We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite spot - a French Bistro.”
Review of Mon Ami Gabi

Mon Ami Gabi
Reserve with OpenTable
Mon Ami Gabi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 360 Restaurants in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wisconsin
Transit: Mon Ami Gabi is a 10 minute walk from the Bethesda Metro Station.
Chevy Chase, MD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite spot - a French Bistro.”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The bartenders in this place - Shawn, Gabrielle and Mark - fabulous service. Great vine selection, food and prizing. The happy hour is a great deal, bu sure to be there before 5 PM! We come about once a week.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    318
    92
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere, down to earth service, good food”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

It's crowded, yet once you're seated it's easy to forget the crowd and just enjoy an excellent meal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JE127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“French wannabe”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

It has a pretty nice atmosphere, nice Paris style tables outside in warm weather. The food is decent but not anything like real French food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ItalianTranslations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Market, Maryland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very nice Brunch”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We had brunch on a Sunday to celebrate our anniversary. It was very crowded due to the fact that there was a craft and arts festival on the streets outside. But we were seated right away as we had a reservation. We order the Baked Goat Cheese and Escargot for appetizers. Both were exquisite. For our meal my wife ordered the Eggs Benedict with Steak and I ordered the small order of Mussels Marinire. She enjoyed her Eggs Benedict but the Mussels although were quite an ample amount but I did not care for the broth. This was not the fault of the restaurant just not my favorite type of broth.

I tried the Blood Mary Bar where you make your own Bloody Mary and my wife tried a Mimosa. The Manager stopped by our table and we mentioned it was our anniversary. Our server who was very attentive and apparently was provided the anniversary information from the manager later brought us complimentary desserts and glasses of champagne. This was a very nice gesture. We enjoyed our brunch immensely and will be back to try dinner some evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and service to match it.”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Had a great dinner here last night. The food was delicious with not one misstep and the service was excellent with nice little touches to make one feel special.
It's hard to believe this restaurant is as part of a chain/franchise, as it has a very individualistic, neighborhood-y type vibe.
Everything we ordered was delicious. And that includes the dessert that we didn't order as well - i.e. the cream puff with ice cream and (incredible) chocolate sauce, they were just served as a special treat by our wonderful waiter, Gregory Smith.
Will definitely be back, even though it's an hour's drive (luckily close to our daughter's school, so do have an excuse!) My husband wants to go on a Thursday for their plat du jour of braised lamb - which I'm sure it just as yummy as all the food we ate last night.
Can recommend: French onion soup, escargots, mushroom soup, salmon & quinoa, Trout Amandine and the Steak Bearnaise (the frites that come with them are amazing.)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mon Ami Gabi also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 

Been to Mon Ami Gabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing