We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient with great chicken fingers. . .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed for 2 nights over Thanksgiving. This hotel fit our needs perfectly. Arriving on Thanksgiving day, we needed a pool to keep the children entertained. The rooftop pool was quite nice with an accompanying hot tub, and there was a lifeguard on duty. The room was clean, and the adventure of the glass elevators kept the children entertained. A gift shop was open late for snacks and convenience items. Our package included breakfast, which was pretty diverse for a continental breakfast. It was a bit of a zoo scene at breakfast, tight area with too many people. The attendant was having a hard time keeping up with room charges, and one day pursued us to add a charge for the children when in fact all we had were the alloted items for the 2 person adult breakfast which we were all sharing-straightened out, but it was way too packed with people.
This is a large, busy hotel, not an intimate feeling if you are looking for cozy. The attached restaurant, The Daily Grill, served a very nice upscale American menu and my kids voted their chicken strips and fries as the best they had ever had. As a matter of fact, our next return trip to Bethesda the kids asked to go back and eat there again, which we did. There is a large parking lot on site and the Metro is on site also. Note, however, that there are at least 3 other hotels within a block walk from the Metro entrance, so it is not the only game in town for convenient Metro access.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
Thank mg3542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,519 - 1,525 of 1,747 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

Hotel has been updated in coomon areas, great staff, goes way beyond "trying to please"...rooms need to be updated, especially bathrooms (need more lighting, ceramic tile worn and grout missing). Location good...metro right in front of hotel.
Simming pool is nice but very dark at night, wight room adequate and can be used 24 hours

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Very close to DC - short metro ride, or can use car on weekends. Hotel is clean, friendly, great beds, great food in the hotel restaurant, nice inside pool with warm water, so we could enjoy swimming, and jacuzzi was hot and clean. We have stayed in this hotel two years ago and it is just as good as before. Have not tried internet because did not feel like paying that high for it. Will stay again for a weekend with pleasure.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The hotel is functional and clean, but not luxurious. I'll explain: I have stayed at the Bethesda Hyatt a bunch of times. The staff is great. The lobby is nice enough, but the rooms need work. For example, my bathroom this time was basic formica cabinet and the garbage was a plain white plastic pail (think Kmart). It's fine; it works, but most higher-end hotels try to have the rooms look a little stylish. My room this time had peeling wallpaper and a towel bar that wasn't attached all that well. Notwithstanding, the room and bathroom were very clean and the bed was comfortable.
I have two important tips: (1) the price varies wildly (I've paid around $110 and I've paid close to $350 (most often around $220), and for me it's not worth anywhere near $350), and (2) the breakfast was unimpressive so if that's your thing you should look elsewhere (or stay there and eat out).
Its location is great - it is very convenient because it is directly above the Bethesda Metro. It's also a short walk to Bethesda Row with some restaurants. I am fairly certain I would choose the Hyatt Bethesda again (assuming the price is reasonable).

Room Tip: It's an atrium hotel, so corner rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krawimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Sometimes you just have to 'get outta dodge'...when the hometown routine gets stale, it is nice to visit a bustling area like Bethesda. But even nicer, is not having to deal with the congestion that comes with a stay in Georgetown. The Hyatt Regency was reasonably priced and offers nice upgrades to Gold Passport members at fair cost. Since we only stayed one night the early checkin and late checkout allowed for 2 days exploring the area. The staff was very friendly and helpful with directions to local attractions. I personally love to drive up, give the keys to the valet and never see the car again when im in a Metro area. The entertainment within the Hyatt and nearby was sufficent to meet our needs. The Shopping was unique with lots of one of a kind boutique stores and an occasional francise retail store. Leroy the doorman was always ready with a smile and a hello, and enjoyed exchanging conversation as we would come and go. The Sunday Washington Post was a nice perk to go along with a lazy Sunday morning at the wonderful continental breakfast...not overdone but good quality. I stayed there once long ago (10 yrs?) it has changed a little but i was comfortable with updates that had been made and did not feel it was outdated. Bethesda Row is another story and review, and i would most definitely recommend the Hyatt if you plan a stay in DC.

Room Tip: upgrade to king deluxe with the brkfast was well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drsteve76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed at the Hyatt Regency in Bethesda Maryland. Excellent staff, beautiful hotel, nice room, better than average continental breakfast (included for 2). Hotel is moments fom DC and (Metro) subway is right there. Parking is not included but reasonable at $12 for 24 hours and is located in garage directly under hotel. Plenty of places to eat within walking distance if you do not want to eat at one of the Hotel's fine dining choices. Hotel has indoor pool and gym. No fridge or microwave in room. Must pay for internet acess

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeff4431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I've stayed here several times. This is large, rather generic Hyatt hotel adjacent to the Bethesda Metro stop. The location is convenient to both DC and local surrounding e.g. NIH. The rooms are good sized, but the hotel is a bit dated. The Daily Grill in the hotel is not very good, but there are many decent restaurants within walking distance. The hotel has a small indoor pool and a fitness center on the top floor. Overall, not my top choice in DC, but I would stay here if the rate was good.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank roadwarrierMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
0.5 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
2.3 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Address: 1 Bethesda Metro Ctr, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814-5325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range: £76 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing