We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marriott Suites Next Door to HQ is Underwhelming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
176 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Marriott Suites Next Door to HQ is Underwhelming”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Believe it or not, right next door to Marriott International HQ in Bethesda MD is the most mediocre Marriott Suites on the planet. The decor in rooms is straight out of the 90's, even including a box TV in the living room portion of each suite. The lobby has been freshened up, but the staff is also mediocre. I tried calling this property at 8 PM EDT the night before I was to check in, and had my call go to voice mail 3 times. Was the staff really too busy to answer my call(s)?
If anyone at Marriott HQ is reading this, aren't you embarrassed by this totally out of date hotel right next door to your headquarters? Do you really think it's smart to have visitors stay at this hopelessly out of date, unimpressive property?
That being said, the hotel is well located. On this trip I needed to be in Bethesda, Kensington, and Rockville, and this location is just minutes from all of these places. I only wish the franchisee cared enough to update this property, and that the staff cared a bit more.

Room Tip: Rooms with a southern exposure (#37 on each floor) and on a higher floor can see Tyson's Corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorthHaving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Hello WorthHaving,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I was dissapointed to read about your experience when attempting to contact our hotel. We have reviewed this with our team to identify what may have contributed to your challenges and I welcome you to reach out to me directly at Marty.Roth@marriott.com if you have any additional details or would like to discuss your experience further.

Respectfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    170
    43
    14
    7
See reviews for
132
56
17
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
597 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Huge suites; bar sink and refrig helped out...(restaurant way overpriced for breakfast, which wasn't included)...pool nice; hot tub's jets were broken, so I sat in an overly hot tub of still water...fitness room small but machines were very good. not near to any restaurants. a mall with Nordstroms and Sears and Macys was a walk away; maybe food there?
I would say, don't stay here if you want to get cheaper food, and be close to the Metro and the "life" of downtown Bethesda...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scouternurse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Hello Kjchj,

Thank you for staying with us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the lobby and appreciate you making us aware of the jets in the hot tub. We will have them looked at immediately.

Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This hotel is a bit dated - hallways look worn, one flat screen in bedroom and one box screen tv in living room. Rooms are large and well appointed. Mattress was old and linens were not great quality (quite scratchy). Shuttle service was efficient and timely. Bar staff was friendly but food orders took quite awhile. Standard food choices, but food quality was good!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmerr800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Hello rmerr800,

Thank you for staying with us at the Marriott Bethesda Suites. We appreciate your feedback. We are glad that you found the complimentary shuttle to be prompt, the bar service to be friendly and the food to be of high quality. We have taken your feedback concerning the slower speed of the food orders to our team to discuss ways to address this for improved performance.

Should your travels bring you back to the greater DC area we hope you will keep our property in mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We have been staying at this property for extended periods since early March 2013, and have found it to be commendable in every way. The rooms are clean and include a separate work/sitting area. All personnel are well trained, friendly, knowledgeable and responsive. The food in the restaurant is fine and reasonably priced. Breakfast is particularly varied and enjoyable. Room service is good as well. The exercise facility is clean, well-equiped and open 24 hours. The pool/whirlpool is open from 6AM to 11PM.
The Bethesda Marriott is a wonderful hotel. The excellence starts at the top and filters down to the staff. We have stayed in hotels around the world and the Marriott Suites in Bethesda ranks as one of the best.

Room Tip: The higher rooms in the front of the hotel have great tree-top views, very large fountains, and de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Hello Maggie M,

Thank you for your comments. We are very fortunate to have so many great reviews here on TripAdvisor and I greatly appreciate you adding your experience. We also appreciate your great tips about the tree top views and water fountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This is the hotel to pick if you like high style for a affordable hotel. It has beautiful wallpaper and a indoor Jacuzzi and a huge pool. The best reception and very friendly staff. Flatscreen TV in the hotel and a Nintendo wii if you want your kids to have fun. Some of the best games available.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a wii you have to ask beforehand so they make sure you get a room with one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Hello Harrison F - Thank you so much for the great review regarding your recent stay. I am so pleased that you experienced our great staff service while you were here. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I often stay in the Bethesda area and return to this property time and time again because the hotel staff treats you like they are welcoming you into their home. They know my preference for rooms, points (I am a platinum) and have never let me down.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Hi Mark W. - Thank you for the great review. We are extremely proud of our staff, they take great pride in providing personalized service. Thanks for your continued business, it is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Food, service and atmosphere were very nice. The hotel was very pleasant to work with and happily accommodated a late check our for our family which was greatly appreciated. The two issues with our stay was the bed and the ambulance station across the street. The bed was extremely hard/firm even after asking housekeeping to add additional padding. The windows or insulation should be replaced with something that will help alleviate the sirens that you hear when the fire truck/ambulance leaves at 2am.

Room Tip: Stay on the opposite side of the hotel from the ambulance/fire station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CNSSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Hello CNSSC - Thank you for your positive comments on the hotels food, service and atmosphere. I am glad we were able to accommodate your late check out request. My apologies for the siren noise and I am sorry you found our bed to be extremely hard/firm. Thank you for posting and being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
3.1 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
1.9 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
1,528 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
407 reviews
3.6 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bethesda Marriott Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Marriott Suites

Property: Bethesda Marriott Suites
Address: 6711 Democracy Blvd, Bethesda, MD 20817-1128
Region: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda Marriott Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inviting hospitality welcomes guests to the Bethesda Marriott Suites, a sophisticated hotel in Bethesda, MD, where travelers can enjoy some of the largest guestrooms in the county. Conveniently situated near I-270, the I-495 Beltway, D.C. Metro and 3 major airports, our Bethesda, MD hotel's location is just 30 minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. Making it an ideal choice for family vacations, business travel or extended-stay needs. Large guest rooms feature warm tones, a separate living room and large bedroom, all designed with comfort and convenience in mind. Plush bedding ensembles, king-size beds and high-tech amenities combine to insure an outstanding Bethesda, Maryland, hotel experience with convenient access to the National Institute of Health, Food and Drug Administration, Suburban Hospital and other destinations. Our Bethesda hotel's free shuttle service to the Metro, Montgomery Mall and other local points, makes it easy to enjoy DC sights, local restaurants, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bethesda Marriott Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda Marriott Hotel Bethesda
Marriott Bethesda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing