We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Restaurant!”
Review of Hinode

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hinode
Ranked #212 of 359 Restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant!”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I've been to this restaurant numerous times. The sushi buffet is great either for lunch or dinner.
I feel at home here. The staff is always attentive and friendly.
This restaurant is a keeper!!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnaCL_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great for a group”
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

I eat here every month with friends, on our way to an evening meeting. It is good enough.

Lunch buffet has plenty of choices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best place to go with a group of friends”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We go dancing on the weekends often, and always get together with our friends for the Hinode buffet first. There are several reasons:
* The food is good and plentiful, and the choices range from traditional sushi to inventive rolls to cooked food to a nice selection of vegetarian dishes. Say hello to Kai, the sushi chef when you're there - he knows his stuff!
* The staff is accommodating and pleasant
* There is ample parking
* We can always get a table big enough to accommodate our group (of course, we go early to get to the dancing sooner)
* When people come late (and someone inevitably does), they don't have to wait to be served, they just jump into the buffet
* It is so easy to divide the check, as the buffet is fixed price

Highly recommended. And yes, we also go there when it's just the two of us. We like it that much.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAT-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“lots of variety in lunch buffet, good for the price”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I have been to their lunch buffet twice now. For the price, it can't be beat. Lots of variety in sushi and rolls. Salmon and tuna are very fresh. Of course, for this price it cannot be top-shelf sushi, so the rice/fish ratio is larger than at the more expensive places. Service is friendly. Will definitely go back for lunch!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smattijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing Lunch”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I have eaten lunch here many times. There is a lunch buffet consisting of a limited number of Chinese options, miso soup, several salads and 20 to 25 types of sushi rolls, maki and sashimi. A nice tea is included as well. The staff is very pleasant and attentive. I generally come here for the sushi and almost always eat too much. Today was different. The food tasted dry. Not sure if it was the rice or fish. I did not care for seconds. Other than the convenience to my office, there are better places in Bethesda that you won't spend any more for.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hinode also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 

Been to Hinode? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing