We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This was my first trip to Bethesda and this was a great place to stay. It is close to several restaurants and the metro was only a block away so there was easy access to DC.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2011

Outstanding to within one block of Metro and very close to multiple restaurants. Within walking to many restaurants. The hotel was very conveniently located in downtown Bethesda. The only negative I can mention is the $20 per night valet parking fee. On the weekends, free parking is available in a municipal garage less than one block away. Overall, the hotel is an excellent value with free breakfast and offering free manager's specials dinners three night's per week. They also are pet friendly for those traveling with pets.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelResidenceInn, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2011

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We appreciate you taking the time to let us and others know about your great stay. I understand about the parking and do to our limited spaces we unfortunately do have to charge. When traveling back to Bethesda we hope you choose us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The Residence Inn in Bethesda is close to transportation and has one of the most helpful staffs I have ever encountered. the hotel is undergoing a major lobby renovation so there is no business center and the breakfast room is under reconstruction.
The real problem is they have bed bugs. At 1:00a.m I was awakened by a felling of something crawling on my leg. I grabbed the something and took it into his kitchen where I looked it over and then squashed it on a paper towel. (It was engorged with blood-not mine)
I took the bug carcass downstairs and they immediately changed my room and comped me one nights sty.
Needless to say I checked out the entire bed and mattress before accepting the new room assignment.
Caveat Emptor!

Room Tip: Make sure there are no bed bugs
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank airbag2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelResidenceInn, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2011

We take the matter of all bugs very seriously. When reported we immediately switched rooms and place the room out of order. Upon inspection by a third party company that we are contracted with, they found no evidence of bed bugs in the room. While I am grateful this was not a bed bug issue, I do apologize for the inconvenience this had casued during your stay. We have a very strict inspection process at this hotel, and our staff is trained and seasoned in the proper procedures to clean. We do hope in your return to the area that you give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Wife and I over the past several years stay at this location 3-4 times a year, 2-3 nites. While you get breakfast as part of the room price the quality of the food in the last year and one half has lessened in quality. Are they cutting corners and trying to save a buck! If you can't serve something that is decent, don't serve it and reduce the room price; or serve decent eatible food and up theprice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajarafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelResidenceInn, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2011

Good Afternoon. Upon reading your review I was dismayed to see that you did not enjoy our breakfast buffet. We prepare everything fresh that day and constantly monitor it throughout service to ensure the highest of quality. I will admit that we have changed up our breakfast program from years past. This was done to create more variety on a daily basis. We appreciate the feedback and have added items that were not part of the program, but our guests enjoy having. We hope on your return trip through you will try us again, and if there is something special you are looking for, we will try our best to accommodate your wishes. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

My husband had military duty at the hospital and so we tagged along. Our suite was nice - clean, spacious, new, nicely decorated. The gym downstairs was acceptable. The breakfasts in the morning had a very large variety and the evening "cocktail" hour ended up being an actual meal on the 2 nights we attended. Plus, the hotel was in a great location for shops and places to eat. We were here for almost 2 weeks and we got to know the area pretty well. There's a great little grocery store just a few blocks away. So, yes, great place.
HOWEVER, what is the ONE thing all little girls and boys look forward to about a hotel? The pool. The pool here was dreadful. Small, shallow, out dated. The hours are ridiculous - it's only open from 12:00pm to 7:00pm. And to add insult to injury, they have a darn lifeguard perched right beside it. I didn't want to swim because she's so close to the pool, its weird having one person just stare at you. And when my son did what all children do and jumped in the pool.... WHISTLE blowing... "No jumping in the pool!" ....... HUH?!?! It was bizarre. They must have been sued at some point. That pool was more interesting and archaic than some mueseums we visited. So, anyway, my verdict is great for the non-aquatic business man, but find someplace more fun if you're traveling with kids.

(If, for some reason, you do end up staying here with the kids, there's a cute park just across the street from the grocery store that is about 3 blocks away AND 2 cupcake shops within a few blocks. Might redeem you're cool parent status after the dreadful pool.)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alethalsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelResidenceInn, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a response about our hotel. I agree, our pool is smaller than most. It is primarily a lap pool. Due to Montgomery County Law we are required to have a life guard at all times. The no jumping in the pool, while not fun for kids, is a safety feature so no one gets hurt. I do thank you for the kind words about the rest of our hotel.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My son is attending JrNYLC & this is an great choice for families

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tvfreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

4 of us (mom, dad, and 2 13 year old sons) recently stayed at the Residence Inn in Bethesda. It was just perfect for us! The one bedroom suite had ample space for us to spread out and the buffet breakfast was a nice way to start the day. The metro station is a short walk away; we rode the metro for all of our transportation to the sites in DC. The Bethesda area is nice too. We also enjoyed the rooftop pool.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbarnett01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
1,707 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
3.6 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
432 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown

Address: 7335 Wisconsin Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-3201
Region: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#2 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range: £111 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing