We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My family of BethVidal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
American Inn of Bethesda
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Smyrna, Delaware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My family of BethVidal”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Dan, I come to know provides great leadership. He is artitulate, funny and knowledgable,caring about all the other businesses in the area. The staff He has put together are not there solely as workers. People like Cynthia, Alex, Paulina and even the ignamatic person of Mr. Raul and not merely workers but understudies of His experience and knowlede, and I have personally been there a few times when He has imparted such to the staff. They themselves are great working in tandem to each other. All this makes one great hotel and one great trip. Hey Dan, Cynthia, Thank you. James G. Wallace Smyrna,Del

Room Tip: Overlooking the backside, looking down on the heart and soul of Bethseda, food and shops, the 12 roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    101
    52
    24
    37
See reviews for
62
37
44
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I stayed here for 4 days during my NIH study. I was always welcomed and any questions I had were answered. I slept well here on all of my nights here. The manager of the hotel was very knowledgeable about the area of Bethesda, which was very helpful for an out of towner like me. There is a continental breakfast every morning. Very kind and supportive staff, and I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My company held a conference in this hotel and we had an enjoyable experience. The rooms are a little tired but everything was clean and worked well. The key for us was the hotel staff. From the original booking, to the arrangements for the conference room, the assistance given to attendees, and the arrangements for coffee, lunch etc, the management and staff of the hotel could not have been more helpful and co-operative.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveTorontoCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xxx8310, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a reivew of your stay. We at the hotel welcome all guest feedback, especially when it allows us to improve upon our service and product delivery. Again I want to thank you for the comments. If you have any additional comments or concerns please email me directly at americaninngm@baywoodhotels.com. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Dan Appolonio, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We recently had a business meeting at the American Inn and were very impressed by the customer service of all the staff there. We worked with Cynthia to book the meeting space and the hotel rooms for the attendees. She is fantastic to work with, quick to reply to e-mails, arrange for a block of rooms for the attendees and help us with anything that came up during our stay.

I have stayed at many of the different hotels in the area before and by far the American Inn had the best rate and customer service.

We will definiately be having future events at the American Inn of Bethesda.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank May T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeauAthia, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you for your taking the time to leave us a review. We look forward to your next visit to Bethesda. Thanks.

Dan Appolonio, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Unprofessional staff, room without a closet nor hangers, stains in the bathroom, flimsy towels, one light didn't work. Breakfast was uninspiring, and the restaurant was empty during dinner time. An unimpressive stay and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerfrompdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xxx8310, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you for your taking the time to leave us a review. I was disappointed to see that the hotel did not meet any of your needs during your stay. I will share your experience with the entire staff, as we are always appreciative of guest feed back to know how we are, or are not, meeting and exceeding our guest needs. Thank you again for letting us know how we did, so we can improve upon our product and services for our future guests. If you have any further information to share please email me directly at americaninngm@baywoodhotels.com. Thanks.

Dan Appolonio, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bethesda hotels

Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I am an intern at NIH and I actually stayed at this hotel over a period of two and a half months and I can attest to the fact that the staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was kept very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Overall I would recommend this place for anyone to stay.

Pros:
-Clean
-Courteous
-Internet and printing access
-Comfortable
-Complimentary breakfast bar
-Near NIH/Walter Reed facilities
-Bus access right outside and short walk to metro (for commuters)

Con:
-Limited parking

Room Tip: Rooms near the side steps are quiter but rooms near the elevator makes for a shorter walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheba W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xxx8310, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thank you again for taking the time to leave your thoughts about your stay with The American Inn of Bethesda. The entire staff appreciates when guests provide feedback, and any that will allow us to deliver a better experience for future guests. If you should have any additional concerns or comments, please email me directly at americaninngm@baywoodhotels.com. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future!!

Dan Appolonio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2012

The room was clean, comfortable and truly non-smoking (I can tell, I am asthmatic!). Expect small rooms, this hotel is in a busy city and right next to NIH. Bathroom was clean, however, the shower faucet came off during use. The day clerk was very courteous and helpful. The night clerk was good, though he could have been a little more helpful regarding alternate parking. Parking is extremely limited, so do not arrive here without a "parking plan B." I arrived in the night and had the good fortune of grabbing the only available spot, which, however, was a really tight squeeze for my Lincoln. For a NIH visitor like me, the location was just perfect. Breakfast was sufficient. Lots of places around this hotel to get decent food. I would surely come back here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sp354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
0.3 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
417 reviews
0.0 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
3.1 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
413 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Inn of Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn of Bethesda

Property: American Inn of Bethesda
Address: 8130 Wisconsin Ave., Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — American Inn of Bethesda 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delight to come home to, our Maryland hotel is designed to keep you comfortable and relaxed with stylish furnishings and a host of contemporary living amenities. Spacious and well-appointed with modern decor, our Bethesda hotel rooms are equipped with work desks, blackout drapes, premium cable television channels, clock radio, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, multi-line telephones and large in-room laptop safes. Free local calls and complimentary high-speed wireless Internet service (Wi-Fi) are provided in all of our accommodations to keep you connected on the go. We offer two different buildings to stay in, and a mini-fridge and rollaway beds are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your American Inn of Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Inn Of Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
American Hotel Bethesda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing