We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Doubletree by Hilton Bethesda - Washington DC
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bethesda Marriott(Bethesda)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Casa de Emma(Bethesda)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,312)
Filter reviews
1,312 results
Traveller rating
417
449
247
130
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
449
247
130
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiesdouble treefront deskvalet parkingrooftop poola hilton honors membermedical centerwithin walking distancebusiness tripshuttle servicelots of restaurantsbed was comfortablefew blocksupon checkmetro stationwashington dcmeeting
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
859 - 864 of 1,312 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

After a long day in the DC urban jungle, this place is a warm inviting place to rest. The lobby is small but rooms make up for that because they are very comfortable, quiet, and updated. The neighborhood has great food choices, stores, shops, and the metro stop is a short stroll away. Their free shuttle to the metro stop was a plus. The red line ran slow on the weekends and at night, however. If you can't walk then stay closer to the metro and if you have to be somewhere fast then leave earlier. Everyone was helpful, attentive, and met our needs. The hotel was always busy. The place was family friendly and we saw many, many kids of all ages with parents. The price sealed the deal.

Room Tip: Get a room facing Woodmont Ave. for quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bethesda - Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Hello Henry, I read your feedback to our operations team and it made their day; thank you. I am so glad you enjoyed your entire experience with us. You pointed out our shuttle to the metro as well as the many shops, stores and restaurants within walking distance; this is a big plus for most of our guests. We also shuttle to NIH and Walter Reed medical Center… Thanks again and I hope you have a great summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed at this location since I had a briefing at NIH. Check-in was a smooth...AJ at the front desk was wonderful! Very knowledgeable of the area...gave me information on the shuttle that picks you up at the front door & takes you right to NIH's door!! The cookies at check-in are always a plus! The room was average size but nice...comfortable beds!! Room service was quick & really good...try the tomato basil soup!!!! Breakfast was the normal buffet, unfortunately, because of the time I had to catch the shuttle, I was at breakfast early & the omelet bar was not yet set up. Front desk was very accommodating in letting me get a late check-out! Not many parking options in the area, so valet parking is your best bet. Not the easiest parking to get in & out of but convenient none the less. All in all a good & comfortable stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anissa73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bethesda - Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest, reading your feedback was delightful and informative; thank you. I appreciate that you singled out one of our valued team members for his wonderful service. You mentioned the tomato basil soup you enjoyed via Room Service; it is also one of my favorites and I will share your feedback with the chef. . I hope you had a successful visit to the NIH facilities. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

On the one hand it is not a bad hotel as is situated within easy reach from 2 metro stations - Bethesda and Medical Center, the breakfast is very good with a variety of dishes to choose from, the staff are helpful and polite, the rooms are clean and well kept but on the other hand all these positive impressions can be totally destroyed by an unbelievably noisy air conditioners in the rooms. I had a feeling that I had to sleep near an aircraft engine or operating turbine. The whole system needs repair ( if possible) or replacement. The windows don't open.

Room Tip: Ask for a back view, otherwise the noise from the street will be added to the noise of the air conditioner.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swallow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bethesda - Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Hello Helsinki, thank you for your feedback. It appears that your stay would have been perfect if it wasn’t for the noisy air condition unit you mentioned. We regret that this unusual issue affected what could have been a perfect experience. All of our air condition units are fairly new; they are pulled apart and service once per quarter by our engineering team. We will have to somehow locate the room you stayed in to fix this and prevent a reoccurrence for a future guest. Once again, thanks and we hope to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our Friday arrival at this conveniently located hotel was simultaneous with a bus load of college athletes (and some parents). Despite all the activity, they somehow got us checked in within minutes (less than 5) and the warm cookies were a bonus. Our room with one king bed located on the 10th floor was spacious and clean and included a refrigerator. The bathroom was smaller but perfectly adequate for 2. It was an easy walk to area restaurants and shops. The valet parking was reasonably priced (less than $20) and worth every cent as parking is at a premium around here. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't say no to the hot fresh cookies at check-in
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bethesda - Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Hello Tricia, thank you for this feedback. I know that we have one of the more reasonably priced hotel and amenities in the market. I am glad you found our location convenient and efficient check in despite a college group in house. Thanks for pointing out your appreciation for our valet parking and Room size; these are major pluses when staying in our hotel. When you return to the area please check out our Share Lounge daily Happy Hour with hard to beat prices and delicious small plate offerings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Way over priced hotel, but the staff were every good. The location was 6 long blocks from the METRO. Taxi fee was $85.00 from Reagan National Air Port. I would NOT stay here again for the extra cost associated with getting there as well as there were no restaurants equal to ones diet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bethesda - Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hi David, thank you for your feedback. We are known to be one of the more affordable hotel in our market. We are located 5 blocks from the subway stop and our hotel shuttle make runs every hour on the half hour. Taxi fare should be no more than $65 from Reagan; if you choose to return, and I hope you will, remember that the metro blue line runs from Reagan then connects to the red line at Metro Center, ride to Bethesda; then our hotel shuttle can pick you up. The Metro ride should cost you no more than $5. We are also a stone throw away from tons of great restaurants and shops as well as Walter Reed medical facilities and NIH.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews