We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Waterman, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not recommended ”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I had an unpleasant experience. Outdated. The rooms were ok but not very clean. We turned on the air conditioning and it blew out a bunch of dirt ad dust. Water bottle in our room was disgustingly dirty. Staff was rude. The highlight was the conference rooms but the ballroom was difficult to get to. Not worth the cost.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank sradtke393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Good Evening sradtke393,

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback from your visit to Hyatt Regency Bethesda. I am so sorry to hear this stay did not meet expectations. I definitely understand your frustration, to ensure these challenges do not occur in the future I have forwarded your comments and concerns to our executive management so they are able to step in a resolve the issues. We hope to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    465
    395
    211
    155
See reviews for
393
205
95
786
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have stayed at a number of Hyatt Regencies in recent years. All of them I experienced have been showing their age. This one in Bethesda, was less so, seemingly better maintained than the others.

Stayed here one night for business meeting. Some of my colleagues were on a lower floor and could hear noise (an entire high school class was here for a class trip!) from the restaurant at the lobby level. Elevator wait >5 minutes since only one bank of lifts for all the guest floors.

On the plus sides:
1) Location--located immediately next to a Metro stop
2) Staff--friendly and helpful

Some potential negatives
1) atrium design means noise from lobby can be heard all the way to top floor
2) limited elevators for number of rooms--can mean long wait if large groups are staying here



Summary: would stay here again for business in the area, but not for leisure

Room Tip: ask for higher floor in corners further away from atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlcnst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hotel sits atop the Bethesda METRO station with quick access to DC on the Red Line. The Woodmont Triangle dining district is a few short blocks away. Rooms are very nice and clean, but nothing exceptional. Service throughout the property is attentive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing Wisconsin Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The location of the hotel was awesome. There were a lot of restaurants, some retail, and a couple theaters within walking distance. There is a metro station beneath the hotel that will get you to the monuments and tourist sites in 15 minutes with one train switch.

The rooms were dated. There were very few outlets in the rooms. The bathroom were outdated, and there no vents which caused drywall damage on the ceiling. There was also no room refrigerator. They also disabled the ability to switch TV inputs, so I couldn't use my Chromecast as an alternative to the mediocre list of channels available.

A lack of elevators made getting from your floor to lobby a slow task at times.

There are two restaurants on site. You have Morton's, a high end steakhouse, and the Daily Grille (a good, but more affordable option). There is also a Dunkin Donuts across the street.

All in all the location made the shortcomings tolerable, but the price tag is hefty for the lack of in room amenities.

Green Features: They do claim to be green, and minimize water consumption, etc...
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keo_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency for a business meeting. Self check-in is available prior to arrival. Hotel decor is dated. The hotel room was spacious. There was a small sitting area and desk. Bathroom was standard. The hotel is well-located and within walking distance of many nice restaurants in Bethesda.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank djl485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobleskill, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed for two nights due to a wedding at this busy hotel. The location was perfect, next to metro and a nice walk to restaurants and shopping. The hotel was clean but is in great need of upgrade. We were disappointed, that though pleasant the staff was not very helpful on check in. We arrived early and were told about a hour wait and we could be in our room dressing for our event. Two and a half hours later (now well passed check-in time) we were given our room keys. This resulted in a mad dash to meet the wedding shuttle on time. As we loved the shower and the comfortable bed all would have been good, except arriving back the second day from site seeing our room had not been touched. This location offers no extras (paid internet in 2014, charges for bottled water) at least a customer should have basic service. I will say the desk was quick to send up someone to do basic cleaning when we were at dinner. Overall we had a great time but the hotel needs some fixes to be at the high standard the claim to be.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Upstatemom1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This has been a nice hotel in a nice location for a lot of years. It's showing some signs of wear (TV cabinet in my room was broken, mildew in the shower, sink faucet was loose), but it's still a pretty nice place. Location is great - the Metro Red Line stop is right outside the hotel. There are also a good number of restaurants within a couple of blocks, though I also have to say that the hotel restaurant grill did a very nice job serving a large group of us who descended upon them for dinner at 9:50 p.m. - good food, good service, and expensive but good drinks, too). Hotel rooms are spacious, as was the meeting space for two events we held here. I'd come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlyGuy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
0.2 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
119 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#3 of 11 in Bethesda
426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Property: Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Address: 1 Bethesda Metro Ctr, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814-5325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing