow could never get myself to wait in a long line to pay for
cupcakes. I happened by early on a weekday morning when there was no line. I needed a dessert for a
dinner party and decided to stop in. I purchased the traditional white cake with butter cream, chocolate and chocolate frosting and then a selection of their more exotic combinations. The staff was friendly and suggested that for future orders I could save time by ordering in advance. I bought a dozen. Each was decorated beautifully and they made for a very nice table decoration. However we were all disappointed by the taste. They were moist but the exotic combinations generally didn't taste very good. Our favorites ended up being the traditional white cake and vanilla frosting and the chocolate and chocolate frosting. Apart from using as a nice dinner table decoration, given the price point which is not cheap, I would think twice before waiting in line to buy these cupcakes especially if buying them for the taste. I would save the calories and use elsewhere.

Helpful?
1 Thank Agent9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Cupcakes Even If Overpriced”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Clearly you are paying for the name and the fame at Georgetown Cupcakes - $2.75 per small cupcake. We were there around 8:00 PM and the 2 staffers had to be near the end of a long shift because they would much rather have been folding boxes for the next day than to assist us. All that aside, they were very, very good cupcakes - very moist and probably 20 "flavors" to choose from. Double chocolate was maybe too rich, but the lemon and the peanut butter chocolate were great. Be prepared for a line on weekends and holidays.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DarkBlueInk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
170 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Best cupcakes anywhere!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

This was my second visit to this location and let me just say they have the best cupcakes by far of any place I have ever tried. Their flavors vary daily and are all delicious. 1 gf and vegan option each day as well. Check on Facebook at around 9:40 am daily to find out what free flavor cupcake they are offering to the first 100 that ask for it by name. They even gave each person with me one on our visit. Their prices are very reasonable based on the quality and size. We definitely will be back on our next visit to Bethesda.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank momof4inmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Georgetown Cupcake also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 

Been to Georgetown Cupcake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing